We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cockleshell Beach

Basseterre, St. Kitts
+1 869-762-3543
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
St Kitts ATV Adventure and Beach Tour
More Info
US$90.00*
and up
St Kitts 360 Island Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
St Kitts Sightseeing Tour to Brimstone Hill Fortress with Beach Visit
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good35%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“reggae bar” (41 reviews)
“an umbrella” (54 reviews)
LOCATION
Basseterre, St. Kitts
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We booked an excursion on our ship, this was the beach we went to. We were given a small complimentary rum punch and a lounge chair. If you want an umbrella, you have to pay 10 bucks for that. Locals come by constantly wanting to...More

Thank Oldguitarmike
Reviewed 2 days ago

The beach was pretty crowded. You should were water shoes. No snorkeling that I could find. Hard for folks to get out of the water.

Thank carribbeanmic
Reviewed 3 days ago

awesome vacation with wifey great food nice people and the prices were good wish we could stay longer

Thank darryl2216
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

During our cruise, we kept hearing that St. Kitts was the most beautiful island, and it did NOT disappoint. The drive from the port to the beach was maybe 25 min, but the views were so beautiful that it flew by. The beach was clean...More

Thank ehansen10
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

At at Reggae beach bar and grill, conch fritters. Very good. It was a bit if a drive in our rental car but a pleasant drive as we checked out the small beaches around there. Nice beach and just ok for snorkeling .

Thank kathyjnj
Reviewed 4 days ago

This beach gets way too crowded. The surrounding are pretty but the sand strip is not very long and you have to pay for each chair plus extra for an umbrella. Drinks are overpriced and service is indifferent. The water is nice if the occasional...More

Thank Jorge_Kost
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

While you don’t have to many choices in st kitts, this beach is ok. It gets very crowded so AVOID WHEN CRUSIE SHIPS are in town. It’s a little windy due to its location. Other wise it’s pleasant.

Thank Bajet21
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Recommended at the port. Several small restaurants/bars on beach. AVOID MODELOS! Go left to Reggae beach bar, prettiest part of beach. If you head all the way to the right, eat at Spice Mill. Great food!

Thank lynng158
Reviewed 6 days ago

Went here today after our disappointment at Carambola Beach Club. Nice beach, could do with some tidying up. But OK.

Thank Jenni C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two days on this beach and loved it. There are plenty of places to get food and everyone of them sells buckets of beer for a very reasonable price. The Reggae Bar and Restaurant is the most expensive and you can get beer...More

1  Thank JC0420
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in St. Kitts
Park Hyatt St. Kitts Christophe Harbour
29 reviews
.64 km away
Oualie Beach Resort
405 reviews
4.03 km away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
202 reviews
5.65 km away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
951 reviews
6.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Reggae Beach Bar & Grill
737 reviews
.11 km away
Oualie Beach Restaurant
181 reviews
4.04 km away
Spice Mill Restaurant
675 reviews
.33 km away
Coconut Grove
320 reviews
5.85 km away
Nearby Attractions
St.Kitts Water Sports
338 reviews
.08 km away
Lion Rock Beach Bar
24 reviews
.32 km away
Mad Max Dune Buggy Beach Tours St. Kitts
21 reviews
6.71 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
KevinandPat
10 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Gibsoninpa | Reviewed this property |
Cockleshell Beach is about a 20 minute taxi ride from Basseterre, St. Kitts costing $7 per person, one way, arrange with your driver for a return pick-up. Due to the small size of the beach, there is no avoiding massage lady... More
1
Vote
Amy C
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Laurie C | Reviewed this property |
I don't believe there are PUBLIC restrooms. There are several beach clubs/bars on this beach and we were at one called Spice Mill. It did have restroom facilities. The day we were there the water was very calm.
2
Votes
Amy C
6 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from Zigmom04 | Reviewed this property |
Yes plenty of chairs, and the restrooms were clean. Not sure about cost from port - we paid $6/person from the Marriott which I think is farther than the port.
2
Votes