The Pirate Adventure Park at Westport House

The Pirate Adventure Park at Westport House

The Pirate Adventure Park at Westport House
4
Historic SitesAmusement & Theme Parks
11:00 - 18:00
Monday
11:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 18:00
Thursday
11:00 - 18:00
Friday
11:00 - 18:00
Saturday
11:00 - 18:00
Sunday
11:00 - 18:00
About
The Pirate Adventure Park is the ideal family day out for kids under 12 with rides, slides, boats and trains to entertain - all set out doors on the stunning setting of the historic Westport House estate. Named after the famous Pirate Queen of Connacht - Grace O'Malley - who once lived on this very site and was a 16th century ancestor of the owners of the house too. Splash out at the Pirate Adventure Park with the Cannonball Run Slide, the Pirate Queen Swinging Ship and the thrills and spills of the Pirates Plunge log flume ride. Wind down on the Swan Pedal boats. Climb aboard the Westport House Express around the lake. Ride the Jump Around, Mini Ferris Wheel and Kiddie Zipwire. Test your balance in the Vortex Tunnel. Give our games a while - Pan for Gem Stones & Hook a Duck. Make time for a visit to Tiny Town and the playground at Gracy's Pizzeria. Get the whole family in on a game of Disc Golf. Swash-buckling fun awaits!
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Suga B
    Oranmore, Ireland26 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Beautiful grounds and lots to do
    Great day out with lots to do with the family pass. I got to visit the house which is fantastic, we also had a paddle on the swans and Tiny Town is good for the little ones. My kids went on the pirate plunge 5 times! Staff are really friendly, especially Siofra at the gate 😊
    Dear SugarB - hank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Pirate Adventure Park and Wetsport House. Thank you again for your custom and your feedback. And your kind mention of our team. Hope to welcome you and your little ones again soon! Kind regards, Fionn O’Connor
    Written 10 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 27 July 2023
  • Jacqueline C
    Dublin, Ireland8 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fabulous day out for a family.
    I had read the reviews posted and started to doubt whether it was worth the visit. We went as a group of three adults and three boys, aged 12/10/8 yrs. I have to say, we thorough enjoyed our visit and our youngest summed it up…when asked “ what did you like the most “, he replied “ Everything “. There were lots of comment regarding the price, but at 90 euros for everything and entry to Westport House and able to go on every ride as much as you liked, we thought it was a reasonable fee. The weather wasn’t great, occasional drizzle, but you could do the indoor interactive zone, ( which was great fun), or visit the house, until the weather improved. The log ride, climbing wall, pirate swing , train ride,swan ride all great, but the boys enjoyed the small rides as well. We stayed the whole day, without getting bored. We ate at “ Gracie’s”, lovely food and good service, restaurant prices, fair enough. The young people in the park were brillant, chatty, enthusiastic and patient … well done everyone. Only area for improvement, the climbing wall was very popular and they were allowing each child 7 minutes each, that meant , if your child was just 6th in the queue, he would have an hour to stand in line. Suggest shorter time, as they can come out and go again, as many times as they like. All three boys said they would love to go again and that for me is a successful day out😀
    Dear Jacqueline C, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Pirate Adventure Park! I take your point on board with regards to the climbing wall wait times and will look into improving this. Thank you again for your custom and your feedback. Hope to welcome you and your three boys again soon! Kind regards, Fionn O’Connor
    Written 10 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 29 July 2023
  • Marc C
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great Day out for all the family
    This was our 5th year visiting Pirate Adventure Park, visiting twice in two of those years! It is top of the list of things to do, for the children, when we visit Mayo. They love running between the Pirate Plunge, the Pirate Queen Boat and the Climbing Wall, taking as many turns as they can fit in. The staff are so friendly and attentive, especially Fintan on the Hook a Duck, who was very friendly and accommodating to a child with special needs, and of course Dermot, keeping a watchful eye on everyone. We are looking forward to visiting the new Adventure Park next year and in the years to come.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 28 August 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,234 reviews
Excellent
615
Very good
296
Average
161
Poor
86
Terrible
76

Alan M
Limerick, Ireland16 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Friends
I’m really surprised that no-one mentioned in these reviews that this place is no good for 11 yr olds. It claims that it is, but my 11yr old is a young 11 in that ‘kiddy’ stuff normally entertains him.

Yesterday, I wasted €35 and 15mins of our lives on this place. The pirates haven place is much smaller than they have made it look on the website, essentially falsely advertising it. It also has nothing that would entertain children past the age of 8 or 9.

While I was there, for all of 15 minutes, the log flume carriage got stuck at the bottom of the ascent, with 3 small kids in it. Several attendants looked on, and ignored it. Several attendants had their attention brought to the issue by parents, yet ignored it. All the time, 3 small children, under 6 or 7, sat in baking 29degrees, in a flume that was stuck. After about ten minutes. A young female attendant decided to try to fix it, while two young male attendants looked. At this point some of the small kids just wanted out, they had been sat baking, so it’s understandable. Neither of the attendants offered help to the first attendant while she tried to deal with kids leaving the ride, and fix the ride itself. Useless.

In my experience, this place is a waste of money for children over 8 or 9 yes old. We wasted €35 and 15mins figuring this out. Avoid it.
Written 22 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

aishryan
Galway2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Family
we came to Westport on our holidays in June and decided to spend a day at Westport house, when we checked online it said it was sold out that day so decided to book our tickets ahead online for The next day to make sure we didn’t miss it. We went along the next morning and picked up our tickets and headed in. After doing the train ride and swan boats we went into the pirates park and were so disappointed to find that my 6yr old son wasn’t allowed on the two rides he wanted to go on as he didn’t meet the height requirements! So after a quick go on the ‘baby’ rides we left the grounds, totally annoyed by the whole experience, we had an upset 6yr old and a small baby so didn’t want to make a scene with the guy who was obviously just doing his job. So we spent €70 to go on a few very basic rides and to be honest feel completely ripped off. I re-checked the whole website and booking process and there is no information or warning that kids need to be a certain height for certain rides (as is common in websites for proper theme parks) and when I picked up the tickets I wasn’t informed either. So I have no idea how we should have found this out in order to save ourselves the bother of getting his hopes up and spending money we worked so hard to save. From what I could see a go on the swans and train would have cost us half the amount! I sent an email that evening and got no reply. I also sent feedback in the survey and got no reply, awful customer service. I’ll never spend a penny there ever again even though we will be back to Westport for sure.
The comparison to the Fairground in Fr Ted in a previous review is actually very apt!! No joke!
Written 20 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Barbara S
Dublin, Ireland6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
So disappointed with the Pirate Adventure Park. It is advertised as being for all the family, but they really should make it clear that there is very little for under 6's. We paid 140 for two family tickets for me and my sister's family. We have four kids aged 2-6. They were only allowed on two rides and were turned away from all the rest - which of course resulted in meltdowns. We then had to pay extra (!) to do a couple more activities with them (hook a duck and panning for gems). We left after less than an hour. It is so sickening to have paid 140 euro for two rides and multiple upset children. They really should have made it clear on the website what is available for this age group.
Even if our kids were older, I'm not sure it would have been worth the money for a small selection of rides with long queues.
Written 25 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barbara - thanks for taking the time to write and share your feedback. I'm so sorry to read that you didn't feel you got value for money during your visit. I wonder if you had an opportunity to try everything included in your ticket? Your ticket to the Pirate Adventure Park provides unlimited use of the following 12 activities and attractions: the Cannonball Run slide, Pirates Swinging Ship and the Pirates Plunge log flume ride. The Swan Pedal Boats on the lake, Westport House Express train ride, Jump Around, the Vortex Tunnel, the Mini Ferris Wheel, Kiddie Zipwire as well as games like Table-tennis and Disk Golf. We also have a face painter located in the Tiny Town play zone which the littlies tend to enjoy. You are right, the hook a duck & panning for gem stones games are not included in Pirate Adventure Park ticket. Of all of the attractions above, the Swinging Ship & Pirates Plunge have height restrictions and it is unlikely that your littlies were able to enjoy them for health and safety reasons. I appreciate that the table tennis and disk golf may also have been above their height / ability but the remaining attractions and activities would have provided entertainment for more than 1 hour. This is why I'm wondering if you had an opportunity to use them all. I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you and can be contacted through info @ westporthouse.ie or by phone at your convenience. Thank you again for your custom and your feedback. Wishing you and the family a lovely summer. Best wishes, Biddy Hughes
Written 31 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ty
Longford, Ireland9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 • Family
Visited today with 11, 9 and 2 Yr old. As an employee of center oarcs I was glad to visit another park for a change. One thing that struck me was the staff. So pleasant and accommodating. They are all young and doing a great job despite the rules and regulations imposed on them.
Particular mention to today's train driver, Tony,
Tony was entertaining during the train trip. My kids waved at the attractions as Tony was guiding them all along. Great to see someone enjoy their job so much like this. I was very grateful to him and if I may make a suggestion, He and the boat staff deserve tips for what they do.

Spacious car park, lovely staff at ticketing office and around the park. I just wish some people would not complain about staff in some reviews. They are doing their best especially when they have to breathe their own C02 behind those red masks just to make you feel safe.

Thanks to all the staff I encountered there, Tony especially. We enjoyed our day a lot.

I guess the only thing I was gutted about is that the mansion House was closed off for renovation work. But I will definitely come back again.
Written 31 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alan R
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Family
I feel well and truly robbed. They should be wearing balaclavas not pirate hats. About 4 times over priced at least. The few rides that are there are kind of what you would get at a mediocre funfair but 4 or 5 times the price and with 10 times the queues. We paid 90 euro for a family of 5 including a 2 year old. They actually then proceed to charge you extra for hook a duck ( yeah that's one of the scant few "attractions") and another as well. Not much better that that fair ground on father ted, at least on craggy island they didnt rip you off.

Seriously avoid this, they are just gouging people, pure and simple. Rip off Ireland at its worst.
Written 3 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda M
Singapore18 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
Having heard great things about Westport house, we decided to pay it a visit during our holiday to Westport. The grounds and the house itself are beautiful but that's as far as it goes.

Firstly, we visited the 'Tiny Towns', how they can even condone charging for this is beyond me. There is very little for the children to do once entering. The actual 'Tiny' houses are uninviting with little to no toys and are located in a dreary shed. The children wanted to leave almost immediately

We then went to the swans but at 5 euro per person we decided to pass. The Pirate Adventure park had to be the most overpriced and underwhelming of all. Very limited choice, for a family of four, it cost 70 euro and we left after a very short period of time.

The train ride was again a non event.

Unfortunately, it's rip off Ireland at it's best. We left the park feeling very deflated and our pockets a lot lighter. I cannot comment on the food as we just wanted to leave so we dined elsewhere.

The staff however were very helpful and friendly. It has so much potential but unfortunately this is not demonstrated by the current attractions on offer.
Written 12 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Lynnfaye. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your visit to Westport House, it is much appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel that The Pirate Adventure Park was value for money. In the Park, we have 17 different rides and activities included in your wristband for the day - the activities in the main park itself, the swan boats, the two train rides, foot and disc golf, and also our brand new immersive gaming experience, which on its own, is usually priced at €12 per person for 30 minutes. We also have face painting in the Tiny Town play area. With your wristband you are welcome to use the rides as many times as you like. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and the house and your kind words about our team. Thank you again for your feedback, as we are always looking into areas for improvement. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Fionn O’Connor
Written 10 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

N.Ash
Ireland3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022
After paying €70 discounted rate for the adventure park it's fair to say we left disappointed. With an 11 & 15 yr old, there were 2 rides in the park that interested them, we were done in 30 mins taking in queuing times.

I see from other reviews children under 3 were left off, so I would say this park is for children aged between 3-10 max - besides the swinging boat and water log all the rides are very babyish.

This should be outlined on the booking page, or you should be given the option to pay as you go in the park instead, that way we are not paying €70 for adults to do nothing and children who only get to do 1 or 2 things.

We enjoyed the swan boats and train ride, Tony the driver was the highlight.
Written 15 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Niamh W, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your experience with us. We welcome both positive feedback and areas for improvement as this enables us to continuously improve the visitor experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed the swan boats and train further enhanced by Tony. Naturally I am disappointed that you left disappointed and have taken your feedback on board. Kind Regards, Niamh Doorly
Written 2 March 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

5town
31 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Family
Visited here for half day but we ended up just staying for 2 hours. Very expensive and not worth the money. One of my kids went on all the rides a couple times and smaller child just had 2 rides she could go on and then the train and pedalos. You pay extra for hook a duck and digging for gold. They is great potential here for more rides which would make it more enjoyable and worth visiting again.
Written 9 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joy
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Family
I went with my 3 and 6 yo. There isnt much to do for small kids but the 6 year old had a great time going on the climbing wall and the swinging ship. Alexandra on the facepainting was so patient with my kids who wouldnt stop moving and Sarah was such great help all through the day.
The food on gracy's was great but the wait was really long, would defenitly recommend going into the westport town for lunch or even bringing ur own picnic if ur as hungry as we were.
It was a lovely experience and the kids had a wonderful day and were exhausted when we got back to the hotel. Overall such a great day, the kids cant wait to go back
Written 31 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sean Murphy
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 • Family
Went there today the kids had a blast. Alexandra did an amazing job on the facepainting and Rebecca on the seed planting was a lovely girl. Food was a bit expensive but overall a good trip would recommend
Written 28 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,193
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE PIRATE ADVENTURE PARK AT WESTPORT HOUSE (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Westport HotelsWestport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Westport
All things to do in Westport
Amusement Parks in Westport
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire