Tours and Tickets
Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour
3.5

Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour

By Big Bus New York
New York City can be tough to get around, especially when you’re a visitor trying to sightsee. Skip the stress of finding your way with this easy-to-exchange voucher for a Big Bus ticket. Pick from multiple ticket options that enhance your NYC experience by adding more time, more routes, more modes of transport, and more attractions. Save time, money, and your sanity while touring the best of the Big Apple.
from
€50.55
per adult
from
€50.55
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 3-99
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
German, English, Italian, French, Spanish

Highlights
  • Get around bustling and congested NYC easily with 5 key stops
  • Explore New York City at your own pace and create your own itinerary 
  • Choose from multiple ticket options to fit your wants and needs
  • Upgrade to a cruise to see even more sights, or a night bus tour

  • Hop-on hop-off, open-top, sightseeing bus tour
  • Live bus tracking through Big Bus app
  • 2 Routes - Uptown (red route) and Downtown (blue route)
  • Audio-guide in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese and German
  • 1-hr free bike rental with a purchase of 1-hr from Unlimited Biking
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

Redeem your Big Bus voucher for a pass at any of the 5 stops along an NYC route by simply showing it to a Big Bus staff member before boarding. Either choose to complete the entire city loop and learn fun facts about New York from the audio-guide as you go, or hop off and on at any of the 5 stops to create your own self-guided tour of the city. If you’d like to visit a lot of attractions or areas, you can plan your itinerary ahead of time. This pass helps you get around throughout your day without the hassle or expense of getting cabs or navigating the public transportation system. Some areas you can see and stop at include Battery Park, Korea Town, Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center and Times Square—it's up to you. You can upgrade your Big Bus ticket to include the Empire State Building or a sightseeing cruise.

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5096NYCHOHO

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • 24 Hour - Classic tickets will be valid for same day use. Tickets with multiple days must be used consecutively.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour?
How much is Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour?
Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour price starts from €50.55. Discover and book Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor
What is the Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour cancellation policy?
Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour?
Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour is hosted by Big Bus New York. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Big Bus New York on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5096NYCHOHO

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

Companion534187
Companion534187
00
Fun & Exciting
I’m here in NYC working for 3 months. Alone most weekends. This was so fun to me. I had a day off, paid my fees o
524renaudg
524renaudg
00
Ok
It s a first time in new york. Complete tour with big bus..excellent wanda Bon sealer, with nice conseils for excu
796lesleyv
796lesleyv
00
Easy and fun
An easy and fun way to see the sights of New York, hopping on and off wherever you desire. Make sure you sit at th
Mollie38L
Mollie38L
00
Empire State Building Tickets
Our visit to the Empire State Building was our highlight. We booked our tickets online for a two day tour and the v
Unimpressed23
Unimpressed23
00
let them have the $270
SUCKED! Traveling with son with autism on this bus and ferry was a NIGHTMARE because of the employees! Do NOT re
Z3257MDbeckyk
Z3257MDbeckyk
00
Great way to see NYC
Loved this experience even in the brutal cold of winter. Great way to get around the city. We used the Go City pa
betocareto
betocareto
00
Horrible Service
I give a Three star, just to the Empire State and not the BigBus service, the traffic is horrible in NY as you know
jenniferwT8914NY
jenniferwT8914NY
00
Ehhh
Honestly I wasn’t impressed. Especially the return trip to Times Square. What would be nice is if they took the sam
ionap561
ionap561
00
The Big Bus NYC
Harry Valenciano was an excellent and very kind guide. He made our trip on the big bus easy and incredibly enjoyabl
G9206TRsarao
G9206TRsarao
00
amazing experience
i had harry as my driver nice guy and amazing driving and stopped at all the right stops!! i appreciate the whole t
hyungmik2022
hyungmik2022
00
Poor customer service
Awful experience with ticket seller in front of Whitehall terminal for ferry(1hour) & bigbus tour on Nov16,2022. An
franksP4568SE
franksP4568SE
00
13th Bday
Helpful staff. On time. Great package. Not crowded. Convenient. Only used the red line. Teens enjoyed riding on
texasgirl0582
texasgirl0582
00
Excellent way to get around NYC
We were in New York for the marathon and even with the increased crowds we had no issues getting on the bus. The fi
PatDP50
PatDP50
00
Not brilliant unfortunately!
We did a Gray Line, (no longer operating), bus tour a good number of years ago and it was much better. This tour di
Departure04440913656
Departure04440913656
00
Great way to see the city
Excellent way to see the city and tour the highlights of the city. Great friendly staff with excellent servers ce!
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
2,266 reviews
Excellent
938
Very good
423
Average
272
Poor
217
Terrible
416

Tomaz
11 contributions
Very poorly organised. It is a great way of seeing the whole city but the way it’s organised, it makes it not worth it, especially given how expensive the tickets are.

We entered the bus on one of its last stops, thinking we’d do a full circle as it’s a circular line but we were kicked off at Times Square where we had to stand in line for over an hour. The same happened to a family on the bus the next day, they also asked the driver why they needed to leave if they had only just boarded, which makes me think it’s not just us not understanding their concept. Needless to say, the drivers are all very rude.

Because the queue was too long and being kicked off the bus was unexpected, we messaged customer support to change the date of the ticket. The person we spoke to said we could use the same ticket the following day as it’s valid for 24 hours. No surprise, that turned out to be incorrect as we were not allowed to board at first the following day. Luckily, the person checking the tickets at the station did let us on after we showed him the screenshot of the conversation with the customer support.

A good way to see the city but they really need to rethink the concept and assess the communication within the company and with the customers. There are definitely cheaper and better ways to see the city.
Written 22 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

J099
Derby, UK500 contributions
Jun 2022
We had the 1 day pass included in our Package hence why we used it.
However, you had to go to Time Square to validate your ticket - despite the nearest stop being the Flat Iron building only 10 mins from our hotel - the attendant could't validate our "free" pass from there.
Buses were packed, drivers didn't stop when asked
Tour only had 10 stops on and took forever to get anywhere due to New York traffic - you would be quicker on foot
Over priced and not great in my opinion
There are other companies who operate in the city so maybe give them a try
Written 11 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience. Traffic in New York can cause a lot of congestion, especially if there are other events planned in the city. However, we analyze our routes to ensure we can transport our guests efficiently and safely despite this. This past weekend, there were quite a few planned events which did create some detours and delays, so we do apologize if this negatively affected your trip. We thank you for your feedback so we can do our best to improve.
Written 14 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jim F
Waterloo, Canada174 contributions
Pretty good tour. There are far more interesting things to see on the red loop. I booked the 3 day pass so that we could do both loops with flexibility. Audio worked fine. App was good. The only negative we experienced was at the Times Square stop when they pushed us to get off both routes (we did not start there either day). After explanations, we were allowed to stay on, along with a couple of others who did the same thing. I would hope Big Bus could train its Times Square staff about this (or if you can only start at the Times Square stop, then make that clear). Based on other’s comments, they could use a few more buses or sell fewer tickets to avoid the overcrowding and having to wait.

Important Tips to avoid a horrible time…..
These tours drive through Manhattan where traffic extremely heavy (especially weekdays but also weekends and super especially on the red loop). Go early and do the Red Loop on the weekend. We caught the first or second bus on Saturday (Red Loop) at Empire State. Did the Blue loop Monday (second bus). Both times we got a seat up top. We stayed on the bus all the way around. Traffic was good.

If you can only do one loop, do the Red loop. the Red loop goes past many more points of interest. This is not a complaint, it’s just the way it is in Manhattan.

Hopping off and on is risky - it gets busy later - so you may not be able to get back on. This is especially bad on the blue loop where buses only go once an hour). Traffic gets heavy too so tour takes longer in peak traffic.

Use the app!!! It shows the current location of the buses and all the stops. It also tells you approximate time of next bus, and current time to drive around the loop. Missing a blue loop bus by a minute means an hour long wait.
Written 23 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you so much for your detailed review on your experience! We are happy to hear that your experience went well overall. We also appreciate your recommendations for other guests and for our staff as well. We are sorry if you were asking to come off the bus at first and there wasn't an explanation given at the time. This normally is done when we are not sending that specific bus out as the next departure. However, we are happy to hear you were allowed to stay on in this instance until the bus was due to leave on its next trip. We hope this did not create too much of an inconvenience and that you had a wonderful visit!
Written 29 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Robert G
17 contributions
Dec 2022
We booked a 2 day ticket so we could benefit from both routes but it was a total waste of money. The traffic in New York is so busy you just queue and it’s quicker to get off the bus and walk. The information about the city is poor with mainly music played through your headphones. Easy to get on the bus but it is typical let’s give the worst service to the tourist. The bus arrived and the seats upstairs were wet lots of people trying to sell the tickets but only a driver onboard so we had to find tissues etc to wipe the seats.
Written 17 December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Q1769hyrobertg thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.
Written 20 December 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stewart@fromengland
7 contributions
Nov 2022 • Couples
We saved the Big Bus Tour for our last day in New York. We waited for approximately an hour for the Big Bus to arrive after being told that we would only have to wait minutes. We selected the uptown tour and eventually got on the Bus at approx midday on Friday 18th of November. Hopefully from that you can identify the driver. He was the rudest person I have ever met. He gave us no information at all about the headphones, where we could find them or any of the stops. When I asked him where we needed to get off for the art gallery he simply shouted at me several times. Telling me to sit down and go away. He was rude to every single person that joined the bus on our trip. A truly shockingly rude person who is not fit to deal with the general public. We found the whole experience very upsetting and would not recommend anyone else to take this tour.
Written 28 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Journeychef, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share, we were able to identify the issue.
Written 30 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Melanie I
Auburn, MA42 contributions
We booked the bus tour for 2 adults and our teenaged daughter. We waited at the Empire State Building at the earliest pick up time and the first 2 buses that came by were already full. We got on the third bus but had to sit inside because there was no room on top. The pre-taped tour was so garbled for the majority of the ride that you could not hear it (this was bus ride not specific to headphones or certain plug- ins)We exited the bus at Battery Park and again waited in long lines to get back onto the bus. The lines were so long later in the afternoon that we were unable to get back on. It should be noted that our visit was during a holiday weekend so perhaps this isn’t typical, but it was a lot of money to pay for what was essentially a short bus ride.
Written 3 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Melaniei171, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. During this past holiday week, we ensured to add additional buses to our loop to compensate for the heavier traffic, as to avoid heavy delays. We are sorry to hear that in your case you still experienced longer wait times. We appreciate your feedback and assure you this will be forwarded to our operations team so that we can improve for the future. We hope that you were still able to do our full loops and enjoyed your visit to New York.
Written 7 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris S
1 contribution
Jul 2022
We spent over $200 for four tickets, and the bus had no air conditioning and was completely full -- every single seat. This was in July and it was miserably hot, with no way to open any windows. We only lasted two stops before we had to get off, and when we requested a refund we were told that air conditioning is not an included feature of these buses.
Written 7 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience while on our tours. Unfortunately, all of our buses are open top, double decker buses. Due to this, we are unable to offer air conditioning on either deck of the bus. If possible, please reach out to ReserveNY@bigbustours.com with your booking details, time and date of the tour, and the stop number at which you boarded the bus. We would appreciate the opportunity to look into this further.
Written 13 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rob P
Glasgow, UK77 contributions
Aug 2022
We went mid-August as a family of 4 and had reasonable expectations of this but were quite disappointed as our bus had no guide and most of the seats we tried had no working audio connections so it was a very expensive trip around downtown.

Luckily for us, we did have some locals pointing out places of interest to their family who were not from NYC which helped, and it was a pleasant trip around the city on a hot day.

Top tip - check with the driver if there is a guide as you get on - if not, wait for the next bus as they are regular and plentiful until 4pm. Looking back this is what we should have done but in the moment it was not something we thought of and something that perhaps the driver should have suggested.
Written 17 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your tour. After our closure from the pandemic, we have introduced a new audio guide on all of our buses which is available in 5 languages. As you mentioned you had issues hearing the tour, we apologize for this and hope our staff was able to find you another seat with a working audio guide. We also apologize that we do not have tour guides on our daytime loops but assure our guests that our team is always happy to share any local tips and information. We also recommend our Sunset tour as this does include a live guide which would be the perfect tour for anyone wanting this type of experience!
Written 19 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amy P
1 contribution
Apr 2022
I booked my tour online and arrived with my family the following day at the first stop to see a line stretching 2 city blocks with Big Bus staff telling us that the wait time would exceed well over an hour to board a bus. I was appalled that they over-sell their service so aggressively. I requested a refund, and have had no luck, despite a customer service representative informing me that "this is not the kind of experience we aim to provide". I feel like Big Bus has now disappointed me twice, and they have taken advantage of me as a tourist in NYC.
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hello, I would like to apologize for your family's experience with our tour during the busy holiday week. Although we tried to plan ahead by adding extra buses to our routes, we did have unavoidable delays. We promise we are working hard to improve this for the future and are very sorry if you had to wait longer than usual. If you did not redeem your tickets, please reach out to ReserveNY@bigbustours.com with your order details so we can look into this further for you.
Written 22 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Passenger197661
1 contribution
May 2021
Bus tour was great, however purchased additional tickets to the 911 museum and was told when we arrived for the bus tour that the museum was booked that day and we would not be able to go. Why sell tickets if there is no availability. Have been requesting a refund of the additional cost of the 911 museum tickets for over a month and have been given the run around...no number to call just a chat message thru the website. .Beware......make sure if you purchase additional tickets thru the big bus tours website for another attraction that there is availability because if there isn't you will probably be out the money....
Written 25 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,978
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

2023 Big Bus New York Hop-On Hop-Off Open Top Tour