We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glacier Hiking and Ice Climbing Small-Group Adventure from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$208.00
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Embark on an adventurous journey from Reykjavik to Iceland’s Sólheimajökull Glacier. Your expert guide will take you glacier hiking and ice climbing on this magnificent natural phenomenon -- a rugged, raw and ever-changing hub of ancient frozen water. Take in the spectacular views while exploring one of Iceland's most beautiful and striking natural wonders. No experience is necessary!
Highlights
  • More adventurous than sightseeing: ice hiking in the Golden Circle
  • A guide provides all the equipment and instruction you need
  • Prior ice climbing experience is not necessary
  • Round-trip transportation from central Reykjavik
What to Expect
This full-day tour is a great way to experience the natural beauty of Iceland by trying your hand at ice hiking and climbing. The tour begins from authorized pickup points in Reykjavik, where you board your minibus and make the drive to the glacier. Upon arrival, meet your glacier guide and receive your equipment and a safety briefing. Then, set out on the surface of the glacier’s ice “tongue,” the part that juts from the main body as it crawls toward the ocean. Continue by exploring crevasses, cracks, ridges, and sinkholes with your guide. Next, climb a sheer ice wall using the gear included with the tour: crampons, ice axes, and safety ropes. Take advantage of the time spent at the top by taking in sublime views. Get back on the minibus and head back to Reykjavik. Stop at Skogafoss waterfall along the way, and end your tour with a drop-off at your original departure point.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Traveler pickup is offered
Pick up is offered from selected Reykjavik pick up points. For a full list of available pick up points check your confirmation voucher.
Departure Time
9:00 AM
Duration
10h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Small group guarantee, ensuring a more personalized experience
  • Round-trip transport from Reykjavik
  • An expert glacier guide
  • A guided glacier hiking tour on Iceland's Solheimajokull Glacier
  • All necessary glacier gear needed
  • An introduction to ice climbing
  • Free wi-fi on board
Exclusions
  • Food & drinks
  • Gratuities
  • Hiking shoes (can be rented for a small fee)
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is a small group experience tour limited to 8 participants per guide
  • Minimum age is 14 years old
  • It is recommended to bring warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, packed lunch, head-wear, gloves and good hiking shoes
  • Please note that jeans are not appropriate for a glacier hike
  • No prior ice climbing experience is needed to participate in this tour
  • Hiking shoes, waterproof jacket and pants can be rented from the operator for a small fee
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
58
3
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
58
3
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice climb glacier hiking unique experience gas station vertical climb don t think amazing company pouring rain great guide don t miss once in a lifetime global warming would highly recommend this tour great hike highlight of our trip simon boots
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Due to injury less 24 hours before our scheduled glacier walking tour, we were unable to join the walking tour. The company refused to give us a refund or credit. Bad luck and financial loss. Chose another tour operator.More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank chet65
ElzeVys, Customer Care at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us. We’re very sorry to hear about the situation you’re in. Unfortunately, as per our terms and conditions, which are confirmed upon booking “Arctic Adventures is not responsible for expenses and/or...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This tour was on the 2nd day of our 9 days in Iceland and it was by far the coolest thing we did. We knew it would involve hiking a glacier and a little climbing, but we were not expecting actually repelling down into one...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kathryn C
Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Kathryn, we're so happy to hear these words! It's good to know that it was by far the coolest thing you did! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and the community. Can't wait for you to come back and to do even cooler...More

Reviewed 25 August 2019

We met on location for this adventure, which was a beautiful drive from where we were staying near Selfoss (about 1 1/2 hours away). Our guide, Athol, was knoweldgeable, experienced, kind, and patient. As the most timid member of our thrill-seeking group, I initially planned...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank mgjlp
Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are so happy to hear that you pushed yourself beyond the limits and tried ice climbing, we hope it only left good memories for you! Thanks for your amazing review. Come back soon for more adventures. Best wishes!

Reviewed 18 August 2019

This fairly fit 49 yo mom and her two teen daughters joined 2 super fit twenty somethings for the “Blue Ice” glacier hike that involved a multi hour van ride transfer from Reykjavík. Due to our small group size and relative fitness Anthol really pushed...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank sarahpD8312XV
Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Sarah, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

We came to Iceland to see the beautiful countryside. I read the reviews and we booked with Arctic Adventures. Our guide, Vjeran, was exceptional. He was extremely professional and a great people person. What I enjoyed best was his personality and his knowledge. He is...More

Thank 297nancyg
Erika A, Marketing assistant at Arctic Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed every part of the tour. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dannymardlin
25 April 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sara-bear-cervantes | Reviewed this property |
I didn’t have any. And I’m not on the fittest either. I’d say try it. Worse case scenario you can’t get up. The rope will (belaying) will keep you safe. Have fun!
1
Vote
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: +44 12 2492 8241