We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edinburgh Dungeon

31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
+44 131 240 1001
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.50*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat ride” (380 reviews)
“great fun” (388 reviews)
“sawney bean” (102 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 19:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
31 Market Street, Edinburgh EHI IQB, Scotland
Princes Street and Gardens
CONTACT
Website
+44 131 240 1001
Write a Review
Reviews (4,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 4,203 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Great time, not entirely sure its worth full ticket price but with Tesco vouchers is def value for money. Kids (12 & 10) were bit dubious to start with but soon settled in, the pitch black bits def did keep up the right amount of...More

Thank Emma N
Reviewed 5 days ago

Good place to take friends who haven't been to the city. Gives a little bit of Edinburgh history in a fun way. However I would say it is over priced. Definitely book online on advance and look for deals! It is MUCH more expensive on...More

Thank zoeealfie
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booking online saves you money - £13 when booked direct or through Trip Advisor. An absolute bargain for the 80/90 minute tour. Actors in each section were great. Remained in character and even bringing comedy in. Don’t go if you don’t like being “picked on”...More

Thank EternallyCullen
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We planned to visit and came up to Edinburgh especially. When we went to find out about buying tickets the man on the desk was rude and unhelpful. So much so that we decided not to bother and instead went up to Mary Kings Close...More

Thank alexawalexa
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, Alexa. Would you mind telling us what time you came down, so we can feed this back to the front-of-house teams? Sincere apologies for how you were spoken to. You can email francesca.dymond@merlinentertainments.biz with details. Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a must if you are ever in Edinburgh. The actors were fantastic and so funny. Again, it's a fantastic way of getting to know about the cities history.

Thank Angela M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Much superior to the dungeons at York and surpassed my expectations. Quite scary so definitely not for Young children. The actors are very amusing but readily pick on members of the audience so it’s perhaps best avoided if you are devoid of a sense of...More

Thank nina f
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was here previously with my mam and sisters. We enjoyed it immensely then , so I brought my husband on Halloween. It's a great fun experience with lots of humour and jumpy bits. There was a few new parts too so that was really...More

1  Thank Catherine R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Discover a whole different approach to Edinburgh’s tales in the Dungeon. During 10+ sets, actors give their best to give you a unique experience. We had a great time! The scottisch accent is often a challenge, but it makes you focus even more!

Thank ThierryDeVynck
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great time going through the dungeon even though I did it alone. The actors include the guests in the storytelling and you start by being part of a mock trial. The energy and enthusiasm of the actors throughout was fabulous.

Thank BeckyS04102
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You are a brave warrior, Becky! Thanks for visiting us, and for your awesome review. ;)

Reviewed 1 week ago

The boat ride was so anti-climatic. Expect a long wait time. There is a discount if you purchase your ticket at the shop at Canongate and you wouldn't have to join the main queue when you reach.

Thank VanessaGabrielle
Francesca D, Public Relations Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Vanessa, sorry you had to wait. Our best priced ticket is always available online, and it gives you the chance to book a time slot at busier periods, minimising the wait time. Hope you had a great day out in Edinburgh. ;)

Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Angels With Bagpipes
2,595 reviews
.13 km away
The Milkman
176 reviews
.04 km away
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant
1,645 reviews
.07 km away
Krua Khun Mae Thai Restaurant
377 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Old Town
11,677 reviews
.10 km away
Real Mary King's Close
12,047 reviews
.14 km away
Fruitmarket Gallery
57 reviews
.11 km away
City Art Centre
88 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Teaser19
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ljbunny | Reviewed this property |
Most rooms!
0
Votes
wirraljojo
9 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ljbunny | Reviewed this property |
It is a drop ride as it says but is optional.
0
Votes
WilfsMum1
8 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ljbunny | Reviewed this property |
We went today, Saturday with Tesco clubcard vouchers. No queue and straight in, we had not booked.
1
Vote