We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bygones

Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
+44 1803 326108
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A brilliant attraction with easy nearby parking.

SO MUCH to look at inside including a real steam locomotive!! once you're finished inside, take a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
mbenson777
,
Torquay, United Kingdom
Lovely place

I visited Bygones recently with my family, and it didn't disappoint. I'm a lover of anything... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mamasausage
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,388 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“victorian street” (104 reviews)
“steam engine” (41 reviews)
“victorian times” (42 reviews)
LOCATION
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1803 326108
Write a ReviewReviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

SO MUCH to look at inside including a real steam locomotive!! once you're finished inside, take a look around the nearby shops in St. Marychurch. A value for money attraction, it will take the observant ones at least 2-3 hours inside as there really is...More

Thank mbenson777
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Bygones recently with my family, and it didn't disappoint. I'm a lover of anything historical and this is definitely the place to visit if you are like minded. Staff were very friendly and I thought the ticket prices were fair. It lacks somewhat...More

Thank mamasausage
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit. We regret that due to access and the nature of the building we cannot fit lifts within it, and that our fire risk assessment restricts buggy access. We do get many families in and children of a young age. We hope...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with my family just after new year - quite interesting but it only takes an hour to walk round, so at £9.50 I’d say it’s about twice the price it should be, hence the 2 stars. It’s also very cold in the winter!More

Thank John D
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your visit, we recommend 1/1.5 hours for a visit but find many people stay a lot longer depending on interest in the exhibits. We set our prices at a comparable rate with other tourist attractions in the area and they are of course...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bygones has something for everyone. Fashions and household appliances, Old sweet shops and jewellers, railway memorabilia and so much more on several floors. Well worth a visit. Add in a very pleasant cafe with books and items for sale and you have all the ingredients...More

Thank alandawil
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit so much and that you feel it is worthwhile, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Interesting attraction especially if you take a young person with you to see their reactions. It was around Easter so there was an Easter egg hunt which made it more engaging for my young companion.

Thank lucylou2016
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you and your companion enjoyed your visit! We run seasonal children's activities.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there with my children recently ! Really quite a nice place to visit memory lane & they do food as well ! More choice & busier in summer but still nice treat

Thank johngU1213AI
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your visit, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it and our cafe!

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A truly magical visit to Bygones today. Our children’s meeting with the authentic Victorian Father Christmas in the beautiful grotto was lovely and the attention to detail was amazing. He was the best Father Christmas we have seen this year! The whole museum is something...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you all enjoyed your visit to Bygones. Our traditional Santa Claus has proved really popular this year! He will be visiting again Christmas 2018! Thanks for coming, see you again!

Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

Set up originally and still run by a husband and wife as a way to show off their collection. I'd have looked to have seen the look on the wife's face when the husband came home and announced he'd bought a steam engine. Yes, there...More

Thank Cocorabbit69
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed it so much. A lot of effort has gone into the creation of Bygones over 30 years and we are proud to keep it running as a family business. We...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017

Wonderful, wonderful shop - so much to see and take in what it was like so many years ago. The view into the shop windows brought memories even when I was a child,

Thank paul0033
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and could reminisce about the past! Hope to see you again one day.

Reviewed 2 December 2017

Well presented museum with really interesting narratives over three stories. Social history done well. Would give the cream tea in the cafe a miss next time though, very dry scones, foil-pack jam.More

Thank SouthcombeRaven
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Many thanks for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the historical and attraction aspect. We regret that on your visit the scone was dry, we do have regular deliveries for our scones and usually get good feedback for our cream teas. Apologies and we...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 85 hotels in Torquay
Summerbay Resort Hotel
5 reviews
.24 km away
Trecarn Hotel
1,314 reviews
.37 km away
Anchorage Hotel
414 reviews
.39 km away
Exmouth View Hotel
47 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Memories Bistro
258 reviews
.28 km away
Cliff Railway Cafe
414 reviews
.29 km away
Three Degrees West
259 reviews
.48 km away
The Bay Tree Cafe
114 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Babbacombe Model Village
3,047 reviews
.19 km away
Babbacombe Theatre
721 reviews
.71 km away
Babbacombe
1,198 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Craig L
6 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi, yes we recommend 1 hour to 1.5 hours but as you can see from all the other positive comments, many people spend longer as there is so much to see across the 3 floors!
0
Votes
Jeannette J
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi, there are about 8 stairs from the ground to 2nd level then 30 up to the top and 30 down however they aren't too steep. They are graduated and have hand rails. Unfortunately we cannot fit lifts in due to it being a 1920's... More
0
Votes
Sam D
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
£9.50 for our 3 levels (:
0
Votes