We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aurora Village

Features Animals
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
+1 867-669-0006
Review Highlights
Not as great despite its popularity

We booked our 3 nights aurora tour via aurora village staying at explorer hotel. They have people... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Jennifer L
via mobile
Activity village (wilderness)

This is is a secluded non commercial village where the grills are not part of the attraction... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Tony T
via mobile
Read all 330 reviews
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
A place where traditional Aboriginal culture blends together with modern amenities for a truly remarkable experience discovering the mystery of the aurora borealis. We are the aurora-viewing destination of choice in Yellowknife, Canada, providing the utmost in comfort and absolute beauty.
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good33%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“northern lights” (30 reviews)
“ice slide” (6 reviews)
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
+1 867-669-0006

Similar Things to Do in Yellowknife

Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We booked our 3 nights aurora tour via aurora village staying at explorer hotel. They have people picking you up at the airport n your rental of winter clothes inside ur room which is nice. However the viewing time is 9:30-12:45 ( they pick u...More

Thank Jennifer L
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is is a secluded non commercial village where the grills are not part of the attraction . Great igloos and it will only get better as the owner is developing the concept by the day and is very hands on . Staff are amazing...More

Thank Tony T
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We were so lucky to join the last tour of the Summer season. The aurora borealis are amazing. The teepees are not just provided you a warm place to rest, they also give your photos a good setup of nice background.

2  Thank Ruby W
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Aurora Village’s tour was highly organized. From the booking process up to when we arrived, everything was perfect. The booking is quite a tedious process, but it is to make sure that everything will be set. If you are looking for a comfortable and good...More

1  Thank Hau F
Maddy T, Front Office Manager at Aurora Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us!

Reviewed 13 October 2017

This place is too expansive and there are just too many people around! You can take a nice picture without 3 people walking in front of the camera. The guide was friendly and tried to advise the guest to be careful with other, but still......More

5  Thank AlineLacerda
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Japanese owned facility,a fixed location within forest, had a glimpse of aurora light thats it if you are lucky。very commercialized and noisy。would have spent money on some aurora chasing tour indeed, higher probability in particularly cloudy days。

3  Thank Jakeleung
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Coming from Australia I had no idea what the aurora was going to be like except that friends who have seen it said it was fantastic. I wanted to have the best viewing opportunity to see it so I chose to go with The Aurora...More

2  Thank mamsuva
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in Yellowknife for 5 nights recently and went to the Aurora Village for the first 3 nights. Although the weather was overcast and cloudy we were still able to view the aurora to some extent all 3 nights. The first night the weather...More

Thank Naomi R
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Hi Naomi, Thank you for choosing Aurora Village and for taking the time to write a review! we are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again on your next trip up North!

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Our tour started at 12pm we were waiting out the front of the hotel at 11.45am. We waited untill 12.30 before calling to find out why they never turned up...They told us the driver arrived at 11.30 and left because we wernt there, It never...More

1  Thank Dale L
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Hi Dale, That's really unfortunate that you had this bad experience up north but this couldn't possibly be an Aurora Village tour you booked. Our tours start no earlier than 1pm and we would never send any of our guests on a wildlife viewing tour...More

Reviewed 1 October 2017

I stayed for four nights in Yellowknife. The first night I joined Aurora Village. Waste money. This is the most expensive tour among the aurora viewing tours. I just saw slight glimpse of aurora. Other company will bring you to the places where aurora can...More

1  Thank Loletta820
Nearby Restaurants
Bullocks' Bistro
895 reviews
10.82 km away
The Woodyard Brewhouse & Eatery
178 reviews
11.19 km away
Dancing Moose Cafe
260 reviews
10.52 km away
Traders Grill
248 reviews
12.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bush Pilot's Monument
165 reviews
10.68 km away
The Legislative Assembly Building
168 reviews
12.42 km away
Old Town
261 reviews
10.68 km away
Down to Earth Gallery
58 reviews
11.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rikita Z
5 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from CuriousoneHongKong | Reviewed this property |
The official Aurora site said that From mid-August to the end of September and from mid-November to mid-April are the best aurora viewing seasons in Yellowknife. These are the seasons they are open because there will be... More
Marie Dreiss W
11 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Dartagnham | Reviewed this property |
Better call then directly. You will have questions and they can help you immediately.
RayandJay S
3 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from idafun | Reviewed this property |
Sep is not high season so the answer is no. However, good thing to book in advance allow you to plan your day better if you got other activities you wanna join