Santa Maria Golf & Country Club

Santa Maria Golf & Country Club, Elviria: Address, Phone Number, Santa Maria Golf & Country Club Reviews: 4/5

Santa Maria Golf & Country Club

Santa Maria Golf & Country Club
4
About
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.0
143 reviews
Excellent
52
Very good
64
Average
17
Poor
5
Terrible
5

NickiB2362
Sitio de Calahonda, Spain15 contributions
Hike in online price
Jan 2021
What is going on Santa Maria?I have been booking online at 24,50 a round. To get this you have to book same day. The course is empty hardly any clients. Suddenly this week they hike the price to 42,50. You just lost my pay and play business. Really cannot see the logic in this action. Can you please explain this to me. Thank you
Written 19 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for writing us about this incident. We are very sorry about what happened and we will take your commentary in consideration for the future. It is an intelligent reservation system that, depending on the availability of the field, offers a greater or lesser discount. The price of a greenfee in January is € 50, therefore in both cases the rate applied has been lower. We hope we have explained, if you have any other questions, you can contact us again. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

adamswinkels
Marbella, Spain11 contributions
Golf today
Dec 2020 • Friends
My friend and I turned up for golf at 1 pm today and explained that we had trouble with the internet to book the special golf price via web page ..The man at reception desk who was unhelpful to say the least said in order to get the special price we had to use Pay Pal to book on line ! We were the only people in the professional shop and it would have been so easy for him to take a credit card or cash payment !? From us but instead his rudeness and complete lack of customer service made us decide to leave and play another course locally ...
It seems incredible in these difficult economic times that Santa Maria golf operate there front of house in this way !!
Not only do we live locally but will never return and will for sure tell all our friends and golf groups of our terrible experience!


Written 7 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for writing us about this incident Adam. We are very sorry about what happened and we will take your comentarie in consideration for the future. Your experience is very important for us and we would like if you will give us the opportunity of demostrate you why many customers choose us. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ni R
7 contributions
Incident with a buggy
Aug 2020 • Couples
Good morning
Yesterday we had an incident with a buggy when it started to rain where fortunately nobody got injured but one of the players flew out from the car because the breaks got suddenly stuck and the buggy started to spinning around. When we reported it the explanation given to us was extremely poor and unconsidered. Please bear in mind yours customers’ safety should be key and the buggies were not in the conditions to be used by the golfers, at least in case of drizzling.
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for writing us about this incident. We are very sorry about what happened and we will take your comentarie in consideration for the future. Your experience is very important for us. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StephenCross
Dublin, Ireland14,927 contributions
Best condition I have seen in 15 years at Santa Maria
Jul 2020 • Friends
Course is in exceptional condition (played July 3rd with Harmon’s Golf Society). New hole on 10th is a golfers hole and long with danger to the right. They made a few alterations to the 9th and it’s a super challenging hole. Really enjoyable and Harmon’s Golf is every Friday so look it up and rock up! Recommended.
Written 3 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much Stephen. Your experience is very important for us. We hope to see you again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GRAYinES
1 contribution
The new 9th (currently temp 10) is a joke.
Feb 2020 • Couples
I don’t normally comment on these threads. But in the case of the new 9th (currently temp 10) I feel I have to. I have played this course for 18 years. The new hole is a joke and can only be described as Mickey Mouse! Santa Maria you have ruined your golf course. I can on my day get on all the par 5 in regulation. This one you have to plan on getting on in 4 and hope you two putt. Even on the green it is difficult and different from the rest. The rest of Santa Maria is excellent. What a shame they have done this.
Written 29 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello Grayin. We are sorry if you had that bad experience in this last visit. It was the only way to transform our field in a par 72 but the works at Santa Maria Golf Club will improve the aspect of the whole transformation. We expect so and so we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StephenCross
Dublin, Ireland14,927 contributions
Has become more challenging with new hole on 9th
Dec 2019 • Friends
I have played this course over the past 15 plus years and it’s good to see the investment in new and more challenging holes. The 9th is really hard - but the game is supposed to be a challenge! Looking forward to seeing the new 10th! They really could do with a Marshall to keep play moving faster. Bit pricy but enjoyable.
Written 9 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much Stephen. It is always a pleasure to receive you at Santa Maria Golf. We are glad that you enjoyed the course and we will have your commentaries in consideration. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Leigh S
25 contributions
Brilliant course - even better welcome!
Oct 2019 • Business
Probably the friendliest golf club I have ever had the pleasure of playing at!

We got our tee time a day wrong and turned up to be told there was a members only competition on! So we could not play.

In hearing this Nick one of the members invited us to play in their competition.

We played with Graham and Richard two of the nicest guys you could meet!

We played Cobapino the day before and this course was streets ahead. Beautiful fairways and greens! As well as investment in adapting the 9th into a very challenging par 5.

We had a great time, enjoyed a beer or 2 with the members and would highly recommend this course and club!

We will be back!

Leigh and Chris from Harrogate
Written 17 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much Leigh and Chris for your nice words. It's a pleasure to know you have enjoyed in our field and you have had such a good experience. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Santa María Golf club Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TheAssessor
Harlow, UK122 contributions
The new 9th hole....
Oct 2019
Having played here annually for 17 years I could not believe the NEW 9th hole!

What an absolute JOKE....it is awful, totally unrealistic and a huge disappointment.

5 and a quarter hours round, so very difficult to get any momentum.

We were also somewhat surprised at the cost of 'post match' drinks, which appeared to be very expensive.

Out of our group of eight, only two players managed to score a point on the 9th (handicaps ranging from 10 to 32)

I am sad to say that our annual pilgrimage to this course is now being seriously reviewed.
Written 15 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello TheAssessor. Thank you very much for your message and for visiting Santa Maria Golf Club one more year. We are sorry about your bad experience at the 9th hole and about the cost of our 'post match' drinks, which we will check with the team. We work for offering you a great course surrounded by an unique and exceptional enviroment and we will have your words in consideration in order to improve in the aspects described. We expect to see you again at our field and we will show you that your satisfaction is the most important to us. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carl M
Worminghall, UK234 contributions
A joke, could not organised anything
Sep 2019
We turned up here after travelling from the UK. They didn't have the buggies we booked (they had run out), tee times were 20 minutes behind schedule and people were fighting for buggies as they came off the 18th with no one organizing anything. As a consequence one of the buggies ran out of power mid-way round.

Queuing behind at least 2 four balls on several tees right into the second half of the round.

Wont be back - joke of a club
Written 10 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hello carlm729. Thank you very much for writing us. We are sorry about your bad experience which is far from our intention. We work for offering your an excellent golf course surrounded by a beautiful and unique environement. We Will share your case with our team in order to evaluate what has happened and we will work so it won't happen again. We hope you Will give us the opportunity to show you next time why many guest choose, enjoy and repeat at Santa Maria Golf. Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

GordonW318
Gloucester, UK1,214 contributions
Good Golf Course & Small Friendly Club House
Oct 2019
This is a good golf course and quite challenging for senior or high handicap golfer although can be enjoyable. Friendly and helpful staff in the clubhouse.
Written 8 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much Gordon. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 104
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing