We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garwnant Visitor Centre

Closed Now: 10:30 - 16:30
Open today: 10:30 - 16:30
Share
Review Highlights
Enjoyable stop over.

After an inactive morning we decided that we needed to stretch our legs after a cup of tea and a... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2018
Heather L
,
Hampshire Uk
Always a welcome

Exceptionally busy when we visited at the weekend but a very friendly welcome from all staff... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
brianfarr65
,
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Read all 284 reviews
147
All photos (147)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“zip wire”(8 reviews)
“lovely walk”(11 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 - 16:30
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Nov
Dec
Jan
Contact
Cwm Taff | Nant-Ddu, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2HU, Wales
Website
+44 1685 373053
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Wonderful activities for children of all ages. The café spoiled our visit. We arrive on a wet Sunday afternoon and we were looking forward to hot drinks in this lovely building. We ordered tea and hot chocolate. When we took these to sit down there...More

5  Thank valleyviewer66
Louise O, Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Good Afternoon Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the play area, We are really sorry to hear these comments about your visit to the Café area, please could you contact us direct as we would like to arrange for...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Great location for children and a welcome distraction from the dreaded iPad. However be warned, as they offer an array of substances that they have the ordacity to describe as food. Given the surroundings and the ethos of the establishment you would expect home made...More

5  Thank 208matthew
Louise O, General Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Good afternoon Firstly sorry we haven't responded sooner We are very concerned about your comments Can you please email us directly so we can discuss in more detail with you Thank you Sarah Email address is snewbold@justperfectcatering.co.uk

Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
147
86
27
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
147
86
27
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip wire lovely walk mountain bike track ice cream fresh air baguette information centre older kids great play area great place for walking cake adventure playground bank holiday monday pouring rain all ages coffee shop excellent place
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have always loved this place for a family day out we have visted on a number of occasions. The play park is fab for our children we love visiting here for walks with our dog ...... But the cafe is appalling, the food was...More

Thank Connector68584362643
Louise O, Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoy your visits with your children and dog. With regard to your feedback, we would like to apologise profusely that you believe staff were rude. So we can speak to the team about this could...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been visiting for years, it’s been a part of family life, this autumn I brought new visitors they enjoyed the animal trail, but I found it run down compared to years ago, the willow arbor, for example is in need of maintenance. The...More

Thank racheyweaver
Louise O, Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We appreciated your comments and feedback regarding the Animal Puzzle Trail. Over the past couple of weeks, we have conducted some work to open up the area around the trail to promote new growth and increase views of the river...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently bought tickets for myself and five others costing a total of £54 to go on the spooky walk at garw nant on arriving the cafe area was half closed leaving no seating for even the children with me on a cold wet night...More

Thank Kirstyjones1911
Louise O, Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we have responded via email to you and hope the points you have raised have been addressed through that channel. We are disheartened that you felt the need to review on TripAdvisor and would draw your attention to some factual...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Exceptionally busy when we visited at the weekend but a very friendly welcome from all staff, Sophie and Emma and all others on duty were very accommodating to our needs. Will be visiting again soon.

Thank brianfarr65
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to write lovely comments we look forward to welcoming you again soon Thanks Sarah

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

disappointing stop off, arrived at 430, which clearly upset staff already cleaning up for 5pm shut. cafe dirty. given take away cups for the worst tea and coffee ever. plastic fork, plastic container for stale cake, use of plastic for heritage centre is appalling. staff...More

Thank chrisw74642018
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Good Afternoon thank you for bringing this to our attention, it is not the impression we aim to give our customers, please can you contact us direct snewbold@justperfectcatering.co.uk I will need to establish what day you visited to investigate with the team members working on...More

Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful settings. Staff are only too happy to help. Food was delicious and coffee was good. Biscuits and water and pats for my dog. I would recommend highly. A fab place outdoor and indoor

Thank juliearmstrong51
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Good Afternoon thank you for your lovely comments the Team at Garwnant will be pleased to hear of the feedback we love our dog visitors as well we look forward to welcoming you again soon Thank you Sarah

Reviewed 23 September 2018

Arrived at Garw Nant in pouring rain in a glutenearch of cafe on our way to South Wales. So pleased to find cafe open and a very friendly, welcoming lady to serve us, like a ray of sunshine on such a miserable day. Emma went...More

Thank 633Elaine
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Good Afternoon Thank you very much for your lovely comments Emma will be very pleased to hear about your comments, Because of this lovely review we will be awarding Emma with employee of the month We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we...More

Reviewed 13 September 2018

After an inactive morning we decided that we needed to stretch our legs after a cup of tea and a delicious slice of cake (melon!) in the cafe. Nice clean premises with good access for wheelchairs and buggies. We enjoyed a lovely walk following the...More

Thank Heather L
Louise O, General Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hello Thank you for your lovely review we also love the watermelon cake, it is one of our favourites We are sorry about the dog mess we do have signs encouraging people to clean and bin the dogs mess We look forward to you visiting...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

I called to Garwnant for lunch. I was very disappointed with the lack of vegan options on the mennu, so had to make do with a bowl of chips. Vegetarian options were very limited. Although there were very few customers in there, ie.empty, the tables...More

Thank Peter J
Louise O, Owner at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Good Afternoon Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention we will speak with the team onsite to have more understanding of your visit, and we can respond to your comments, We do provide training and assistance with our team and will need to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

This is a must for us when we are in the Brecon Beacons. Its great for young families. The Visitor Centre is clean and very informative. There is a café and a great play area. A lovely place to relax.

Thank barbaravinger
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Good Afternoon Thank you for your lovely comments We will look forward to us visiting us again Many Thanks Sarah

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
958 reviews
.78 km away
Tregenna Hotel
131 reviews
7.97 km away
Bessemer Hotel
166 reviews
8.12 km away
Castle Hotel
223 reviews
8.19 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 86 nearby restaurants
Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant
425 reviews
1.95 km away
The Old Barn Tea Room
421 reviews
5.35 km away
Red Cow Inn
286 reviews
5.62 km away
The New Inn - Ystradfellte
426 reviews
7.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 19 nearby attractions
Penderyn Distillery
949 reviews
7.04 km away
Lower Blaen y Glyn
30 reviews
7.21 km away
The Penderyn Furniture Co.
5 reviews
6.94 km away
Cyfarthfa Castle
343 reviews
7.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
charsmit1993
30 August 2018|
Answer
Response from jadeperri | Reviewed this property |
There is three different trails two can last for 30 mins and the last for 60 minutes I guess it all depends on how fast you walk all three are dog friendly. Have a look on the website it explains it so much better and... More
0
Votes
Mathew L
13 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Garwnant V | Property representative |
Hi Matthew. Yes you can still go for walks and use the play areas and Bike Park after 5pm. Welsh Water closes the entrance barrier at 6.30pm but any vehicles parked on site after 6.30 will be able to leave site via the exit... More
0
Votes
Christopher E
9 July 2018|
Answer
Response from brenda j | Reviewed this property |
The waterfall walk is clearly signposted and on road track and boardwalk. Should be ok for a pram.
0
Votes