We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sea Life Brighton

#13 of 167 things to do in Brighton Features Animals
Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TB, England
+44 871 423 2110
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.54*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good36%
  • Average20%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
Marine Parade, Brighton BN2 1TB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 871 423 2110
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We've visited a few of these around and about and this one was much like the others. With a new baby we found that access with a pram was tricky and I should imagine it would be difficult for those with mobility difficulties. The biggest...More

1  Thank Wheelsy
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for visiting. The coffee shop does not have the facility to prepare or heat food, so pre-packed products are all we can cater for I am afraid.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very expensive and in need of some TLC. The fish look in good condition but the information needs updating and sorting out. The tunnel under the pool is good but too crowded to be able to stop and look at things. Too many huge pushchairs...More

Thank HoneyD337
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Honey, we do have a buggy park but not everyone chooses to use it.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I love sea-life centers and while this offered the usual selection of small sharks and rays, it also has a few reptiles and I've never seen a turtle in the others I've visited so that was a delight even if I got told off for...More

Thank Carnelian31
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for taking the time to visit and review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pre booked our tickets, so werent waiting long and we was even let in early. Tour was lovely lots to see but the tanks didnt have much light so taking photos was a bit hard. Not all the areas are clear so we thought we...More

Thank Zantefunbex
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

excellent review, thanks for taking the time.

A TripAdvisor Member
41
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My young son loved it , was very educational and well worth a visit , perfect on a rainy day to entertain the children . Money also goes towards conservation , so a great cause .

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Everyday is a school day, but we are just much more fun.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I assumed it'd be a decent aquarium as it is right on the water however there wasn't much to see at all! There are some cool exhibits and information given but overall the actual wildlife we saw was quite underwhelming. We paid 34£ for my...More

Thank Inessa C
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Inessa, it is a shame you only stayed for 30 minutes. most our visitors stay for 90+minutes

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went here for my birthday weekend with my boyfriend. It was lovely to walk around and see all the different creatures.

Thank Zoe H
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Zoe, happy belated Birthday but pleased you had a great day.

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a lovely place to visit. Lots to see and do. Educational too. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Thank jebra13
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

I will pass your kind words onto the team, thanks for the review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

There was quite a queue when we arrived, but they were getting to each customer as quickly as they could. We paid for the boat trip aswell as our entrance fee in, which isn't that cheap. I was quite disappointed in the boat ride, which...More

Thank Tricia F
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Tricia, 90-120 minutes is about the normal dwell time but lots of people come back for the talks and feeds later in the day. As we don't train the animals to perform it is difficult to predict if they will swim under the boat...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The experience was just mediocre. My friend and I were able to walk around three times and were left thinking is that it? We were expecting more. We paid £4 each for the boat which was on an area not much bigger than a pond....More

Thank jeyn2002
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Jeyn, thanks for leaving the review. I am sorry that you felt the boat ride would not offer value for money, it is genuinely one of the highlights of most peoples visits. Please rest assured we do not have dirty green water, however sometimes...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Thewitchez Photo Design Cafe Bar
569 reviews
.06 km away
Camelford Arms
423 reviews
.15 km away
La Capannina
637 reviews
.15 km away
The Marine Tavern
136 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grosvenor Casino Brighton
54 reviews
.24 km away
On The Rocks Bar Crawl
226 reviews
.10 km away
The Plotting Parlour
183 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Savita R
25 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from diverchickShropshire | Reviewed this property |
Im not sure. Probably best to call them first to avoid disappointment. It's a great day out. Enjoy :-)
1
Vote
Lubeyna D
24 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sophie A | Reviewed this property |
Not at the actual attraction no. There is a multi-storey car park very nearby, like less than a five minute walk from the aquarium. I always find it cheaper to get the train to Brighton, as parking there costs the earth!!
1
Vote
Elliot C
6 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from suzzanne333 | Reviewed this property |
Yes but they say that they turn people away if it gets too busy ! I went on Friday just gone .. it took a little under an hour to look round and I came out feeling sorry for the creatures in there , too small .
0
Votes