We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backyard Comedy Club

231 Cambridge Heath Rd, London E2 0EL, England
+44 20 7729 8424
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great venue

Had a really great night here on our recent visit. Great entertainment and very friendly staff... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Gilly229
,
Rainham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Rip off

A £3 late fee for not being late, total BS. Spent 3 hours waiting for someone funny to appear and... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2018
John P
,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
via mobile
Read all 40 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
We are situated a two minute walk away from Bethnal Green tube and overground stations at 231 Cambridge Heath road and have been a major hub of the nightlife and social scene in East London since we opened back in 1998, becoming one of the major comedy clubs in the capital with our esteemed reputation for great laughs and good value. Since reopening with our new state-of-the-art venue and bar
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good30%
  • Average5%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
231 Cambridge Heath Rd, London E2 0EL, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7729 8424
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from US$111.60
More Info
from US$71.40
More Info
from US$32.40
More Info
from US$90.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pool table and table tennis table"
in 2 reviews
"per ticket"
in 2 reviews
"bar staff"
in 2 reviews
"acts"
in 4 reviews
"audience"
in 6 reviews
"compere"
in 2 reviews
"fiver"
in 2 reviews
"comic"
in 3 reviews
"stamp"
in 3 reviews
"tickets"
in 5 reviews
"humour"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really great night here on our recent visit. Great entertainment and very friendly staff although food and drink prices were extortionate.

Thank Gilly229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

A £3 late fee for not being late, total BS. Spent 3 hours waiting for someone funny to appear and went away disappointed.

Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

We turned up a bit early, being well aware of the the reviews here about the Nazi ticket police. As it was they weren't there when we arrived at just after 7. Had a tasty pizza and exchanged our tickets for stamps at some point...More

Thank TripTripTripAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thanks for your support - really glad you had a good night out with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Visited recently and had such a hilarious night, felt rather welcomed by the staff, they seem to all enjoy being there which makes a difference. The show had me and my husband in stitches. Overall, we had such a fantastic experience and will definitly be...More

Thank laurenp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thanks for your support. Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The picture pretty much sums up our experience at backyard comedy club. On arrival we were told to pay 3 pound extra each even though we arrived on time for the show. Supposedly you need to arrive 45 minutes prior or you will be charged....More

1  Thank flo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hello Flo, you were part of the group of 3 (along with reviewer Jake S) who were not happy about our £3 surcharge after 7.15pm - this is a policy we have had in place for years and it is clearly stated on each event...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Title says it all really comedy was average would be a better night if you didnt actually have to arrive 45mins early to sit in an empty room with no comedy until the actual start time! Comedy stared at 20:00 we arrived at 19.30 to...More

1  Thank jake s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hello Jake, you were part of the group of 3 (along with reviewer Flo) who were not happy about our £3 surcharge after 7.15pm - this is a policy we have had in place for years and it is clearly stated on each event page,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Been there a couple times now, and both times were great. The early bird tickets are a ridiculous value for money and the quality of the comedian has been much better than bigger chain comedy clubs I have visited. Drinks are reasonable too which you...More

Thank spazzy_azzy_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thanks for coming! Glad you enjoyed your visit - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

‘If it’s funny, it’s funny’ was the slogan for last night’s events. And it patently was because the large audience roared with laughter as comedy was unleashed in torrents. Self-censorship was off the agenda and was hugely appreciated. The venue is great, with a good...More

Thank Gakeitse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Gald you enjoyed your night here! Thanks for your support, see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

I was presently surprised with this comedy club, Giving it’s location in now trendy Bethnal Green I expected there to be no atmosphere and I’m glad I was wrong. The ticket prices are very good, we booked early and paid just £5 per ticket which...More

Thank Daniel381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello! Thanks for your lovely review, we are really glad you enjoyed your time here and do hope you will visit us for some comedy again soon. As with any entertainment venue which has intervals, the toilets and the bar will be busy when we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

Good comedians but the ticket staff are pedantic and petty. Myself and my group bought tickets in advance but we were charged again because we didn't get a stamp our hand half an hour before the show started even though we were drinking at the...More

2  Thank sleepycoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backyard B, Manager at Backyard Comedy Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Hello! Thanks for your review. Our 'late arrival' surcharge is clearly documented on each stage of the booking process, from the event page on our website to the booking page and even on the tickets and in the email confirmation you receive and is to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
1,238 reviews
.03 km away
Town Hall Hotel
1,471 reviews
.59 km away
The RE London Shoreditch
1,456 reviews
.87 km away
Stepney City Luxury Loft Apartment
1 review
.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Forchetta
230 reviews
.27 km away
Sager + Wilde
150 reviews
.33 km away
The Sun Tavern
40 reviews
.30 km away
The Vurger Co
29 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
V&A Museum of Childhood
738 reviews
.42 km away
The Redchurch Brewery
8 reviews
.57 km away
Bethnal Green Station
20 reviews
.02 km away
Londres Gratis
394 reviews
.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Backyard Comedy Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit