We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newcastle Racecourse

Features Animals
High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HP, England
+44 191 236 2020
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Well organised but races poor

Went to the meeting on 14th April. Sadly the racing on display was poor quality with small fields... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jen_Andy_Lawson
,
Leeds
via mobile
Very enjoyable

Visited as a Virgin Experience Race Day for 2. We usually go to a different course every year so we... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Guy S
,
Sheffield
Read all 291 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located within High Gosforth Park, Newcastle Racecourse is home to the historic Northumberland Plate, and is one of Britain’s busiest racecourses, hosting over 60 all-weather and jumps fixtures a year. An ideal venue for all occasions, the racecourse hosts events of all kinds, including conferences, exhibitions, weddings, private parties and more. Newcastle Racecourse shares the 812 acre High Gosforth Park with the Border Minstrel Pub and Parklands Golf Club.
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good35%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“race course” (17 reviews)
“parade ring” (9 reviews)
“gosforth park” (9 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
High Gosforth Park, Newcastle upon Tyne NE3 5HP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 191 236 2020
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newcastle upon Tyne
from US$35.50
More Info
from US$21.30
More Info
from US$35.50
More Info
from US$11.40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"race course"
in 17 reviews
"parade ring"
in 9 reviews
"gosforth park"
in 9 reviews
"race track"
in 3 reviews
"food outlets"
in 4 reviews
"cant wait"
in 3 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 9 reviews
"city centre"
in 6 reviews
"great night"
in 4 reviews
"burger"
in 3 reviews
"races"
in 77 reviews
"winners"
in 18 reviews
"betting"
in 18 reviews
"racecourses"
in 8 reviews
"bars"
in 39 reviews
"floodlights"
in 4 reviews
"picnic"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the meeting on 14th April. Sadly the racing on display was poor quality with small fields - a bookies benefit as each way betting was not an option. Positives were how well organised it was in the stand we were in. Hardly had...More

Thank Jen_Andy_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments Jen/Andy. We're glad to hear that it was operationally well run. We aspire to have as many runners in each race as possible, unfortunately as it was Grand National day and with the ground being heavy Saturday's fields were lower...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited as a Virgin Experience Race Day for 2. We usually go to a different course every year so we chose Newcastle this year. Excellent disabled parking. Facilities very good even on a cold Tuesday in March, bar, hot drinks, hot food, reasonably priced. Excellent...More

Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head Of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments Guy! We're glad you had an enjoyable experience with us, and we hope you choose to come to Newcastle again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I appreciate racing gets cancelled due to poor weather but to not tell customers who have booked and paid online is unforgivable. When I called for my refund they made out it was my fault for not checking my spam folder - it was not...More

2  Thank Dnaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

As always the Newcastle Races hospitality team excelled. Amazing food, brilliant service, a birthday cake with candles and the whole restaurant stood up and sang happy birthday. But this isn’t unusual (except the birthday bit!), we always get a warm welcome and great food at...More

Thank JScruggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your review. Your lovely comments have been passed on to the team. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Would recommend to everyone to try once to go and have fun for the night! Had a great welcome and it was made clear ho we can make our bet. Food was very nice and the entertainment of UB 40 really made it one of...More

Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for your review Edith. We're glad you had such a great night and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

we did the corporate activity, sat at a table having a meal indoors. bit of an expensive day out though. good money maker for the racetrack!

Thank 523DavidD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

I have visited this racecourse many times. I preferred it when it did not have the all weather track but it is now still enjoyable. On a busy day it can be quite difficult to get served at the bars. The quality of the racing...More

Thank Topman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you often have a good day at the races with us. We hope to see you again at the racecourse soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on Tuesday 24 th October with my partner . We pre booked a table in the restaurant. But of a mix up regarding our ticket collection but soon sorted it out . Shown to our table , very friendly lady (Michelle) drinks order taken...More

Thank Crumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a great day at the races last Tuesday. Your positive comments have been passed on to the hospitality management. The taxi issue will be addressed for future events. We hope to see you again at the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We are complete novices to racing but we wanted to experience the thunder of the hooves. Being completely clueless we were approached by a really helpful attendant although he could have been the security, so not sure if his personality is warm and friendly and...More

Thank markeB1259KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose Newcastle to experience your first raceday. Your comments on restaurant assistance and taxi queuing system have been passed on to the team to rectify for future events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A very quiet night of racing on Friday September 22nd. Only one food outlet was open at the course. The thing I would like to raise is the route out of the course. The pathway is dangerous, with tree routes breaking through the surface. This...More

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle R, Head of Marketing at Newcastle Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you for your review David. Your comments have been passed on to the operations and grounds team to address the pathway issue. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 83 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
1,125 reviews
.59 km away
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
127 reviews
.86 km away
Travelodge Newcastle North
6 reviews
2.08 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
198 reviews
3.39 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wyevale Garden Centres
57 reviews
1.23 km away
Miller & Carter Gosforth Park
42 reviews
1.45 km away
The Falcons Nest
497 reviews
.81 km away
The Border Minstrel
136 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Havannah and Three Hills Reserve
14 reviews
2.40 km away
Northumbria Classic Car Hire
113 reviews
3.56 km away
Flight Sim Centre
112 reviews
2.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nikitta F
18 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Newcastle R | Property representative |
Hi Nikitta, the price increase varies depending on the ticket. The details of the increase will be listed on our website before the early bird discount ends.
0
Votes
Paul L
5 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Newcastle R | Property representative |
Hi Paul, yes you can pay for tickets by card at the Brandling House reception.
0
Votes
Keahjay D
2 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Newcastle R | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your query. The food voucher is worth £5.50 and is redeemable from our food outlets, which will cover a range of the items. The drink voucher is worth £4.50 and is redeemable from our bars, which will cover... More
0
Votes