We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holyhead Maritime Museum

Newry Beach | Beach Road, Holyhead LL65 1YD, Wales
+44 1407 769745
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A must to visit plus the integral harbour restaurant, great experience great food!!

We live five minutes up the road,museum full of experiences of the sea!Plus,plus the restaurant... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
carolemm2015
,
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Expensive

On a dismal wet and windy day we thought we'd take a look at the museum. I can't remember exactly... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
RegularTraveller60
,
North Yorkshire
Read all 175 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The museum is a fascinating experience for the whole family. Step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales (circa. 1858), Which houses a wonderful collection of exhibits telling the enthralling maritime history of Holyhead. Situated alongside the Maritime Museum, in a Second World War Air Raid Shelter, is the very informative permanent exhibition "Holyhead at War".
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“world war” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
Newry Beach | Beach Road, Holyhead LL65 1YD, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1407 769745
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We live five minutes up the road,museum full of experiences of the sea!Plus,plus the restaurant ideally placed on the edge of the sea,views if harbour,yachts and ferry traffic.

1  Thank carolemm2015
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit including that to the Harbourfront Bistro.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a dismal wet and windy day we thought we'd take a look at the museum. I can't remember exactly how much the entrance fee was, maybe something like £10 or £12 for the two of us, but given the small'ish size of the place...More

1  Thank RegularTraveller60
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are disappointed that you decided not to enter the museum as you considered it too expensive. We are a private museum managed and staffed entirely by volunteers. The entrance fee is actually £5 for adults and £4 for concessions (children under 16 are free)....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely little museum and we had an informative guide called Mike who took us around and really brought the exhibits to life! Mike talked to my husband about the more 'techie' things men are interested in but was happy to answer my questions about some...More

1  Thank Pinkbaglady55
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to add your encouraging review. We are pleased that Mike's efforts were well appreciated.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited on Wednesday 13th Sept. 2017.A fabulous place to visit the staff were very informative and very friendly. Packed full of memorabilia about the history of maritime around Holyhead please everyone who visits Anglesey go there you'll not be disappointed.

Thank meandmylad
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and your appreciation of our museum and staff. Thank you also for your recommendation for others to visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seeing the great reviews we visited this museum on a recent visit to Anglesey and are very pleased we did. There is a most interesting collection of memorabilia, particularly relating to both world wars and if you are interested in maritime history this is the...More

Thank 887stephen
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for adding your very kind and encouraging review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us.

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Visited the museum while in holyhead on a day trip last Thurs 8th Sept 2017. We got a wonderful personalised tour from Norman. He really knew his stuff! We were amazed. Lots of models of ships and memorabilia galour! If you like Boats, history, war...More

Thank robink02
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank very much for adding your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our museum. Thanks you also for your appreciation of the efforts of Norman, one of our happy team of volunteer guides.

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Worth a visit and the guide Aled Jones gave us a fantastic insight into the history, they also have a WW1 & WW2 museum in an air raid shelter outside again well worth the visit

Thank FatherTime1955
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments and also your appreciation of the efforts of one of our volunteers guides, Aled.

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A brilliant place to see maritime exhibits, well layed out, fantastic panoramic view of the harbour. The staff so full of first knowledge to bring it all to life. The shop staff are lovely to. Pop next door to the bistro for some mouthwatering food...More

Thank Eric H
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you, Eric, for your generous review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and also to the Bistro.

Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

For anybody interested in the history of Holyhead what an engaging visit this is! The museum is situated in an old lifeboat station and an air raid shelter. What a collection of interesting artifacts and memorabilia collected by the enthusiastic volunteers on show here. I...More

Thank Daire F
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your encouraging review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and especially that you appreciated Norman's contribution.

Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

A well-curated and interesting collection. The staff are very knowledeable and give extra information when wanted. The bistro attached is very plesant with convenient baby changing facilities. Good value too.

Thank Esme Y
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your review and your positive comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Harbourfront Bistro
472 reviews
.02 km away
Langdon's
142 reviews
.51 km away
The Stanley Arms
72 reviews
.52 km away
The South Stack Hotel
30 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stena Line Limited - Day Trips
664 reviews
1.06 km away
St. Cybi Church
40 reviews
.63 km away
Ucheldre Centre
20 reviews
.87 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RachelWirral
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
£5 for adults, £4 for concessions and all children 16 and under are FREE! Look forward to welcoming you.
0
Votes
Poppy L
28 June 2017|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Unfortunately, with the exception of Assistance/Guide Dogs, we are unable to allow access for dogs inside the Museum. This is also the case for inside the attached Bistro. However, dogs are... More
0
Votes
jennifer l
22 April 2017|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Hello Jennifer - we are sorry that you found the museum closed when you visited during the school holidays. We assume that you visited on Monday, 10 April. We normally do not open on Mondays. However we do open on Bank... More
0
Votes