We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Loch Insh Watersports
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (97)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“water sports”(23 reviews)
“dry slope”(8 reviews)
Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer and skiing in the winter at nearby Cairngorm Mountain. Lessons many also be taken on our dry ski slope, onsite. Other activities such as archery, mountain biking and local...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Kincraig, Kincraig PH21 - 1N, Scotland
+44 1540 651272
Improve This Listing
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water sports dry slope boathouse restaurant hot tub paddle boarding log cabin school trip life jackets family holiday staff were very helpful and friendly home baking lovely setting day ticket great fun evening meal soups lovely food
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 285 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We usually visit Loch insh every year when we are in Aviemore, but we won't be back. At least four waitresses, ordered soup and asked what the flavour was in the lentil soup but still waiting to hear. Ordered scones and still waiting on them...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Susan B
Office L, General Manager at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Hi Susan Thank you for your feedback. You are quite right that this is not the service that should be expected from the staff at Loch Insh Boat House Restaurant. I will looking into this further so that it does not happen again. As you...More

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Overnight stay in the B&B at Loch Insh, for the price the room was fine, tiny but very cosy and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. Paddle boarding taster session was really fun, we were provided with everything we needed and our instructor James...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank moleymoley_82
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Came here a couple of times during week in Aviemore. Had lunch one day and evening meal on another. Both in the bar. Really nice soups and an evening main of Cesar salad. Good food and reasonable prices. Friendly staff. Relaxing atmosphere. Dog friendly. Great...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank David KM S
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Food was great and quick service and very clean. Dog friendly pub .Very clean and helpful staff.Nice surrounding area plenty to see and watch while we was there. Nice walk back via speybank river to Dalraddy campsite .

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank andrewsisson1971
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

One of the best things here is that there is a small enclosed pool at the side of the lake where we were taught, so no waves and little wonder. The instructor was good, and we soon got the hang of how to do it....More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank James W
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We had the worst 2 nights of our holiday staying in the main halls a family of four squeezed into a small grubby room, none of us wanted to use the shower unit as it was so small old, dirty and acquired contortion to have...More

Date of experience: August 2018
5  Thank Jennifer L
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We had a family holiday with 2 lodges booked. One of the lodges was a large one and the other was to take 5. My lodge for 5 was great - did what you need for a holiday lodge. The only complaint from eldest son...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank 951rayk
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stopped in by with my family for a visit and stayed for a while and had some food and play on the water with the kids. Great place with a lovely setting. great friendly helpful staff. Would highly recommend anyone in the area to stop...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Bazstrachan
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Great place for all the family. Abundance of water sports, gorgeous beach and friendly staff in the restaurantop with great food and fabulous cakes. Special mention to Pavel for his amazing customer service😊. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Nina G
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Took my two sons and their families to Loch Insh and they booked a Family Day Ticket for £110, my more energetic Son got two Day Family Ticket for £170 saving him £50. They were on Kyaks, Canoes, Pedelos, they loved the Paddle Boarding and...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank jamesrP8690QM
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Columba House Hotel
386 reviews
8.43 km away
The Star Hotel
232 reviews
8.86 km away
The Cross at Kingussie
226 reviews
8.90 km away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
569 reviews
9.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
The Rowan Tree Country Hotel Restaurant
5 reviews
6.11 km away
The Restaurant at The Cross
132 reviews
8.90 km away
Suie Bar
10 reviews
1.53 km away
The Sugar Bowl
51 reviews
8.87 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Working Sheepdogs
222 reviews
1.86 km away
Highland Wildlife Park
1,892 reviews
2.99 km away
Loch an Eilein
1,192 reviews
6.90 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
15 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Office L | Property representative |
Hi, Thanks for your question. Unfortunately this is not somthing we offer any longer. We do however offer 30% off all activities when staying 2 night or more. Many thanks
21 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Edwina A | Property representative |
Hi Linda, Thanks for your question we do have a pool table, however we do not have a dart board. Thank you, Kind regards Edwina
14 April 2017|
Response from GManagerLochInsh | Property representative |
Good evening, if you are staying in our Chalets or B&B we have parking which is free of charge. If you are visiting our restaurant we have free parking adjacent to the Boathouse and if busy an overflow park - no... More