We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About Kayak Halifax
Your next adventure awaits a stone’s throw from downtown Halifax attractions, restaurants, hotels & the cruise ship terminal. Join us for an authentic East Coast experience on a 2 hour exploratour, a full day or overnight island adventure. Paddle from sunrise to sunset or under the full moon. Discover & explore the second largest natural harbour on the planet & our wild islands. Enjoy marine life encounters, coastal hikes & beautiful beaches, island ecotours, culinary & glamping adventures. To have as much fun as our guides, just remember to pack a sense of adventure & sense of humour!
Read more
Travellers talk about

Kayak Halifax
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
74Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 13
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amanda K wrote a review Sep 2019
18 contributions1 helpful vote
Despite my hesitation to book a tour with this company based on poor reviews and the wind, I did so anyway. The owner personally came to our airbnb to pick us up, drove us to the beach giving us a tour of the local historical spots and after safety demonstrations gave us a personal tour. We paddled a few coves and alongside seals. A wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Diane Z wrote a review Aug 2019
13 contributions5 helpful votes
I STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST BOOKING TOURS WITH THIS COMPANY. They do not return calls prior to tour. They do not have physical "store" as in previous years. Our trip was canceled due to high winds. Fair enough but if you wait for the wind to be less then 20 knots you will be waiting a long time. I requested a refund. I waited the 20 business days before starting to email the company. No response and to date no refund.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HalifaxKayak, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax
Responded 20 Nov 2019
Thank you, Diane, for sharing your experience. We unfortunately do occasionally have to cancel tours due to high winds (15+ knots), heavy fog or thunderstorms. This is infrequent in July & August. We are sorry we weren't able to paddle with you and your daughter. We'd be happy to provide you a complimentary 2 hour paddle in 2020 for the delay in processing your refund. Wishing your family a wonderful winter full of adventure.
Read more
Allen D wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Much like the other review we booked a kayak adventure that was cancelled the day before we were supposed to go -- no response to our numerous requests for a refund so clearly no refund in sight. A point of interest, before we received the cancellation email we were walking the boardwalk trying to find out where we need to be the next morning using the instructions / directions provided on the booking email and there was no sign of Kayak Halifax, no sign of any Kayaks nor did any of the other tour guide people working know where "Kayak Halifax" was. This website needs to be shut down, nothing more than a scam.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HalifaxKayak, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax
Responded 20 Nov 2019
Kayak Halifax has operated from the a location on the Halifax Waterfront May 2013 through May 2019 and have received the TripAdvisor Award of Excellence annually. Effective June 2019, we relocated from the waterfront however we arrange pickup or transportation from DT Halifax to one of three kayak launch sites minutes from DT Halifax. Would you kindly reach out to us and provide a reservation confirmation. We have no record of any bookings from Allen in our reservation system in 2019. Thank you in advance.
Read more
kwall2017 wrote a review Aug 2019
Nova Scotia, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
I booked a picnic kayak to McNab's Island for 2, total cost $379.50 paid in advance. The trip was cancelled due to weather (?) and since there has been complete no response to my requests for info regarding my refund. I have sent messages by e-mail and text both of which they used to communicate with me before they cancelled the trip. Based on the other reviews I see here with similar experiences, I am considering reporting them to the Better Business Bureau.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HalifaxKayak, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax
Responded 20 Nov 2019
Thank you for sharing your experience, Kate. On August 17th, we offered to reschedule your tour or to provide alternative tours to McNabs Island and to refund the difference. We are very sorry that we had to cancel and you were unavailable to reschedule with us in 2019 or to take us up on our offer for an alternate tour. As we've mentioned, we did have a delay issuing refunds. On August 27th, via Email, we also offered you and a guest a complimentary 3 hour tour to McNabs Island (value: $220) for the inconvenience. We received PayPal notification of your full refund being issued on September 17th at 08:33 am. We hope you have a great winter & that you'll take us up on our offer of a complimentary paddle & hike.
Read more
C.B wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Ed Dowel, claims to be owner of Kayak Halifax. He took payment for our group of 14 in Feb.and July. He cancelled trip 2 days before. We went physically to his location & security guard told us he has not been in business for a year, didn't pay rent, & removed from premises. Also property Manager confirmed that others had same problem. If you are victim, file police report at 902-490-5016, try to get your $$ from PayPal, contact Google to remove Kayak Halifax online.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HalifaxKayak, Guest Relations Manager at Kayak Halifax
Responded 20 Nov 2019
We sincerely appreciate honest feedback and we readily acknowledge when we drop the ball on the world class experience and customer service we endeavor to provide daily. That being said, in this particular case, the review by Christine Bautista is a completely false narrative from an irate customer who failed to make the payment due on or before May 30, 2019, to confirm her group tour. We will be sharing all relevant correspondence, your invoice and reservation terms & conditions with the TripAdvisor team. Kayak Halifax has been in operation for seven (7) consecutive seasons and we have offered world class experiences primarily from our Halifax Waterfront location from May 2013 through May 2019. We have been perennial recipients of the TripAdvisor Award of Excellence. NB: Kayak Halifax paid our May 2019 rent for the Halifax Waterfront location with the full intention of operating for the 2019 season. However, we elected to terminate our license agreement at this location effective June 2019 when we were advised in late May that a sea doo (jet ski) rental company would be operating from our docks. We expressed our deep concerns about this operation being on the Halifax Waterfront, including but not limited to noise pollution & the disturbance to kayakers as well as those on the waterfront seeking a Zen experience, wake (waves), the fatal combination of inexperienced riders, unpredictability of direction of travel & sudden turns paired with high speed, the risk of serious injury and death. In fact, 2 jet skis collided in the harbour in 2019 resulting in injuries and 1 jet ski sinking to the bottom of the harbour. After June 1 2019, we continued to meet guests & arrange for transportation to an alternate launch site minutes from the Halifax Waterfront. We continued to offer ocean kayak & coastal hiking tours in the Halifax Harbour & McNabs Island, including the 2 hour Harbour Exploratour which you had initially reserved but unfortunately you failed to confirm with a payment as per the agreed upon terms and conditions of your group reservation. As we expressed when you reached out to in late July (for the very 1st time since February 27th), we are equally disappointed that we were unable to share this experience with our group. Just as a quick summary of our correspondence: UNPAID GROUP RESERVATION / TOUR NOT CONFIRMED / CLIENT UNRESPONSIVE TO CORRESPONDENCE 1. A tentative reservation was made with clear terms that a 50% deposit was required upon booking & 50% balance due on or before May 30, 2019. 2. We did not hear from Ms. Bautista from February 27th (date reservation made / invoice) until the end of July 2019. Ms. Bautista ignored half a dozen Emails & phone calls asking if she intended to confirm her reservation. 3. Both the invoice and Email correspondence are crystal clear regarding payment or the reservation would be released. 4. Ms. Bautista reached out in late July. This was less than two (2) weeks before her requested tour date, which is during our busiest part of the season, . Kayak Halifax responded on July 30th via Email (9 days prior to the tour reservation date of August 7th - NOT 2 days prior as stated above). 5. We advised that we had not heard from Ms. Bautista in five (5) months, that she had not responded to our correspondence, that she had not confirmed her group tour, that she had not made the payment as per the terms & conditions ( payment was made in July that was due in May) & unfortunately we no longer had availability. 6. Ms. Bautista became very aggressive and insistent in her correspondence that we accommodate her group and we could only reply, that regrettably we could not accommodate her group at this late date - an answer she adamantly refused to accept. 7. On September 11th, Ms. Bautista acknowledged receipt of a full refund. _______________________________ DETAILS On February 20th, 2019, Christine Bautista inquired about a group kayak outing. Our team promptly responded and we corresponded back and forth over a period of a week. On February 27th, Ms. Bautista advised that she would like to make a reservation for fourteen (14) guests. We invoiced your group reservation via PayPal, with clear payment terms both in the Email and detailed in the invoice: "We do require a minimum 50% deposit upon booking and the balance paid in full on or before May 30, 2019." It was very clear in the terms & conditions that the tour was not confirmed if payment was not received by this date. We are a small seasonal operation and although we only require 3 days advance notice for individuals and small groups of 6 or fewer guests, we have a very rigid group booking policy as we cannot afford to take the monetary loss. Following the February 27th correspondence, we sent five (5) follow-up Emails and left voicemails asking Ms. Bautista to please advise if she wishes to proceed with the reservation. There was no response to any correspondence. In fact, the next time we would hear anything from Ms. Bautista would be in late July, approximately one (1) week before she arrived in Halifax with her group. Ms. Bautista did complete payment in July (well after the May 30th deadline) and had a clear expectation (without corresponding with any member of the Kayak Halifax team) and was very adamant that her group be accommodated. We explained that she had missed her booking deadline, had not reached out to confirm availability at this late date and we were now fully booked for that day. .
Read more
Previous