Westport Bike Shop and Rentals

Westport Bike Shop and Rentals: Hours, Address, Westport Bike Shop and Rentals Reviews: 5/5

Westport Bike Shop and Rentals

Westport Bike Shop and Rentals
5
09:30 - 17:30
Monday
09:30 - 17:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 17:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 17:30
Thursday
09:30 - 17:30
Friday
09:30 - 17:30
Saturday
09:30 - 17:00
Write a review
About
We are located just a few hundred meters from the Greenway in Westport town center among the best hotels in the area. We provide an excellent bike hire service for the Great Western Greenway, Wild Atlantic Way and the surrounding area which has some of the best and most scenic cycling routes in Ireland. We offer FREE car parking and a shuttlebus facility for pick-ups and drop-offs to our hire customers. Helmets and other safety equipment are included in our bike hire together with a breakdown/replacement service. Also we have a large enclosed tarmaced car park for you to try out your hire bikes for fitting before venturing out on your travels. Besides bike hire we are also a fully equipped cycling repair and service shop, together with bike sales and spinning & training facilities. So basically the most fully kitted out cycling shop in the area. A friendly efficient and professional service is what you receive from the Westport Bike Shop and that can be seen in our Tripadvisor reviews
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
80 within 5 kms
Attractions
28 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

5.0
126 reviews
Excellent
118
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
5
Terrible
0

Hazel S
Edinburgh, UK12 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
Really helpful people at Westport Bikes. I had a puncture on a ride from Cong and couldn’t get my wheel off due to weird axle nut. Westport Bikes fixed the tube without removing the wheel and got me going again. They also provided a lift back from Achill Island that saved us the return ride. Declan also provided lots of evening food recommendations!!
Written 22 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bmcloughlin1
Lucan, Ireland41 contributions
Apr 2022
We rented bikes from Westport Bike shop last week and could not fault the service from Declan and the team. Booking process was very simple. Our bikes were ready when we arrived and we were on our way very quickly.
We were a family of 4 with kids aged 9 & 11 and we all found the bikes comfortable and easy to cycle all the way from Westport to Achill.
The bike shop is located on the door-step of the Greenway and offers a return bus collection from Achill at 4pm....which worked perfectly for us.
We will definitely be back and would highly recommend the Westport bike shop for anyone cycling the Greenway from Westport
Written 20 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi @bmcloughlain, Thanks very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience from the Get go with our Bike Hire Experience. Our aim is to make things as easy and enjoyable as we can and to get a nice review makes all the hard work worth it. We would be delighted to welcome you back some day soon and look forward to it. Thanks again, Westport Bike Shop
Written 15 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sean B
Belfast, UK95 contributions
Jul 2021
Very disappointed that the bikes do not come fitted with BOTTLE CAGES!
Cycling to Achill is thirsty work, and it was more than annoying last summer, having to carry water in a back pack when there are 2 unused bottle cage bosses on their bikes. This is supposed to be a bike shop, they should know their stuff but don't bother or care only for your cash
Written 28 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Sean, Sorry about the delay in getting back to you. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with our Bike Hire. I hope it was not such a big issue that you didn't enjoy the Beauty that Westport and its surroundings had to offer. That would be a real shame. We have taken your critique on board and for the new Bike Hire season our brand new fleet of E-bikes and Hybrids all come with Bottle Cages. To say that we only care for your cash hurts us a little as I would hope the level of customer service you got besides would have been second to none. As you can see from the many 5 star reviews we receive we do pride ourselves on providing a top class service. I hope you visit Westport again some time and if so, do feel free to pop into us for a chat. Kind regards, Westport Bike Shop
Written 16 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John Paul F
19 contributions
Mar 2022 • Family
Top class company to deal with. Bikes are brand new and everything is very straightforward. Antony was a pleasure to deal with.
Will be using again.
Written 19 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi John Paul, Thanks very much for your kind review. Delighted to hear you were happy with your overall experience. The new bikes are a real treat this season. Hope to see you back again soon. We look forward to it. All the best, Westport Bike Shop
Written 16 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lisacarroll747
Dublin, Ireland13 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
We visited last month (sorry for the delay!) and has the best experience. We had originally booked elsewhere but this fell through and thankfully the guys saved our day! For much better value / cost too. They even took the bikes back after hours which just made the day even better! Can’t recommend enough, will definitely be back. Thanks so much again guys and best of luck with everything! Lisa & Lorcan
Written 2 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi guys, No need to be sorry at all, and thanks for taking the time out to give us the review. We were only delighted to have been able to help you guys out. Happy to hear you found our service was great value and great to hear you will be back. We look forward to it, Westport Bike Shop
Written 16 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Robin M
Barbados30 contributions
Sep 2021
This was our first try at ebikes, having been avid hybrid riders for many years. The quality of bikes provided was excellent and was matched by the friendly helpful service we received at the beginning and end of the day ride.

We rode the Great Western Greenway from the bikeshop in Westport all the way to Achill Island sound and back (85 km return). There were lovely stops in Newport and Mulranny with good coffee and food. The scenery is awesome and varied. You cannot beat being on dedicated bike paths all the way.

We will be back.
Written 23 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MicheleandDave
6 contributions
Aug 2021
Whilst we thoroughly enjoyed the bike ride from Westport to Achill we had planned to do the return trip also, renting electric bikes. As such it was clear when we booked that we did not book a return shuttle. It was only when we collected the bikes and confirmed we were cycling both ways that the guy looking after us mentioned that my husbands bike may not get him all the way back (i.e. the last 2-3 kilometers may be manual not electric). We got to Achill and I had 80% battery and my husband 30%. it was clear he would not get far back with electric. We called the shop and was told that as we had not booked the shuttle they couldn't help and if we were intending to do the return trip we should have booked normal bikes! As we had explained when we collected the bikes we were going both ways we should have been offered non electric bikes at that stage. It was obvious my husbands bike battery was not as good as mine. He rode in "Eco" most of the way and I rode in "Norm". On pressing the shop to help us we were eventually given a taxi drivers number. He was lovely and took us back to Newport where we could ride from there back to Westport. OUr experience with Westport Bike Shop was not good as regards helping us when we needed help. BTW there is little at Achill once you get there and we couldn't risk cycling further and using more battery.
Written 3 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

shaunaoshea
Waterville, Ireland1 contribution
Aug 2021 • Couples
Great experience cycling from Westport to Achill Island. Anthony was very helpful and made our trip worth while! Would defiently recommend!
Written 29 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah
2 contributions
Aug 2021
Westport Bike Shop provided us with 2 electric bikes and saddle bags for our trip along the Greenway. The bikes were light and easy to use, even in manual gear. They were courteous and friendly and their facility is ideally located within a short stroll of the town centre and close to the start of the Greenway. They also provide off street parking and toilet facilities. The cycle to Achill Island is very enjoyable and there are plenty of scenic stops and photo opps along the way, not to mention the free water refill at Mulranny and swimming opportunities in Mulranny and Achill. I got a puncture on the way back and Westport Bike Shop came to the rescue with a fully charged replacement bike within the hour. I would certainly recommend Wesport Bike Shop to anyone wishing to hire a bike in Westport.
Written 29 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sara F
Dundalk, Ireland2 contributions
Jul 2021 • Family
Great service and handy location for pick up/drop off. We got off to a bad start with a problem with gears on my sisters bike at the bottom of hill but the bike shop came straight down to us in their van and swapped the bike to avoid any further delay for us. The bikes were perfect for families with small children too.
Written 2 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 124
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Westport Bike Shop and Rentals

Westport Bike Shop and Rentals is open:
  • Mon - Fri 09:30 - 17:30
  • Sat - Sat 09:30 - 17:00