We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd

Open Now: 09:30 - 18:00
Open today: 09:30 - 18:00

The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
184
All photos (184)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“hour cruise”(19 reviews)
“loch katrine”(47 reviews)
“hot chocolate”(14 reviews)
About
Boat trips on either the Steamship Sir Walter Scott and Lady of the Lake. Gift Shop, Cafe/Bar & Restaurant. Toilets and Car Park open 7 days. Look out for our special events, Steam Weekend, Music on the Loch, Family Fun Day and Fireworks Cruise. See...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 18:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Loch Katrine | Trossachs Pier, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Website
+44 1877 332000
Call
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
111
37
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
111
37
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour cruise loch katrine hot chocolate sir walter scott great trip beautiful scenery boat trip steam ship engine room friendly staff relaxing cruise enjoyable trip car park well worth the money set sail wee dram top deck
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

This review agrees with all other ‘good’ reviews as we have taken this trip with various friends on both the boats used and in beautiful weather - always be prepared for changeable weather tho! However, to add to that, we would like to give a...More

Thank HandJJ
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review. It is nice to know that despite the terrible weather you still enjoyed your night. We would like to thank you for recognising what we were up against but in the end the night turned out pretty...More

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Nostalgic trip, on a historical masterpiece. Commentary is relaxed, informative and amusing. The journey is 2 hours of beautiful scenery and enjoyment.

2  Thank VMtravellers
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 November 2018

It has been over 30 years since I last did the boat trip on Loch Katine and I was not disappointed. We had a lovely day for our trip which added to the experience. Overall the trip lasted about an hour. The guide was informative...More

Thank GlasGal549
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you got our sense of humour! Look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 30 October 2018

We arrived at Loch Katrina just before the steam ship left and made an impulsive decision to join it, not having intended to. We were certainly glad we did. The scenery was superb as was the commentary, which was informative but not too much so....More

Thank Beryl S
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your trip with us. Please visit us again

Reviewed 25 October 2018

We bought a voucher really enjoyed our day out was lovely. Really enjoyed our Captains brunch. People were very accommodating as we arrived at the wrong part... they organised our day so everything worked out for us thanks to the kind people who run these...More

Thank Mirella S
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your trip despite the wrong turn. Unfortunately sat nav will sometimes take you to the wrong end of the Loch to Stronachlachar. We have tried to rectify it as much as we can....More

Reviewed 24 October 2018

My partner and I had a lovely day out in early October - we went on the Steamship across the Loch in the morning and then cycled back around the North Road in the afternoon. Because it was a weekday we didn't pre-book either (might...More

Thank NomadicKiwi1
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review it is very informative. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

For a scenic excursion upon a vintage boat this trip is unsurpassed. From the friendly welcome aboard, to the toot from the boats funnel , to the sound of the engine, the sailing is a wonderful experience. However the real star attraction of course is...More

Thank James M
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Took the two hour round trip and really enjoyed it. Really informative captain relaying the stories of the loch. Great weather made it even more enjoyable. The steamship was perfect and some great coffee on board. Enjoyed it immensely.

Thank PatrickM79
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip. Also nice to hear you got some good weather, always a bonus. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 17 October 2018

We booked for an afternoon trip followed by an afternoon tea. We were first in the queue and really looking forward to the trip .Unfortunately The Captain came out and told us they had run into a problem with water in the diesel and actually...More

Thank craigluscar
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

We have responded to your review on our Loch Katrine page but would like to offer our apologies again. We look forward to seeing you in Easter.

Reviewed 3 October 2018

Stunning scenery, enjoyed from The Steamship Sir Walter Scott. A comfortable and interesting trip. The warm blankets were very welcome on a day as chilly as when we were there, and made sitting outside possible.

Thank Jacqui N
StuartB2764, General Manager at The Steamship Sir Walter Scott ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again and perhaps on your next visit the weather will have warmed up for you a little. Debbie

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Loch Achray Hotel
510 reviews
1.19 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
2,285 reviews
5.88 km away
Rob Roy Hotel
788 reviews
7.89 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
86 reviews
10.37 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Wee Blether Tea Room
584 reviews
6.38 km away
The Forth Inn
549 reviews
6.76 km away
The Faerie Tree Inn
436 reviews
6.80 km away
Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop
199 reviews
6.72 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Go Ape
466 reviews
4.68 km away
Ben A'an
73 reviews
1.17 km away
Three Lochs Forest Drive
173 reviews
4.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
June W
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from StuartB2764 | Property representative |
Hi There, yes the Steamer is wheelchair accessible, on the upper deck only.
0
Votes
Mrs Kim S
13 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from StuartB2764 | Property representative |
Hi there, yes you can. As long as they have well behaved owners.
0
Votes
Gary W
21 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from StuartB2764 | Property representative |
Yes, we also have a disabled access toilet and baby changing facilities.
0
Votes