We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historical Walking Tours of Dublin

Trinity College front gate, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 87 688 9412
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.58*
and up
Dublin Historical Walking Tour
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Dublin's longest established walking tour business (1986). In just over 2 hours this award-winning and entertaining 'seminar on the street' conducted by history post-graduates explores the main features of Irish history—Dublin's development, the influence of the American and French Revolutions, the Potato Famine 1845-49, the 1916 Rising, the War of Independence, partition—and concludes with the Northern Ireland peace process and the rise and fall of the 'Celtic Tiger'.Cost: €12pp, €10 students/seniors
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tommy graham” (42 reviews)
“trinity college” (167 reviews)
“two hours” (59 reviews)
LOCATION
Trinity College front gate, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 87 688 9412

Similar Things to Do in Dublin

Write a ReviewReviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our tour guide Sylvie was very knowledgeable about historical landmarks in central Dublin. However I felt very uncomfortable listening to her talk about how much money was wasted on dual language signage, her opinion on the executions after the Easter Rising. We also struggled to...More

Thank mariascullion
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

First of all apologies if the pace was such that you had difficulty keeping up with Sylvie (although I do note that she spotted the problem & back-tracked). On the charge of how 'anti-Irish' she was, I was as surprised as you, having known her...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

More

Thank SamWoodward
Reviewed 1 week ago

The tour was fascinating but we were left on the opposite side of town from where we started. Great historical overview.More

Thank trishcoxnh
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Trish, Thank you for your positive review. Our tours usually finish at the Mansion House, Dawson Street, c.5 minutes from the starting point @ Trinity College front gate, College Green. On this particular occasion, however, due to the very cold weather, & following consultation with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide Sylvie, history lecturer at Trinity, took us on a walk through Dublin showing us the places, houses and rooms where major events in Ireland’s history took place. A two-hour tour took 2:45 hrs to complete and was engaging, fun, touching and interesting. Highly...More

Thank Helga O
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our guide Sylvie took us on a fascinating tour of some of the main historical sites in the city centre. She managed to explain the power struggles in a concise yet non patronising way, in fact her whole delivery never descended into oversimplification. She explained...More

Thank Jane G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for 3 on the 12th Nov and tour guide didn’t turn up. Phone number just hit an answer machine and no one called back. Eventually got the message through another traveller that the tour was cancelled. Now trying to secure a refund from the...More

Thank Mikem1001
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sincerest apologies to all our customers who missed out on our 11am tour on Sun 12 Nov. Due to a minor traffic accident our guide was unable to make it & our usual back-up systems failed, not helped by the fact that I was out...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

Thank Tturtles
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

More

1  Thank borrum
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

November 12 @ 11AM the tourguide did not show up. There were about 20 of us. Many tried to call number on voucher with no luck as the number was no good. Someone was finally able to reach them at alternate number and learned there...More

Thank Anthony T
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

But alas we are drinking a tea and Irish coffee instead. This tour markets itself as a mix of humor and history. Our guide, Sylvie, was so mind numbingly boring that we opted to leave just past the midway point. It seemed like the lecture...More

Thank AshAndrews33
Tommy G, Owner at Historical Walking Tours of Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our tour is marketed primarily as an 'historical walking tour of Dublin' conducted by history postgraduates and that's what Sylvie, & all our guides, deliver (very well; check out our other reviews).

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Red Torch Ginger
1,077 reviews
.12 km away
The Blind Pig Cocktail Club
517 reviews
.09 km away
Avoca
877 reviews
.09 km away
The Bank on College Green
2,501 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Irish Whiskey Museum
4,413 reviews
.07 km away
Dublin Visitor Centre
500 reviews
.08 km away
Bank of Ireland
140 reviews
.03 km away
TCD Zoological Museum
32 reviews
.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KailuaGal
16 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Tommy G | Property representative |
Sorry, only seeing this query now. Our tour finishes @ the Mansion House, Dawson Street, c. 5 minutes from Trinity College. Tommy Graham, owner
0
Votes
AprilMalaysia
30 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from lecia210 | Reviewed this property |
I did the SANDEMANs NEW Dublin, Free Walking Tour during the week. I am 53 and thought it was fantastic. I highly recommend them.
2
Votes
DoggLVR
31 May 2016|
Answer
Response from aurorasev | Reviewed this property |
Hi, the queue for the Book of Kells can be very long so probably try to time yourself to get there earlyish. The historical tour doesn't deal with the Book. And no, there wasn't any tour of Dublin Castle state apartments... More
1
Vote