We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau

Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
+1 514-284-0333
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
long weekend

great place i had a massage and the water circuit very relaxing , friendly and very helpful staff... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
asimaman82
,
New York City, New York
Very Relaxing

Visited Bota Bota with my husband for our tenth anniversary. We booked a couples massage and did... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AriaBailey
,
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Read all 641 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Step onboard into a universe awash with astounding contrasts. In an invented space, between two water worlds... float away.Anchored at the Old Port of Montreal, Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau offers passengers the healing benefits of a spa coupled with the natural lulling movements of the St Lawrence River. Surrounded by enchanting decor, with Old Montreal as a magical backdrop, this mysterious and innovative floating spa offers privileged proximity to the river while enjoying the relaxing and energizing merits of the water circuit.Bota Bota is comprised of five decks on which you will find the various spa installations: two saunas with incredible views of the river and the Old Port, a eucalyptus steam bath, outdoor whirlpool baths, cold showers and baths, relaxation areas, restaurant, terraces and garden.Over and above its breathtaking Montreal location, this unique spa offers prolonged well-being to its passengers through massage therapy, body treatments, facial treatments, manicures and pedicures, as well as yoga and meditation.You can also delight your taste buds at the restaurant operated by Auberge sur la Route, with Michelin-starred chef Eric Gonzalez at its helm. Affiliated with the reputed Auberge St-Gabriel, Auberge sur la Route allows passengers to complement their experience with a fresh and simple menu, both original and comforting, for a serene healing of body and mind.
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“water circuit” (126 reviews)
“spa experience” (23 reviews)
LOCATION
Old Port of Montreal | Corner McGill and de la Commune West, Montreal, Quebec QC H2Y 3H8, Canada
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
CONTACT
Website
+1 514-284-0333
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

great place i had a massage and the water circuit very relaxing , friendly and very helpful staff , can get busy but its part of the fun, dont forget to bring shower flip flops

Thank asimaman82
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Bota Bota with my husband for our tenth anniversary. We booked a couples massage and did the water circuit first. I recommend going early in the day as it seemed to be getting quite busy around noon. The massages were very good. And the...More

Thank AriaBailey
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Aria, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Bota Bota experience. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time spent aboard! Regarding the steam room situation, I definitely will look into it, as it's not supposed to have this odor. I...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for a relaxing (package of 3 hrs, 4 hrs or whole day). From dry sauna to wet ones, outside hot pools and cold ones to massage and retreat spaces - with beds or hanging chairs. The staff if really helpful and paying attention...More

Thank 136smith
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "136smith", Thank you for your kind words, they are really appreciated! I will make sure to share you comments with our dedicated team, who work very hard, every day, to make sure our clients enjoy a memorable experience. We hope you will visit Bota...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I doubt the state of utter bliss and relaxation will last long into 2018, but what a remarkable way to usher in the new year. The series of aromatic steam baths, saunas, and hot pots was comparable to similar experiences in Nordic countries, and the...More

Thank Evan F
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Evan, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Bota Bota experience with the TripAdvisor community! I'm very glad to read that you had a good time aboard. There is indeed something unreal, almost mystic about sitting in a hot jucuzzi...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do yourself a favour this 2018 and take a HARD PASS on this overpriced, deeply inferior "spa." This is hands down the worst experience I have ever had at a spa. I don't even know where to begin. Let's start with the check-in. We arrived...More

4  Thank Jesse D
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jesse, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Bota Bota experience. It's definitely with our clients's feedback that we can offer them the best possible experience. I am sorry you had to wait for check-in and check-out. During the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been to this spa twice because of it’s convenient location accessible by metro. The location and baths are beautiful. The view on the city is breath taking. The lockers are spacious and clean. However, the whole experience is highly overpriced. I understand the silence...More

Thank Francine F
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Francine, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's with our passengers' feedback that we can improve our services. I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities of Bota Bota. The views from our different baths are indeed really beautiful! Regarding...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved this place...we arrived at 5pm ish and there were no available men’s lockers so we were told the wait would be approximately 1 hour. We waited about 20-25 min and were checked in very expeditiously and it was SO worth the short wait....More

Thank annerie h
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear "annerie", Thank you very much for your review! I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your time spent aboard. It's something very special to enjoy the water circuit during such polar temperatures! We hope to welcome you back to Bota Bota sometime soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It has been a few times I’ve come to this spa... and every time I become more and more dissatisfied. Firstly don’t expect much for the customer service, most unfriendly and deciding who going on break next than taking the time to check you in....More

Thank mctb0609
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "mctb0609", I first want to thank you for taking the time to write this review as it's always with our clients' feedback that we can improve our services. We strive to offer our passengers exemplary customer service and I am sorry we fell short...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

Enjoyed both a massage and the water circuit here and really had a wonderful experience overall. There was a bit of a wait to get into the spa, but otherwise it was a very relaxing and fun experience. Staff was friendly and the premises were...More

Thank CndKwn
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear "CndKwn", Thank you very much for your kind words! We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time spent aboard and look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 15 December 2017

My boyfriend and I had been here before and we loved the massages, so we decided to go back. I booked our massages over the phone for 90 minutes. When we got there we found out that our massages were booked for 60 minutes only...More

Thank veronikagorlova
Natalie E, Responsable relations clients at Bota Bota, spa-sur-l'eau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Veronika, I am sorry your last visit at Bota Bota did not go as expected. I understand, from your review, that there was a few hiccups and I apologize about it. Please note, however, that the therapeutic massage is never offered with hot oil....More

Nearby
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
nightfall transforms from a business district into a
youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 165 hotels in Montreal
Hotel St Paul
1,284 reviews
.44 km away
Le Cafe St. Paul
1 review
.45 km away
Le Petit Hotel
1,119 reviews
.47 km away
Hotel Bonaparte
1,060 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Gibbys
1,805 reviews
.36 km away
Le Cartet
511 reviews
.33 km away
Ikanos
269 reviews
.35 km away
Jellyfish Crudo+Charbon
117 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
1,458 reviews
.39 km away
Rue St-Paul
1,526 reviews
.45 km away
Old Port of Montreal
2,028 reviews
.18 km away
Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
599 reviews
.31 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Stephanie O
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Amine_Ameen | Reviewed this property |
Hi there Stephanie, For some reason I do not get notified on my phone when some traveler asks a question and just been busy the past week🤷🏻‍♂️ Nevertheless, tho it’s late and probably your week in Montreal is over, I’d... More
0
Votes
ginarose35
14 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MasterGeorge8 | Reviewed this property |
I think he will fit, but tell him to take take, you'll enjoy this experience.
1
Vote
kmcVacas
10 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Natalie E | Property representative |
Hello there ! I am sorry we did not respond earlier. On the spa premises, it's not possible to smoke. We ask our clients who wish to smoke to do so passed the front gate, a few meters away from the spa.
0
Votes
Google Translation