We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westport Bike Hire

Westport, Ireland
More
About Westport Bike Hire
Westport bike hire is a bike hire tour company based in the centre of Westport available for bike hire to tour The Great Western Greenway, Ireland,s longest off road cycling route which is 42km long. An experience not to forget. We are a family run business and promise to offer you personal and honest advise as to where you would like to cycle on the glorious Greenway and offer you advise to take you along the many magnificent cycle paths around Clew Bay and further afield. Take the stresses of everyday life away and join us for some fun and adventure. We look forward to meeting you. After all Westport was voted the Best place to live in Ireland.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 06:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Westport Bike Hire
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
91Reviews2Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 9
  • 3
  • 5
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Anita M wrote a review Aug 2020
Blessington, Ireland12 contributions3 helpful votes
We recently went to Westport on holiday as a family of 6. We rented 5 bikes and a trailer (for our youngest) to cycle the Greenway (Westport to Achill). We highly recommend Westport Bike Hire. The premises is conveniently located behind the Castle Court Hotel in the town & a short distance from the beginning of the actual Greenway. All the staff we encountered were very friendly & helpful. The bikes provided were all new and in excellent condition & totally appropriate for both adults (2) and kids (4) in our group. We arranged for a lift back from Achill and the guy was on time and so friendly & we would highly recommend this aspect of the service as it made it possible for us to do the whole Greenway and be collected from Achill. Both the bikes and the lift back were well priced for the bikes & the service we received. Really nice people to deal with & highly recommend Westport Bike Hire.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from 347Kate, Manager at Westport Bike Hire
Responded 12 Sep 2020
Thank you for your review.
Read more
Cyrus L wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The staffs there are absolutely amazing, they helps you what every you needed , a seat cover, change a bike , they are very nice , they have their own 'bike doctor' to make sure every bikes are ready for you to hit the road!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from 347Kate, Manager at Westport Bike Hire
Responded 12 Sep 2020
Thank you very much for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed it.
Read more
Melissa wrote a review Aug 2020
Cork, Ireland129 contributions61 helpful votes
Booked 2 bikes last minute with the shuttle out to Achill island. The staff at the shop in Westport were friendly but when we selected the bikes in Achill I would have liked more assistance. We were just told to pick whatever one and head off. The bikes were good but as someone who doesn't ride regularly I would've liked a bit more help.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 347Kate, Manager at Westport Bike Hire
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thanks for your review. As you can imagine we are very busy . and the staff were probably with other customers. We aim to help out everyone and im sure if you asked they would have helped you. hope you enjoyed the lovely Greenway.
Read more
Killian Mc Grath wrote a review Aug 2020
Delvin, Ireland2 contributions3 helpful votes
The trip experience started of in westport where we got a great shuttle bus to achill, the driver showed us places to eat and dangerous cornors and crossings, which we thaught was brilliant and well organized. But when we got to achill we noticed all the bikes where very dusty and dirty (Very worrying during these times of covid 19). When we were a kilometer through the journey we noticed how poor the condition of the bikes were. We decided to keep going and not go back for another bike as ALL the bikes were in this condition. We just about made it but some major maintanince is needed on all bikes.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from 347Kate, Manager at Westport Bike Hire
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review. We sanitise and clean our bikes every evening in all times not only in covid times. I fail to see how you could have seen all our bikes as we have a large amount of bikes and you would not have been in the store to see all of them due to covid. All our bikes are new bikes just put together this summer . We have 2 in house mechanics who service them daily and if you had a problem along the way we have a service number printed clearly on the bike to call us. Also you never mentioned when you got back to the shop of any problem. If you had a problem a kilometer in to the journey i do not see why you would not call us as you had 41 more km to do. We provide a good service to all our customers even a shuttle service that not many bike hires do. We were closed for months and now we are open we aim to provide a healthy and enjoyable service to our customers.
Read more
Danielle G wrote a review Aug 2020
Clondalkin, Ireland212 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
We took the shuttle to Achill to cycle the greenway with Westport Bike Hire. It’s only €35 and well worth it. They were friendly and helpful. Would recommend. Beautiful sites along the way
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from 347Kate, Manager at Westport Bike Hire
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your review and hope you had a great day along the Greenway.
Read more
Previous