We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lava Tourist Service Center: Tours & Tickets

Features Animals
Closed Now: 08:00 - 20:00
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Save
All photos (446)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good12%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“extreme hike”(35 reviews)
“cerro chato”(61 reviews)
About
We do hiking tours, book different kind of nature excursions, reserve a wide variety of action adventure activities, help plan and book transportation and we have the best lodging deals.
Certificate of Excellence
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
Contact
Local 3 edificio Adifort, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Website
+506 2479 8004
Call
Improve This Listing
Red Lava Tourist Service Center Tours and Tickets
from US$87.00
More Info
from US$85.00
More Info
from US$38.00
More Info
from US$40.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
See all tours & tickets
Reviews (760)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
460
74
16
16
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
460
74
16
16
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews extreme hike cerro chato arenal observatory hot springs la fortuna our tour guide costa rica face mask day hike plants and animals booked tours great tour hanging bridges full day tour these guys awesome guide super fun
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

All on time. Fun enthusiastic guides. Stunning scenery and jungle walk to waterfall. Beware steep steps up and down and you need rubber shoes to wade across riverbed of stones. Then simple but adequate lunch and on to jungle walk with our guide Santiago who...More

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Peterpiano
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We started with spending some time at the Observatory look out where you can see some great views and our guide Anthony was enthusiastic to take some good pictures of us. We then went to the museum/info part of the hotel where you can see...More

Thank sarahbystram
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the full day La Fortuna, Arenal hike and hot springs. I loved the trip. The water fall was beautiful and the volcano hike was light-moderate with pretty scenery. Like some other reviews we were disappointed by the hot springs- its more a cluster...More

Thank dmbolto
RedLavaTsc, Owner at Red Lava Tourist Service Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi DMbolto, Thanks for your remarks and suggestions. We try to communicate the pick up times with our customers to assure a fluent pick-up.The confirmed times are relative to their distance from the park where we start our tour. So further away we confirm and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great experience and our guide Anthony was knowledgeable, funny, and took plenty of pictures for us. The waterfall and volcano hike were beautiful and we loved having the knowledge of the guide along the way. We had a great interaction with a...More

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank pkief
RedLavaTsc, Owner at Red Lava Tourist Service Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi pkief, If you check the description of our tour now (or 4weeks ago and on) you will see that the hotspring description has changed. We visit a really nice little resort at the foot of the volcano in stead of the river. You booked...More

Reviewed 9 October 2019

This was truly an amazing excursion packed with several activities. The tour guide Santiago was fantastic. He really made the tour fun with his enthusiasm and knowledge of the plants and animals in the area. Felt like we were in great hands with his experience....More

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Stay00760927259
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Red Lava Tours offers a very complete range of tours around La fortuna. You get great value for your pay and the guides are knowledgeable about the area and are easy-going.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank _robertprins2
Reviewed 19 September 2019

Our tour guide, Christian, was the best as it gets. Anything I have to say about him and this hike would be an understatement. Knowing he has done these hikes for over 10+ years, he is just as enthusiastic as I would assume his first...More

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank klabeaune
Reviewed 16 September 2019

I just have to say that this is not meant for those who can't hike. There is A LOT of walking, hiking, climbing during this excursion. WEAR HIKING SNEAKERS, BRING WATER SHOES! You need the hiking shoes, for the hiking part, and the water shoes...More

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank KellyJ924
Reviewed 10 September 2019

Antonio and Miguel were excellent tour guides who successfully led the tour for both Spanish and English speakers. Without their guidance it would have been very difficult to see all of these attractions in one day, and they even found a sloth and a troop...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Blake R
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

Got off the bus station from San Jose and immediately booked all our three days excursions with them. They are very helpful and flexible. It was such a relief to know that everything has been arranged and that we were in good hands. Whatever company...More

Thank miguelmikog
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 62 nearby hotels
Fortuna Downtown Inn
17 reviews
.05 km away
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
27 reviews
.11 km away
Hotel La Fortuna
580 reviews
.14 km away
Luigi's Hotel
144 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 219 nearby restaurants
Chifa La Familia Feliz
1,120 reviews
.09 km away
Yellow Bark
139 reviews
.10 km away
Tierra Mia
752 reviews
.07 km away
La Parrilla de Maria Bonita
940 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 217 nearby attractions
Espiritu Santo Coffee Tour
155 reviews
.06 km away
Bill Beard's Costa Rica
73 reviews
.13 km away
Iglesia de La Fortuna de San Carlos
91 reviews
.12 km away
Onirica Art Gallery
37 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Flyer784955
1 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sara F | Reviewed this property |
No. We had no changing area either. If you are going to Tabacon or another established site then there will be places to change but our tour ended in a roadside spot so it was free but there were no facilities at all.
0
Votes
OK2122
25 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from lisaxoo |
the hike is not really difficult, but it will be very muddy when it rains (and the weather changes very often). the best is to rent rain boots. to the waterfall you have to go down about 400 steps and walk this back. I... More
2
Votes
Google Translation