We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Km. 269.5 Carretera Chetumal, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Phone Number: +52 888 449 3562
Website
Book In Advance
More Info
US$450.00*
and up
Sport-fishing Private Charter in the Riviera Maya
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 449 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 288
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 42
    Terrible
wished we would have caught more...

the guys (brothers) in the office were great! very helpful and my husband talked to them for a while. We would have liked to bottom fish as others stated, but we ended up trolling... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Tijo16

Similar Things to Do in Playa del Carmen

Add Photo Write a Review

449 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 430: English reviews
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We didn't catch a lot of fish due to the season, but it wasn't because of lack of effort. We had four in our group plus the captain & boat hand. They switched out the bait on an ongoing basis trying to get us more bites. Ultimately we a small number of fish, but still had a good time.

Helpful?
Thank Toby F
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

the guys (brothers) in the office were great! very helpful and my husband talked to them for a while. We would have liked to bottom fish as others stated, but we ended up trolling the whole time. We didn't really ask, but the boat captain didn't really suggest it either. the crew did continue to change our bait out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tijo16
Duluth Mn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My son and I tried a shared fishing trip last week. The boat was older, loud and small for the number of people on it. I know fishing is hit and miss, but this was uncomfortable. 6 paying passengers and 3 crew. No seats, you have to sit on the floor or maybe a cooler, rubbing shoulders and trying to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rivid2
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I were looking forward to a nice 4 hour fishing tour. We got a cruise up and down the coast of riviera maya. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived that we were upgraded to a larger boat. The office staff was wonderful, very accommodating and pleasant. We were very aware that there would be a chance... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TRose254
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

i wish you had come back into the office to talk to us after your trip. I cannot understand why the crew did not bottom fish. Especially if you asked about it. I will be talking to the crew about it today. One thing that you do need to understand is that we always fish close to shore. That is... More 

Glen Gardner, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not use this company. my group signed up for top and bottom fishing and we got ripped off. they top fished for the entire 4 hours. No bottom fishing, therefore our entire group never touched a pole. we paid for a 4 hour boat ride. After we filed a complaint, we never heard back.

Helpful?
Thank mreid1413
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

You did complain to your representative at the hotel and did get a response. Remember, when the answer is no, that is still and answer. Even if you don't like it. The problem with your trip is that your group refused to bottom fish because that would be for smaller fish. A fact that you admitted to the representative. That... More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first time Deep Sea fishing. It was a great time. We did a 4 hour session. Our group caught a total of 5 fish. One Barracuda while trolling, that was it. We switched to bottom fishing to see if we could get more action. We caught 4 common yellow tail and one queen trigger fish which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Our annual Fall Break fishing trip with Captain Rick. For the third year in a row we requested Captain Beato on Sea Phantom. Another success today. 30lbs Mackerel, large Barracuda, Queen Trigger, 2 Brown Triggers, Bonita, Yellow Snapper and a Remora. See you again next year!

Helpful?
Thank Kentucky1969
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

You had a great crew on the Sea Phantom and looks like a successful day. Thanks for the picture and see you next year. More 

Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

I went to Riviera Maya and took a buddy for a guys trip. We have known each other over 40 years. We hadn't fished together in years. A big part of this trip was to do just that. We met a guy at the resort that wanted to join us. Bob paired us this Capt. Luis and mate Jony aboard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd W
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. When I opened the picture the first thing that I thought was nice wahoos. Glad you and your buddy choose your reunion fishing trip with us. More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2016

I know fishing can de hit and miss but this was a big miss. Did not get the full 4 hours. Boat was very tired. Fishing area for 5 + mate too small. Did get the impression of lack of interest from the crew. Have been fishing quite a few times and can say, this,without doubt worst one I've had

Helpful?
Thank Nevnetbyrne
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

We remember you and your fishing trip because when you got back from your fishing excursion you went directly to your representative and demanded a 50% refund. Your only complaint at that time was that you did not get your full time. So we got a copy of the records from the Marina office. They are the governing body of... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Booked a full days shared fishing boat with captain Rick's .. great days fishing definitely not disappointed ... both the crew members were very experienced and knowledgeable ....we had some great reef fishing catching sailfish and a massive dorado .... highly recommend these guys and will be booking again next year as soon as we arrive in good old mexico... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Glenna U, Manager at Captain Ricks Sport Fishing, responded to this review

Glad you had a good time and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Travellers who viewed Captain Ricks Sport Fishing also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Captain Ricks Sport Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Captain Ricks Sport Fishing and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Captain Ricks Sport Fishing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?