We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bygones

Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
+44 1803 326108
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A really interesting place

We really enjoyed this step back into the past. There were lots of interesting articles and very... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
janorton
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Interesting

Very good attraction. However, I felt it was a little over priced as only slightly cheaper than... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Janice B
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 1,378 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“victorian street” (104 reviews)
“steam engine” (39 reviews)
“victorian times” (42 reviews)
LOCATION
Fore Street | St Marychurch, Torquay TQ1 4PR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1803 326108
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We really enjoyed this step back into the past. There were lots of interesting articles and very interactive.

Thank janorton
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are delighted to hear you all enjoyed your visit, and the step back through time!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good attraction. However, I felt it was a little over priced as only slightly cheaper than the model village, which you could spend all day in. However, the scenes were good and found it very enjoyable.

Thank Janice B
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your visit, we are pleased you enjoyed it.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great museum we visited with our 10 year old girls they had a great time. As did we looking at the displays. Ended with a visit to the cafe all good value for money very friendly staff. Well worth a visit.

Thank Mike R
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback. Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A really good museum with all the displays being totally authentic and every item being correctly placed in time. Great for showing the younger generation how things were and even better for my generation being able to say time and time again. 'I remember that'...More

Thank Big-G66
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your visit, there certainly is a lot inside to see and remember! Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a must, the museum visit was part of holiday excursions. The museum is full of nostalgia and great to see the past items one was associated with. Three floors of memories. If not able because of health problems remain on ground floor and...More

Thank Peter G
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Absolutely loved visiting Bygones. It's just like stepping back in time, as different eras have been carefully recreated on each floor. It's perhaps smaller than I expected it to be, but it is jam packed with so many historical items that you really need a...More

Thank jessielovestravel123
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit so much, thank you for coming, we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 14 October 2017

This was small and compact over three floors. However the amout of exhiibits in there was exceptional. Such a wide variety of items from a bygone age was very impressive it can get a bit overcrowded with small passageways.

1  Thank John1538
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback, we certainly have packed a lot in to the space we have, hopefully see you again!

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This is a must visit venue for everyone of an age who can remember steam engines, penny blacks or is ingested in their past. A lovely hour can be spent looking around before you reach the cafe!

Thank Jeffroyals
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed it!

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit lots of memorabilia to see . Not good for people with prawns or wheelchairs as there's steps to all floors .

Thank Jeannette J
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We come here each time we are in Devon and look forward to it. We can teach the children about different things in the museum and the realistic street is our favourite. There is a nice reasonable cafe and the entry price is reasonable. Guided...More

Thank kayleighac
BYGONES B, General Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit once again and we look forward to next time!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Memories Bistro
255 reviews
.28 km away
Cliff Railway Cafe
410 reviews
.29 km away
Three Degrees West
250 reviews
.48 km away
Driftwood Cafe
143 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Babbacombe Model Village
3,026 reviews
.19 km away
Babbacombe Theatre
707 reviews
.71 km away
Babbacombe
1,196 reviews
.61 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jeannette J
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi, there are about 8 stairs from the ground to 2nd level then 30 up to the top and 30 down however they aren't too steep. They are graduated and have hand rails. Unfortunately we cannot fit lifts in due to it being a 1920's... More
0
Votes
Sam D
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
£9.50 for our 3 levels (:
0
Votes
Justine W
2 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BYGONES B | Property representative |
Hi! It is self-guided unless you book as a group for a guided tour. Thanks!
1
Vote