Tours and Tickets

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour provided by Big Bus Tours

BEST SELLER

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour
4
Book in advance
from
€51.82
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Explore San Francisco at your own pace, and plan your own itinerary
Duration:
2h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Wheelchair accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Get a standard hop-on hop-off experience with upgrades for more tours as far as Sausalito.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Highlights
  • See numerous attractions in one day at more than 16 main stops
  • Cover more ground by taking advantage of our bike rental
  • Night Tour included in the Premium and Deluxe Passes
  • 24 hours extra hop-on-hop-off included in the Deluxe Pass
What to expect
The bus tour route starts at Fisherman’s Wharf, but you can board at any of the stops. Just exchange your voucher for a ticket, and get ready to explore the City by the Bay. Highlights include Pier 39, Union Square, the Palace of Fine Arts, the Golden Gate Bridge and Lombard Street. Plan your day’s itinerary based on your own interests. You won’t be stuck in one area—unless you want to. A walking tour of Chinatown is included with your pass. If you’ve upgraded, take a Sausalito tour, and enjoy a bike rental. Your experience ends on the day your pass expires. If you have the time, two-day passes are also available.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
German, Chinese, Portuguese, Korean, Japanese, English, Italian, Chinese, French, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • See numerous attractions in one day at more than 16 main stops
  • Cover more ground by taking advantage of our bike rental
  • Night Tour included in the Premium and Deluxe Passes
  • 24 hours extra hop-on-hop-off included in the Deluxe Pass
What to expect
The bus tour route starts at Fisherman’s Wharf, but you can board at any of the stops. Just exchange your voucher for a ticket, and get ready to explore the City by the Bay. Highlights include Pier 39, Union Square, the Palace of Fine Arts, the Golden Gate Bridge and Lombard Street. Plan your day’s itinerary based on your own interests. You won’t be stuck in one area—unless you want to. A walking tour of Chinatown is included with your pass. If you’ve upgraded, take a Sausalito tour, and enjoy a bike rental. Your experience ends on the day your pass expires. If you have the time, two-day passes are also available.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 5096SFOHOHO
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hop-on Hop-off bus tour
  • Night Tour (Premium & Deluxe Tickets)
  • Buy 1 hour bike rental get 1 hour free from any Blazing Saddles shop
  • Free headphones for audio-guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Duration
2h
Departure details
  • Location Name: • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.  • Panoramic Night Tour:Tour departs at Stop 1 daily at 6:30pm, 7:00pm and (7:30pm April – October) No tours on Dec 24th and Dec 31st. Location Address: Classic, Premium or Deluxe Daytime Hop-on Hop Off Ticket • Board the bus at any stop along your route. Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Panoramic Night Tour:  • Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Directions: Big Bus Visitor Center in Located in Fisherman's Wharf at the corner of Jefferson and Mason Streets.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Classic 1-day tickets will be valid for same day use. Tickets claimed after 3pm will be valid for 24 hours from time of redemption.
  • Night tour operates on a first-come, first-served basis, so try to arrive early to secure your seat
  • Night Tour is not a hop-on hop-off tour
  • Wheelchair accessible, please call ahead for arrangements
  • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.
  • Night Tour: Redeem vouchers at the start of the tour, Pier 41 Fisherman's Wharf (RH5P+GX North Beach, San Francisco, CA, USA), No tours on July 4th, Thanksgiving, Dec 24th and Dec 31st.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
Inclusions
  • Hop-on Hop-off bus tour
  • Night Tour (Premium & Deluxe Tickets)
  • Buy 1 hour bike rental get 1 hour free from any Blazing Saddles shop
  • Free headphones for audio-guide
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Departure details
  • Location Name: • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.  • Panoramic Night Tour:Tour departs at Stop 1 daily at 6:30pm, 7:00pm and (7:30pm April – October) No tours on Dec 24th and Dec 31st. Location Address: Classic, Premium or Deluxe Daytime Hop-on Hop Off Ticket • Board the bus at any stop along your route. Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Panoramic Night Tour:  • Tour starts from Stop #1 located 99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco CA 94133 in Fisherman's Wharf. Directions: Big Bus Visitor Center in Located in Fisherman's Wharf at the corner of Jefferson and Mason Streets.
Duration
2h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Classic 1-day tickets will be valid for same day use. Tickets claimed after 3pm will be valid for 24 hours from time of redemption.
  • Night tour operates on a first-come, first-served basis, so try to arrive early to secure your seat
  • Night Tour is not a hop-on hop-off tour
  • Wheelchair accessible, please call ahead for arrangements
  • Daytime Tour: Show your paper or mobile voucher to a member of the Big Bus staff at any of the stops along your route to redeem.
  • Night Tour: Redeem vouchers at the start of the tour, Pier 41 Fisherman's Wharf (RH5P+GX North Beach, San Francisco, CA, USA), No tours on July 4th, Thanksgiving, Dec 24th and Dec 31st.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 15 Jun 2021
A note from Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour
Customers are advised to download the Big Bus app to find out more about our new health and safety measures and for real-time bus tracking information. Alternatively please visit the Big Bus website.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.0
1,846 reviews
Excellent
971
Very good
364
Average
169
Poor
129
Terrible
213

DONNY S
Boynton Beach, FL423 contributions
Aug 2021
Wife and I boarded bus on a weekend afternoon at the wharf. I had been reluctant to take these types of buses having thought the ride would be boring and we didn't have time to hop on and hop off. So we were to be on the bus for the entire trip from start to finish at the starting point. The ride was scheduled for 2-2 1/2 hours but it took slightly more than 3 hours as there was quite a bit of traffic in Golden Gate Park. But the trip was enjoyable throughout with the earphone narration clear and interesting. We were able to get two seats on top in the open air. It was quiet windy and beginning to get cool as we entered the park and going across the Golden Gate bridge. So we went downstairs to be inside the bus and lucky we did. It was very windy on top as we crossed the bridge. Our bus driver was very good at going up to the top to tell riders that some of the things they were doing were dangerous to themselves and other riders, for example, standing up to take pictures and selfies as the bus was travelling especially when crossing the bridge. All in all the bus travelled throughout the city with good narration to make the trip enjoyable and well worth the price.
Written 18 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are happy to hear you had such a lovely time! I agree, downstairs can be a little nicer over the bridge. It definitely helps to bring a coat!
Written 7 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jamie W
1 contribution
Sep 2021 • Family
Visited San Francisco on September 27, 2021 and enjoyed the Big Bus tour it was convenient for a one day last minute tour of the city. The highlight of our experience was our tour guide Joseph who took us through Union square and China Town. His knowledge of the city and story telling was awesome. My kids even enjoyed the occasional “Dad Jokes” as they called them. If you are planning a trip out to the city I highly recommend you book this online and hopefully you catch “the Emperor” of San Francisco aka Joseph while you are visiting. Thank you Big Bus Tours for a wonderful experience will definitely be using them in other cities we visit.
Written 4 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with Big Bus Tours! Glad to hear that enjoyed your tour, Joseph is one of our best tour guides he has a lot of knowledge about San Francisco and his jokes can make any one laugh. We look forward to seeing you and your family in other cities on a Big Bus!
Written 6 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

James Karl D
Boca Raton, FL466 contributions
We took the jump off and on tour. We took the bus around once before our sight seeing. We spent most of the day sightseeing. Our points of interest. Strongly recommend using their app for tracking buses, suntan lotion, hat and a jacket/hoodie. It was a warm day but when we got to the Golden Gate Bridge, clouds rolled in and dropped dramatically. We thought about jumping off the bridge stop but saw some lines of people trying to get on and decided to take pics from the bus stop.
Written 10 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our bus tour and that our App help you get live tracking of the buses. The Golden Gate Bridge is the most popular stop if you do hop off you will need to wait to get on the bus.
Written 12 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katherine K
San Antonio, TX3 contributions
Jul 2021
This was a good tour. They give you headphones so you can listen to an audio guide while driving around the city. The reason I'm giving it 3/5 is because there may not have been enough busses. I'm not sure if they are short staffed due to COVID, but we had a packed bus and many people were having to wait for the next bus to get on. Also, I would recommend downloading the app, it was useful to find your stops, but it was disappointing that the "live tracking" feature didn't work. Also, take a jacket! It get's cold and windy!
Written 3 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. The app is a great tool and easy to find locations. We do have a good amount of buses on route, but with any attraction during busy seasons, they can be a little fuller than normal. We do have buses every 15 minutes to help with the amount of guests to the city. We do hope to see you again in our city or another one of ours!
Written 5 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pathfinder788145
1 contribution
Aug 2021
We paid for a 2 day pass which was to include Madame Tussaud's wax museum. We were given a brochure which included Madame Tussaud's on the list of activities included. Madame Tussauds was also listed as part of the two day pass on the Large Billboard above the ticket window. When we tried to enter the wax museum we were told they no longer contracted with Big Bus tour. We went back to Big Bus tour to inquire. They said that instead of Madame Tussaud's we could tour a ship. When we told them that was false advertisement and we wanted our money back, they were very rude. We told them we just wanted what we had paid for, or we wanted our money back for that portion of the ticket. The "manager" printed off a paper receipt that was supposed to be good for 6 adults to the wax museum. We walked all the way back to the wax museum only to be told that the receipt wasn't worth the paper it had been printed on. The young man who worked at the museum was however impressed that they printed off the phony receipt. He said the group before us had just been given a "sticky note!" Steer clear! How sad that such a large company puts more effort into ripping off their clients than they do on the actual tour.
Written 19 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for letting us know of your experience that occurred last month. Yes, we remember this incident as the manager did print tickets for you after explaining that we do not offer the add on of Madame Tussaud's and that the artwork had not been updated as of yet, due to many things including COVID. We also spoke to the Madame Tussaud's manager and I believe you were allowed entrance and we did pay them for those tickets. We hope to see you again to give you a better experience.
Written 21 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Anonymous A
2 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
We have done hop on off bus tours in other cities before and loved the experience and freedom to travel between attractions at our leisure. I am not sure if this is a post COVID issue, however, we could not enjoy the hop on /off feature. The bus was loaded to capacity at stop 1 and no one got off. We hoped off at Union Square then stood in line for nearly 2hours before a bus could take us. We ended up boarding inside just to go. Most unfortunate. Maybe they lacked drivers or were not prepared for Good Friday volumes. This was a horrible experience for us. Unfortunately we chose not to get off again for fear of atanding in line longer than enjoying the time we had in San Fransisco. I currently do not recommend. If you are curious and would like to try, watch for bus capacities prior to purchasing your tickets!! Not worth it if you cannot hop on and hop off expecting a bus every 15-20mins. Oh!!!...and dear Big Bus add some signs to your stops. No one knows where to wait for the bus if they chose to walk to the next stop up the road. I would have walked to next stop from Union Square to get out of the line. We're the heck was I to wait for your bus?? So long as you get off at a stop you know where the stop is. Profound deficit.
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello, thank you for sharing your experience with us in San Francisco. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time spent with us. The city of San Francisco does not allow us to post signage for our Stops. We do recommend downloading our Big Bus Tours App which provides live time bus tracking, lists all of our stops, and provides a picture of each stop. If you would like to discuss this further, please email us at SFReservations@bigbustours.com
Written 22 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MelissaClaire93
Cinnaminson, NJ828 contributions
We were new to San Francisco so decided to do the hop on hop off in order to see as much as we could in the couple days we had and also have an easy point of transportation. We were sold the ticket being told that the bus stopped at each stop every 15 minutes (of note the website says every 30 minutes). Regardless of which - it was well over even 30 minutes between each time the bus would come. We waited probably close to an hour and a half for a bus at one stop. This lost us A LOT of time that we could have been exploring. They also cancelled a stop for the day and didn’t have it updated on the app. We had waited for close to 30 minutes before we checked the website and saw that stop was closed that day. That needs to be very clear in the app and when you first get on the bus. The stops weren’t bad. It got us close enough to some of the “off the beaten path” things we wanted to see like the Full House house and the Ms. Doubtfire house (with short walks). It also takes you over the bridge which is nice. The first stop is down in Fisherman’s Wharf which was really close to our hotel (we stayed at the Zephyr) - probably less than a 5 minute walk. The tour and information was really nice and the stops were at nice places but it just doesn’t stop enough to make it feasible if you only have a short time. I’d only recommend it if you have around a week or so in SF.
Written 19 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

pinkhairedmom
Tipton, IN38 contributions
We took the night tour tonight and the sound system didn’t work at all for the people on the bottom deck. We had no idea where we were most of the time. We just rode around looking at traffic and construction for 90 minutes. The 4 of us could have done that on the city buses for a lot less than $160.
Written 26 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for letting us know of your experience. Would you be able to email us at sfreservations@bigbustours.com to discuss this more? We do strive to give a wonderful experience when visiting our city and apologize for any inconvenience this mas have caused.
Written 2 July 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

IshEspa_olaenUSA
Española en USA8 contributions
Mar 2022
Great time getting to see many of the iconic places in San Francisco. We were blessed with fantastic weather so being up in top was really enjoyable. I love all the facts that they give you during the tour, it is always interesting to hear the story behind places.
We had a few drivers but a big shot out to Patrick from San Francisco :)...he was personable, fun, energetic and made everyone feel welcome in the city! It is people like him that add to the experience!
We loved it and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to get a general feel for the city.
Written 25 March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for sharing your experience with our tour! We will let Patrick's manger know of the fantastic job he did. Having great weather can also make the tour much better. We look forward to seeing you in San Francisco again!
Written 29 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travel_Writer_10101
Nottingham, UK285 contributions
I've done the Big Bus in several cities across the world, mostly recently in Hong Kong. Normally they are good.

Not San Francisco. It's terrible.
spent most of the time talking about himself, not the city.

The staff like to shout at you. Seems to make them feel good.

So we paid $210 for 4 people to get shouted at, queue up a lot and be bored by Steve the elderly tour guide talking about himself.

No thanks.

If you think through the economics each bus is grossing about $60,000/day, so someone somewhere is making a lot of money.

To the City of San Francisco, you can and should do better for your guests.

Written 6 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for letting us know about this experience. I think this may be for another tour bus company that offers hop-on, hop-off as we do not have tour guides nor do we have any staff member named Steve, You should try Deluxe Sightseeing. Can you remove this as it is our company?
Written 10 August 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,665
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Big Bus Tours
SUNILDASWANEY
SUNILDASWANEY
00
EXCELLENT
After taking the day tour which i really enjoyed,I decided to take the night tour which was even better than the da
SUNILDASWANEY
SUNILDASWANEY
00
EXCELLENT TOUR
I went on a city tour which included the very famous Alcatraz which left an indelible impression on me.All in well
Guide22098525407
Guide22098525407
00
It was OK…
We arrived and were told that we were only stopping at treasure island (not on the itinerary) and didn’t even make
Sonia L
Sonia L
00
Nice
Very informative. Our guide was really funny. We were able to drive over the Golden Gate Bridge, tour the city and
L4942AHkennethm
L4942AHkennethm
00
Amazing ride.
Double decker bus. Great stops and informative. Ride to the Golden Gate Bridge, get off at the stop and view the be
255mishs
255mishs
00
Definitely a good way to see the city and Alcatraz
Hi Just back and had a great time in San Francisco. Booked this prior to going. Alcatraz was amazing. The bus i
Kimberly C
Kimberly C
00
San Francisco BIG BUS
Great audio tour with a lot to see and experience! We loved riding on the top deck and going across the Golden Gate
MackMoose
MackMoose
00
Great intro to San Francisco tour!
Friendly and fun tour. Perfect for first timers to San Francisco. Was starting to rain so rain ponchos we’re a nice
RoRo_Bravo_2
RoRo_Bravo_2
00
The cold and the timing.
The blankets most been free, because the cold is unbearable. The time for the waiting was more than 40 minutes.
hperdaems
hperdaems
00
NOT wheelchair accessible!
the bus for the tour is a mercedes combo, very comfortable but unfortunately and despite what the website says NOT
rosieh721
rosieh721
00
Muir woods are fantastic - the shuttle bus trip wasn’t
This trip depends what you want. I booked so that I could visit Muir woods as a visitor to Sam Francisco without a
U692PSfabiob
U692PSfabiob
00
Nice but I won’t repeat it
The bus tour was ok. Nothing great but also not bad. The peak point was treasure island. The bus driver was not eas
Paffen05
Paffen05
00
Well worth spent time!
We had a fantastic walk in the woods, lucky with the weather so beautiful light! Great experience that I'd never wa
ooshytitsk
ooshytitsk
00
How to get a refund?
How do i get a refund? The bus wasnt there last week when I got there. This website is making it very difficult for
dobidoba987
dobidoba987
00
Wild cancellation
Nobody was present at the meeting place set for April 13 at 9 a.m. at Departure Point Pier 41. I went to the BIG BU
Frequently Asked Questions about Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour


Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour price starts from €50.90. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor

Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour is hosted by Big Bus Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Big Bus Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Big Bus San Francisco Hop-on Hop-off Open Top Tour on Tripadvisor