We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises

788 Quayside Dr, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 6Z6, Canada
+1 604-525-4465
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Plan it in summer and it might be different

Personally I would look to do something different on a Friday evening. Travelling on a paddleboat... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jpart
,
Vancouver, Canada
Paddlewheel lower Fraser River Lunch Cruise

On this trip you will learn more interesting and in-depth history of the area, as it pertains to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ssumzero
,
Vancouver
Read all 84 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Board the MV Native, an authentic paddlewheeler, for an adventure on the mighty Fraser River! With live narration of facts and fiction about the Fraser and its history, you'll encounter all the activity of a busy working river as well as the ever-present sights and sounds of wildlife such as seals, ospreys, great blue heron, eagles and with luck, salmon and sturgeon. The lush Coast Mountain Range provides a breathtaking backdrop of BC from a "River point of view." The paddlewheeler Native and the 40 passenger catamaran Beta Star have a busy spring-through-fall schedule, which includes day trips from New Westminster to Steveston, Fort Langley and the back-county wilderness of Pitt Lake. We also offer shorter lunch cruises, fun-filled Wine-and-Dine sunset cruises and Friday/Saturday Pub Nights. New for 2015 are Fraser River North Arm Luncheon Cruises on the catamaran Beta Star and we will be starting our popular Pitt Lake Cruises earlier in the season and running them later than in previous years. Also watch for our amazing boat-bus Harrison Lake cruise on the Beta Star to be featured in August! With a group booking the Native is available all year round for cruises, weddings, special events, and private functions. Valentine's Day, Christmas Cruises and New Years Eve are a big favourite on the paddlewheeler Native as well! Check our website for our schedule plus other up-coming special events and theme cruises. For 2015 we are featuring a 15% discount on some of our scheduled cruises.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fort langley” (7 reviews)
“river cruise” (7 reviews)
“salad” (11 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
788 Quayside Dr, New Westminster, British Columbia V3M 6Z6, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 604-525-4465
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Personally I would look to do something different on a Friday evening. Travelling on a paddleboat up and down the Fraser river when the sun sets really early and all you see is the lights of the city might be some people choice was certainly...More

1  Thank Jpart
Helga L, General Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy yourself. Please note our drinks are never watered down, they are properly measured based on what was ordered and are priced comparable to all other venues. We pride ourselves in providing a quality product...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On this trip you will learn more interesting and in-depth history of the area, as it pertains to the river, than the locals know. It is a relaxed cruise with interesting flood plain islands and man-made river modifications. You will pass log booms and working...More

Thank ssumzero
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes our 5th cruise with this company last thursday. We did the Pitt lake wilderness cruise again. As last year the weather had lots of fog couldn't see much. And the rain. First time on the Beta Star was pleasantly surprised not as roomy as...More

Thank 981nelsonb
Helga L, General Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your trip and the weather was a bit more co-operative. See you again soon. Helga

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were celebrating the 50th anniversary of my 21st birthday by taking this tour up the Fraser River Fraser River to Fort Langley. The day was dry and hot in the high 30's, so the leisurely ride up the Fraser was quite enjoyable. Mark frequently...More

Thank MPAnderson001
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Enjoyed a lovely cruise up the Fraser River, into Pitt River and then into beautiful Pitt Lake.Excellent narration, fine lunch.Our 6 hr trip took an extra 1/2 hour as the railway bridge over the Pitt River was busy. Gave us a little more time to...More

Thank OldGoat17
Reviewed 17 July 2017

What a wonderful day on the water. Great scenery, informative narration and great food. I would certainly go again. I will also bundle up a bit better as it was windy and cool on the water in spite of a cloudless sunny sky. Our Captain/Guide...More

Thank Lisa H
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are glad we were able to make your day a wonderful experience.

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Just one complaint: people shelling out up to $118 for a day tour shouldn't have to pay extra for coffee. That said, this was a wonderful experience, cruising along the Fraser River, up Pitt River and to Pitt Lake. The Beta Star is comfortable upstairs...More

Thank PeterGrant76
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it very much and hope you will come again, it is always appreciated. We used to supply coffee and tea for many years, however just like all other restaurants and other venues , it became too costly to...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017

We took a group of 73 seniors on the three hour cruise. The staff could not do enough for us. It was well narrated-very interesting. Buffet lunch was great. Good time was had by all.

Thank Bette H
Helga L, Manager at Paddlewheeler Riverboat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time for your lovely review.

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We have booked the Paddlewheeler twice in the past year ; Once for our sons wedding and most recently for my Husbands 60th birthday with family and friends . Had a 4 hour trip up the river with a full dinner on Board Food was...More

Thank riverrest
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This was not the enjoyable cruise tour we were hoping for. First of all when we called to reserve, they wouldn't honor the groupon which was advertised "as good for any Friday or Saturday cruising". We were told that they only take "groupons" on Fridays....More

1  Thank B1551YN
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
El Santo
153 reviews
.17 km away
Old Spaghetti Factory Restaurant
219 reviews
.22 km away
The Boathouse
353 reviews
.23 km away
Longtail Kitchen
45 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queen's Park
132 reviews
1.39 km away
New Westminster Quay
184 reviews
.08 km away
Westminster Pier Park
72 reviews
.14 km away
Wait for Me Daddy Sculpture
50 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynda B
26 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from OldGoat17 | Reviewed this property |
My wife uses a walker, if the tide is out, it is a very steep climb. As was the day we were there. If you are able to hang onto the rail and have someone help (The staff was helpful in assisting) you can probably handle... More
1
Vote
gjanie
6 June 2016|
Answer
Response from CdnCher | Reviewed this property |
For our purposes, the food was good. We had appies - sliders (good), nacho's (good). There was a salmon dinner that I saw others have, but didn't partake. It was not a buffet, but you could order individual apps.
0
Votes
OdetaR
30 January 2015|
Answer
Response from Helga L | Property representative |
Hi there! That's a great question. Unfortunately we're not fully accessible, because our facilities are not fully equipped for passengers that require use of scooters or wheelchairs. However we have plenty of experience with... More
0
Votes