We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Garwnant Visitor Centre

Closed Now: 10:30 - 16:30
Open today: 10:30 - 16:30
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Enjoyable stop over.

After an inactive morning we decided that we needed to stretch our legs after a cup of tea and a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Heather L
,
Hampshire Uk
Lovely walks

Excellent place for sort walk along well maintained paths. Experienced all the waymarked trails... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Elizabeth D
,
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Read all 279 reviews
143
All photos (143)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“zip wire”(8 reviews)
“lovely walk”(11 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 - 16:30
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
10°
Sep
12°
Oct
Nov
Contact
Cwm Taff | Nant-Ddu, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2HU, Wales
Website
+44 1685 373053
Call
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
146
86
27
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
146
86
27
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszip wirelovely walkmountain bike trackice creamfresh airbaguettegreat parkstunning placeinformation centreolder kidsgreat play areagreat place for walkingcakeadventure playgroundbank holiday mondayall agescoffee shop
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 279 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Beautiful settings. Staff are only too happy to help. Food was delicious and coffee was good. Biscuits and water and pats for my dog. I would recommend highly. A fab place outdoor and indoor

Thank juliearmstrong51
Reviewed yesterday

Arrived at Garw Nant in pouring rain in a glutenearch of cafe on our way to South Wales. So pleased to find cafe open and a very friendly, welcoming lady to serve us, like a ray of sunshine on such a miserable day. Emma went...More

Thank 633Elaine
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded today

Good Afternoon Thank you very much for your lovely comments Emma will be very pleased to hear about your comments, Because of this lovely review we will be awarding Emma with employee of the month We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

After an inactive morning we decided that we needed to stretch our legs after a cup of tea and a delicious slice of cake (melon!) in the cafe. Nice clean premises with good access for wheelchairs and buggies. We enjoyed a lovely walk following the...More

Thank Heather L
Louise O, General Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Thank you for your lovely review we also love the watermelon cake, it is one of our favourites We are sorry about the dog mess we do have signs encouraging people to clean and bin the dogs mess We look forward to you visiting...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I called to Garwnant for lunch. I was very disappointed with the lack of vegan options on the mennu, so had to make do with a bowl of chips. Vegetarian options were very limited. Although there were very few customers in there, ie.empty, the tables...More

Thank Peter J
Louise O, Owner at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention we will speak with the team onsite to have more understanding of your visit, and we can respond to your comments, We do provide training and assistance with our team and will need to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a must for us when we are in the Brecon Beacons. Its great for young families. The Visitor Centre is clean and very informative. There is a café and a great play area. A lovely place to relax.

Thank barbaravinger
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for your lovely comments We will look forward to us visiting us again Many Thanks Sarah

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent place for sort walk along well maintained paths. Experienced all the waymarked trails next time will extend the walk along the Taff Trail. The biggest disappointment was the cafe. The service was extremely slow and the person serving us seemed clueless. The Americano was...More

Thank Elizabeth D
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you for your feedback, we have spoken with the manager at Garwnant, and we have experienced some busy periods this week and our team have worked together to serve customers quickly, If there was an issue if you had made us aware...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice place to visit. Beautiful surroundings, fresh air, lovely walks. There is also a playground for kids by the entrance to centre. We had a great day exploring the area. Would definitely recommend this place:)

Thank Footprints592275
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to the centre today and had a lovely walk around the trail with the big chair which was fascinating. Went in the cafe and had a coffee, sandwich and cake. It was great selection of sandwiches and if you wanted anything that wasn't on...More

Thank jones34603
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit, We have lovely comments about the cakes and we all love them too, Our team at Garwnant will be pleased to hear your lovely comments as they all work well in...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I take my dogs there, it’s a beautiful place for strolling and exploring. Lovely centre for food and snacks. Great for children too.

Thank Shas49
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon thank you for your lovely comments, We look forward to welcoming you again, please follow us on facebook and look out for our dog friendly events Thanks Sarah

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I recently took my wife and kids up to garwnant as ive read about the hiking trails and park for the kids, the hiking trails were lovely espically the waterfalls and the kids had a great time playing in the park. After this we decided...More

Thank Amc9856
Louise O, Front Office Manager at Garwnant Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you again Sarah

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
943 reviews
.78 km away
Tregenna Hotel
131 reviews
7.97 km away
Bessemer Hotel
165 reviews
8.12 km away
Castle Hotel
221 reviews
8.19 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 84 restaurants in Merthyr Tydfil
Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant
417 reviews
1.95 km away
The Old Barn Tea Room
413 reviews
5.35 km away
Red Cow Inn
272 reviews
5.62 km away
The New Inn - Ystradfellte
417 reviews
7.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 19 attractions in Merthyr Tydfil
Penderyn Distillery
928 reviews
7.04 km away
Lower Blaen y Glyn
28 reviews
7.21 km away
The Penderyn Furniture Co.
5 reviews
6.94 km away
Cyfarthfa Castle
333 reviews
7.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
charsmit1993
30 August 2018|
Answer
Response from jadeperri | Reviewed this property |
There is three different trails two can last for 30 mins and the last for 60 minutes I guess it all depends on how fast you walk all three are dog friendly. Have a look on the website it explains it so much better and... More
0
Votes
Mathew L
13 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Garwnant V | Property representative |
Hi Matthew. Yes you can still go for walks and use the play areas and Bike Park after 5pm. Welsh Water closes the entrance barrier at 6.30pm but any vehicles parked on site after 6.30 will be able to leave site via the exit... More
0
Votes
Christopher E
9 July 2018|
Answer
Response from brenda j | Reviewed this property |
The waterfall walk is clearly signposted and on road track and boardwalk. Should be ok for a pram.
0
Votes