We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tate Gallery St. Ives

| Porthmeor Beach, St Ives TR26 1TG, England
+44 1736 796226
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Far too expensive

don't follow the signs in the town to the gallery as the only lead you to the car parks, we had to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
hatamoto1
,
Halifax, United Kingdom
Was to have been the highlight of the holiday

We arrived full of anticipation to be hugely disappointed as the gallery was shut for renovation... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
H4772NMrogerh
,
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Read all 1,371 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tate St Ives will be closed until Saturday 14th October 2017 to complete the final stages of a building project that will double the size of the gallery. For the first time, Tate St Ives can provide a permanent presence to those iconic 20th century artists who lived and worked in the town, demonstrating the role of St Ives in the story of modern art. This is accompanied by a new programme of large-scale seasonal shows.
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good17%
  • Average21%
  • Poor19%
  • Terrible25%
1 week ago
“A little disappointing ”
2 weeks ago
“Been Looking Forward to This Visit”
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
| Porthmeor Beach, St Ives TR26 1TG, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1736 796226
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

don't follow the signs in the town to the gallery as the only lead you to the car parks, we had to climb a hill to see the gallery and aim for it, the pottery exhibition was excellent, As for the rest it was not...More

Thank hatamoto1
Reviewed 6 days ago

We arrived full of anticipation to be hugely disappointed as the gallery was shut for renovation. Is it beyond the ability of of a famous gallery to change their exhibits room by room rather than the whole gallery at one time?. We had travelled a...More

1  Thank H4772NMrogerh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was initially looking forward to visiting the Tate in St Ives but left feeling disappointed. Visited the Cafe expecting it to be like the cafe in London, sadly it was not. Service was very bad and the food was just as bad.More

Thank rhill52052014
TateStIves, Visitor Experience Manager at Tate Gallery St. Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent visit to our Cafe. I am extremely concerned to learn of your disappointment with your experience of your visit, and I would like to assure you that your feedback is taken very...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A lot of money for what's on offer here (see general TA feedback) and maybe not our cup of tea. But what is unforgivable is the quality of service here - ALL the staff need a lesson in how to be polite and friendly and...More

3  Thank Neil D
TateStIves, Visitor Experience Manager at Tate Gallery St. Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the gallery. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the experience and found all staff on duty unfriendly. We pride ourselves on our visitor welcome, with a strong programme of customer service training in place...More

A TripAdvisor Member
Brackley, Northants.
1217
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having visited twice before, and enjoyed it, I was disappointed with the exhibits this time. To be honest pottery isn't my thing, though I enjoyed the film about nearby Leach Pottery. The shop is good and I bought a couple of items from there. We...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TateStIves, Visitor Experience Manager at Tate Gallery St. Ives, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your recent visit and I'm sorry you were disappointed with the exhibition. You'll be pleased to hear that staff on the tills at both the Hepworth museum and Tate were informing visitors of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled back this Sept just to pick up a picture from the gallery, I wanted one that reminded me of special times with my mum and sadly past dad.

Thank vandacattle
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were disappointed to find that the gallery has closed for several weeks. It looks a wonderful building from the outside and from all intents and purposes there are mixed views about it. I will wait to see what the new reviews reveal and then...More

Thank OldBear
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately this was not my cup of tea at all. £15 entrance fee although we had a discount ticket so we were half price. The first room was full of Leach pottery which I had already seen last year when I visited the pottery which...More

1  Thank 817carolineh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am not a particularly cultured person, and thus often art just goes over the top of my head. Unfortunately, this happened a lot during our visit to the Tate Gallery. Modern art confuses me at the best of times, so I'm probably not the...More

Thank Andrew K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If nothing else inspires you the view from the top floor restaurant will. The wonderfull views over the surfing bay, the unique blue of the waters around here will urge you to take (yet another) photo.

Thank V B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cellar Bistro
549 reviews
.17 km away
The Digey Food Room
229 reviews
.16 km away
Porthmeor Beach Cafe
2,073 reviews
.11 km away
Firehouse Bar and Grill
1,402 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Porthmeor Beach
957 reviews
.09 km away
Barbara Hepworth Museum and Sculpture Garden
1,087 reviews
.17 km away
The Penwith Gallery
46 reviews
.23 km away
Harbour Amusements
36 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tate Gallery St. Ives staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit