We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Ballinskellig Boats, Ballinskelligs 123 456, Ireland
Phone Number: +353 86 417 6612
Website
Description:

The fastest day trips to land at Skellig Michael depart from Ballinskelligs...

The fastest day trips to land at Skellig Michael depart from Ballinskelligs pier each day at 11am. We also operate the only covered boat to Skelligs. Only 150 persons are allowed to land at this UNESCO world heritage site daily.The monks originally departed from Ballinskelligs in the 6th century and settled back at the Abbey in the 12th century. We also offer diving trips in the crystal clear water and sea angling trips departing at 1030 each day.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 41 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Be Prepared on the day of your trip

There are few boats that are authorized to go into Skellig. The operator was very responsive to my emails and questions. Some other responses in tripadvisor say that he was... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 September 2015
techmom64
,
Hinsdale, IL
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2016

We have not done this boat tour....but tried with email to find out info....on there reply I was very disappointed with them. On making a reservations they are willing to hold seats by me paying a non refundable admin charge. Also any enquires are answered free of charge, however any further emails they want to charge 16.00 paid to pay... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Deb1028
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

I could not recommend a trip to the Skellig's more! They are incredible. Be prepared for a bumpy ride out there but once you land, you'll be blown away by the beauty, history, views and life on the island. The drive to Ballinskellig is beautiful, give yourself plenty time so that you're not rushing for the boat. The guys running... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vocancelliere
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016

Stay away at all costs! Rude replies to emails for starters. Secondly, they are taking "reservations" when they have been DENIED their permit renewals. The kicker is that they keep your down payment regardless of whether they get approved or not--SCAM. Furthermore, if you have any questions they have the nerve to CHARGE you to respond to your emails because... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

Other reviews have stated that you should get in contact the night before because the time might change. Only problem was I did check the night before as well as a bunch of other people left standing on the pier for hours. When someone finally answered the call it was to say that he had left and come back already,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank dafo43
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016

First off, I’d like to say this is first negative post on trip advisor. But, I thought it had to be done. My experience with Ballinskelligs Boats did not go very far and in retrospect, I’m happy it ended up this way from reading some other comments on here. I first contacted the company for book a landing trip to... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank Yarl100
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2015

The operator will indicate no deposit was made and hence I have no recourse. This has merit as yes I did not pay but arrived early on the day to do this and it was indicated in several calls and emails there was no issues with space on the day and 2-4 spots were generally available and the boat would... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank 790gus
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2015

There are few boats that are authorized to go into Skellig. The operator was very responsive to my emails and questions. Some other responses in tripadvisor say that he was rude, but I did not see that. I saw a businessman that is very direct and straightforward with the way he operates his business. I was fortunate to get a... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank techmom64
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2015

Great experience, well worth the €60 per person trip.Skelligs is well worth a visit ,but not for the faint hearted - if you are afraid of heights. Friendly boatman, good boat . Anchor Siveen was the name of the boat we were on Ower Paul Derrane

Helpful?
Thank John G
seandive, General Manager at Ballinskelligs Boats, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We learn from feedback from genuine reviews. We also need customers like yourself to be in business at all. Thanks again. More 

Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2015

I was pretty nervous about this boat trip after some of the reviews I had read, but I had nothing to worry about. Please make sure you check your email or call the night before. We called the morning before our boat ride and found that it had been moved from 1 pm to 10:30 am, which we would have... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank painttheangels
seandive, Director of Sales at Ballinskelligs Boats, responded to this review

Gosh we are sorry if you felt shortchanged. Unfortunately boats are not cruise ships.There are a total of 14 boats go from various ports. None have cushions simply because seas are slightly rough most of the time. Salt water destroys cushions as well as soaking into them resulting in wet bottoms!. Even on what we would consider calm days there... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2015

I was disappointed in the boat that took me out to Skellig Michael. It was not well designed for the trip--basically we all sat on covered fish holds with nothing to hold onto to keep our balance. The engine ran rough--there was a lot of diesel exhaust around until we got out of the harbor and could move fast enough... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin C
seandive, Guest Relations Manager at Ballinskelligs Boats, responded to this review

We are wondering if you were in fact on one of our boats at all. We do not have fish boxes, do not do any fishing have never had either fish boxes or fishing equipment on board. We have 8 cabin seats and a 14 foot bench seat across the stern of the boat. The boats from Ballinskelligs are the... More 

Travellers who viewed Ballinskelligs Boats also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
 

Been to Ballinskelligs Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ballinskelligs Boats staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?