We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Last Drop Inn

27 Colliergate, York YO1 8BN, England
+44 1904 621951
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A wee drink

Reasonable selection of drinks food looked good but we didn't try it. Staff were helpful and Prices... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Darren W
via mobile
Superb ales but dropping to bits

It can only be the ales and ok food that attracts people, because the place is badly worn out, and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ian P
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 170 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The staff are friendly, welcoming and what's more, they really know about real ale and are on hand to advise you in your choice of drink. Great location, interesting characters and unique regulars make this an excellent place for people watching. Our pub policy is NO jukeboxes, gaming machines or children, so you can relax and enjoy your drinks in peace and quiet.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“york brewery” (32 reviews)
“great pub” (14 reviews)
“ghost ale” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
27 Colliergate, York YO1 8BN, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1904 621951
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Reasonable selection of drinks food looked good but we didn't try it. Staff were helpful and Prices reasonable

Thank Darren W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It can only be the ales and ok food that attracts people, because the place is badly worn out, and to be frank, filthy. Can't fault the selection of ales, food is limited, but ok. The stair carpet is really bad, everything looks worn out,...More

Thank Ian P
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Ian P Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do have a loyal customer base who appreciate our real ales and our chef's sausages - famous around York! We are currently planning to upgrade the pub and hope that you...More

Reviewed 13 May 2017

Popped in for a pre-dinner drink. They serve a range of local brews accompanied by heavy metal music. We didn’t actually mind the music as it wasn’t too loud.More

Thank Swedishtomcat
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Hi Swedishtomcat Thanks very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We have rather eclectic music taste at The Drop to suit our rather eclectic clientele (it's not all metal) Next time you're in let us know what you'd like to hear...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

Wife and her friend were there yesterday. Service was not good; no please or thank you, and they didn't even offer ice for their lukewarm orange and Southern Comfort. She reported that the level of cleanliness was very poor: cobwebs, sticky tables. Her friend went...More

Thank acrosser72
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hello acrosser72 Thank you for 'your' comments. I'm very sorry to hear that your wife and her friend were so disappointed with their visit. We do take this sort of feedback very seriously. It's true that refurbishment is needed throughout, and that is something that...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

As a York Brewery member my friends suggested that we had a few lunchtime drinks in The Last Drop. I got in first and went to the bar. No verbal response from staff. Ordered my drink. Told the price. I said I had brewery membership...More

Thank neilofyork
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Hi neilofyork Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm deeply saddened to learn that your visit was so unpleasant that it apparently prompted you to leave your first TripAdvisor review, and a one-star review at that. The staff member concerned (who...More

Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

In for a pint after dinner. Good selection of draught beer. Pub quiz going on which was slightly intrusive. Otherwise not much atmosphere.More

Thank F5822OZdavidb
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hello F58330Zdavidb, Thank you for your visit and your comments – I’m sorry that our weekly quiz coincided with your time in our pub and that this intruded on your evening somewhat. Rest assured that should you visit us again (on any night bar Wednesdays...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Dirty, rundown and with unfriendly staff. Beer nothing to write home about. The only good thing is the location as it is close to The Shambles.More

1  Thank Fred A
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hello Fred A, We’re very sorry to hear you had such an unpleasant time at the Last Drop and that you didn’t feel you could share your thoughts with us on the day rather than through Trip Advisor. We welcome all feedback, positive and negative...More

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Had the weekend in York and went around a few pubs on the Saturday evening, this one stood out to us, well located and great atmosphere inside, small but bustling and a sense of tradition and people having a good time. Nice to have a...More

1  Thank HaZ30691
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Hi HaZ30691 Many thanks for such an amazing review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 22 February 2017

A traditionally pub with all sorts of brewery, I liked how it was also pet friendly and there were also a library full of games and books for people who wanted to sit and chill and have a beer or two.

Thank Itsmekirsty
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hey Itsmekirsty We do love pets as well as humans and we are proud to be traditional. Nothing like chilling with a beer and a book! Please call in again soon.

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

A great bar with friendly people and the most reasonably priced food and drink in York with an extra 10% off for CC members. Always a good choice of beers.

Thank NessieNoo
MitchellsofLanc, Manager at The Last Drop Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Hi NessieNoo (loving that name) Thank you for leaving a lovely review - we love passing on positive feedback to our staff. Call in again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Shambles Kitchen
628 reviews
.09 km away
Los Moros
108 reviews
.09 km away
Shambles Tavern
471 reviews
.06 km away
Duke of York
336 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shambles
9,900 reviews
.05 km away
York's Chocolate Story
3,512 reviews
.06 km away
DIG
272 reviews
.09 km away
Shambles Market
104 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Last Drop Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit