We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus

Aldcliffe Road, Lancaster LA1 1AZ, England
+44 1524 389410
Save
Review Highlights
Great way to end my all too short stay in Lancaster

I booked the short trip up to the aqueduct and back for my last morning in Lancaster and that... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
BellringingSue
,
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Pleasant trip

I travelled as part of a coach trip and thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing trip, we were welcomed... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2017
70ish
,
Worcester, United Kingdom
Read all 38 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Lancaster Canal Boats is a fun, unique, multi award winning business that goes the extra mile for every one of our guests! Our Summer season operates from Lancaster between May & October, we operate upto 3 Lune Aqueduct Cruises per day on a Tues, Wed & Thurs with Thursdays August operating our Lancaster to Carnforth Waterbus Service - all departing from Opposite the Waterwitch in Lancaster, then Saturdays & Sundays we operate our weekend Service from Barton Grange Garden Centre in Garstang. With various cruises available from a leisurely 1 1/4 hours barton grange cruise, 1 3/4 hours award winning Lune Aqueduct Cruises to fun lively ABBA, Motown, Rock & Roll and Buble party nights coupled with our fantastic santa specials, mothers & fathers day cruises and private hire of our vessel...we really do have something for everyone!!
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“coach party” (6 reviews)
“pleasant trip” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 22:30
LOCATION
Aldcliffe Road, Lancaster LA1 1AZ, England
CONTACT
+44 1524 389410
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked the short trip up to the aqueduct and back for my last morning in Lancaster and that morning turned out to be lashing down with rain! But the trip went ahead I'm very pleased to say. There was a coach party on hoard...More

Thank BellringingSue
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip with us. With regards to the smoking it is a tricky area for a lot of businesses like ours these days & if people smoke out front it then comes back...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I travelled as part of a coach trip and thoroughly enjoyed a very relaxing trip, we were welcomed and helped aboard and took our seats and during the trip we were served a selection of sandwiches and then a large scone with jam and fresh...More

Thank 70ish
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your trip with us!! We will also pass on your comments to Sarah! Thank you!

Reviewed 21 August 2017

If you want to listen to the staff using the F word and the driver / captain or whatever he's called smoking whilst you eat your cream tea - feel freeMore

Thank Petethebiker
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for your review! We can only apologise that you did not enjoy your cruise with us. The staff in question are no longer employed by our company. We hope you will re join us soon so we can offer you the high quality...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I really hate the idea of leaving a negative review but I feel very strongly about my experience on the party trip I went on Firstly the food was dire a very expensive buffet was paid for but it was very low quality , I...More

2  Thank paulandsuerus
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for your review - to be honest we have been expecting one from this particular party so let me give you the appropriate feedback from your cruise some 5 weeks ago!: Firstly with regards to the food - the buffet supplied was one...More

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

My mam and I booked the Lancaster afternoon tea canal cruise as we were going to Lancaster for the day. We were given a friendly welcome and shown to our table. The boat was nice and was clean. The cruise itself was nice and the...More

2  Thank MaisieMooD
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and apologies once again for the mix up with sandwiches! So glad the extra prosecco & cakes made up for it though and we hope to see you on board again soon!

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

We were with a group of very elderly ladies and gentlemen the staff helped everyone made sure we were all safe on board . The fish and chip lunch was excellent served with tea great I would do this again we also had a bus...More

Thank PEdmonds
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your fish & chip cruise with us! We hope to see you on board again soon!!

Reviewed 18 June 2017

We pre booked over the phone with no problems and arrived in plenty of time. Boarding was easy, there was a pre booked coach party booked on the same trip but we was allowed to board before them. The trip was delightful, polite staff and...More

1  Thank 860Daydreamer
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your cruise with us and we hope to see you on board again soon.

Reviewed 25 May 2017

I telephoned to try & book a canal trip & was advised to go there for approx 2pm as online bookings where closed!!!! So that is what we did. When i asked the lady on the boat if it was the canal trip & she...More

Thank Hugiewoogie2
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Thank you for your review and im sorry you chose not to join us for the cruise. The "rugby scrum" you refer too was a coach trip that were joining us from a well known national coach provider and all guests were aged 60+ so...More

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Booked this for a surprise family bday treat for my mum, absolutely fabulous cruise with the lovely mark as our host/historian. Mark was very friendly and welcoming and very funny, the food was lovely and fresh with a nice glass of bubbly to ride along...More

1  Thank JoanneHarrison
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you on board again soon.

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We were disappointed to turn up and find out that the Lune Aqueduct trip, for which we had a ticket, did not exist due to a computer error. However, the staff were very helpful and apologetic and we were offered seats on an equivalent trip...More

Thank exYorkie148
LCBoats, Manager at Lancaster Canal Cruises & Waterbus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you for your review and once again sincere apologies for they system error it was a change over of booking systems that caused a glitch that we have now rectified. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and we will pass on your comments...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Whale Tail
283 reviews
.22 km away
The Water Witch
559 reviews
.10 km away
Toll House Inn
239 reviews
.04 km away
Golden Jade
18 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lancaster Castle
1,495 reviews
.65 km away
Lancaster City Museum
252 reviews
.48 km away
Judges' Lodgings
85 reviews
.57 km away
Lancaster Cathedral
46 reviews
.50 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hannah N
27 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rahrah700 | Property representative |
Hi yes we provide an ashtray on the back of the boat with our boatmaster
1
Vote
DenB5
11 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rahrah700 | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. We did used to operate the cruises from the waterwitch at weekends however there was little or no interest in them so we stopped running them which is why we operate them now from barton grange... More
0
Votes
daveruane
11 April 2015|
Answer
Response from rahrah700 | Property representative |
Hi im afraid our 2015 season does not start until 5th May 2015. Details of all our cruises & timetable can be found on our website.
0
Votes