We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Edinburgh Dungeon

Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood:
Princes Street and Gardens
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 871 663 1672
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together...

The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary.

Your 80 minute journey will take you through 1000 years of Scotland's dark history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits!

WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.42*
and up
Skip the Line: The Edinburgh Dungeon
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 3,583 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1989
    Excellent
  • 904
    Very good
  • 307
    Average
  • 103
    Poor
  • 100
    Terrible
Fantastic entertaainment

Brilliant and creepy worth every penny really enjoyed it. It's very dark so some may find it scary but had loads of laughs would highly recommend if your into this stuff.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
Janet J
Add Photo Write a Review

3,583 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,403: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After visiting the York dungeons we had out hopes up for the Edinburgh one. Tickets were great prices as we pre booked online. The actor's were great but personal opinion could of gotten into charachter more. Didn't feel like we saw 11 different stories and just as about we got into the stories etc it ended!! We were disapointed about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Brilliant and creepy worth every penny really enjoyed it. It's very dark so some may find it scary but had loads of laughs would highly recommend if your into this stuff.

Helpful?
Thank Janet J
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you Janet, for your horribly good review of the Edinburgh Dungeon. We're delighted you managed to escape the clutches of Burke. Next time, hang around a wee while longer at our drop ride...take the weight off your neck. ;) More 

Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had been here years ago when the children were young and thought it'd be a bit boring going back with "grown up' kids now. How wrong could I be! We had great fun and as we were in a small group there was plenty of interaction as we made our way round the dungeons. Laughed so much and even had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorna W
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your horribly good review, Lorna. We like to pleasantly surprise our customers - even if it does involve the odd 'jump'. Do come back soon - the cannibals would love to have you for dinner. ;) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This attraction is reasonably priced at just over 11 pounds an adult. There is a mix of rides and interaction with actors taking you through some grim historical events. Disabled access was surprisingly good. This kept us occupied for just over an hour. A good rainy day attraction.

Helpful?
Thank PeterSa1
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking shelter from the rain at the Edinburgh Dungeon. I trust the foul combination of cannibals, criminals and torturers kept you warm. We hope you had a fun day out in Edinburgh. ;) More 

South Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent entertainment, a good laugh and very good actors, thoroughly enjoyed it creepy and scary at times as I don't like the dark. A good tip, buy your tickets from the tourist information half the price if you visit the dungeons after 3pm.

Helpful?
Thank Jax64
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

So you survived the clan of the cannibal Sawney Bean, eh? Well do come back and see us again. The Torturer would love to get to know you a little better. ;) More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This is great entertainment and a must to visit. The staff make this tour they act make you laugh and jump ...!!! With a little ride at the end that is great...

Helpful?
Thank Nigelandjuliagray
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your horrible good review of the Edinburgh Dungeon! We're delighted you survived the Hangman's noose. Come back soon - the Torturer would love to spend a little more time with you. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We didn't really know what to expect but we found the actors were all great and you hung onto every word! They interact with the group very well and keep everyone on their toes. Scary but in a good way! I would recommend and good value for money as well!

Helpful?
Thank Nicolewoolley
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Edinburgh Dungeon. So you survived, eh? Well come back soon and see us again... you might not be so lucky next time. ;) More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Feel the fear and do it anyway! A terrifying and psychologically draining experience but a must do. The staff are excellent at what they do, our visit exceeded our expectations. We survived!

Helpful?
1 Thank michelle m
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle, for your horribly good review of the Edinburgh Dungeon. We're so glad you came, although the cannibals would have loved to have you for dinner. ;) More 

Delamere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've visited the London and York dungeons before so I was looking forward to visiting the Edinburgh one. I purchased my ticket from the Tourist Information Office as they offered a discounted ticket allowing me "Fast Track" entry after 3pm. On entry at 3pm, I was first to arrive and 4 others joined the queue, and after speaking to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank andybell123
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Edinburgh Dungeon. Unfortunately, we cannot guarantee that you will be the only ones on your tour when you arrive. Delighted you had an enjoyable time in the attraction itself, and hope you had a grand day out in Edinburgh. More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I've been to quite a few Dungeons. I'll start by saying, if you've been to the Amsterdam or Berlin Dungeon, I'd skip this as it's almost the same script. We waited about an hour to get in because one of their tills was supposedly broken so the queue wasn't moving. Generally, the layout isn't great and there's a lot of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
EDMarketing, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, we are so sorry you were disappointed by your Dungeon experience. We are undergoing a period of construction at the moment while we build an exciting new show. Hopefully you were given a voucher to address the potential disruption to your tour? We are trying to keep noise bleed to a minimum but unfortunately we don't always succeed.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Edinburgh Dungeon also viewed

 

Been to The Edinburgh Dungeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Edinburgh Dungeon and other visitors
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Edinburgh Dungeon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Princes Street and Gardens

Neighbourhood Profile
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street is only half one, since buildings only line one side. But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views are from Princes Street as a result. From here you look onto expansive and decorative public gardens beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look the other way, as they’re concerned with chain store shopping or catching the tram or a train at main train station Waverley. But it’s not all utility here; the Scottish National Gallery rewards purposeless wandering, and December’s huge winter market in the gardens begins a season of revelry which ends with Hogmanay, Britain’s largest New Year’s street party.
Explore this neighbourhood