Tours and Tickets
Myths of Maui Luau Dinner and a Show
4

Myths of Maui Luau Dinner and a Show

By Myths of Maui Luau
Spend a dazzling evening under the stars at Maui's longest-running beachfront luau. This thrilling dinner show in Lahaina includes rhythmic drumming, traditional Polynesian dances, and fire-knife performances that both entertain and tell the stories of the Hawaiian Islands. Enjoy free-flowing drinks and an all-you-can-eat buffet; you have the option to upgrade for priority buffet access and front-section seating.
Currently unavailable
This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor. Contact the supplier for availability.
Explore other options

Ages 0-99, max of 500 per group
Duration:
150–180 minutes
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English

Highlights
  • Myths of Maui luau includes free-flowing drinks and buffet dinner
  • Island cuisine features earthen oven roast pig and kids’ menu
  • Shell lei aloha greeting followed by photo ops with Polynesian dancers
  • Upgrade to VIP for early buffet access and front-section seating

  • Shell lei aloha greeting
  • Complimentary cocktails, beer, wine, and beverages
  • Imu ceremony to unearth Pua'a Kalua (roast pig) from in-ground oven
  • All-you-can-eat buffet with island cuisine and the Island's only keiki (kids) buffet
  • Live Hawaiian music
  • Enchanting show with dances from Hawaii, Tahiti, Samoa, New Zealand
  • Awe inspiring full cast fire finale
  • Free photo opportunities with the dancers after the show
  • Oceanfront setting with stunning Maui sunsets
  • Entry/Admission - Myths of Maui Luau
What's not included
  • The listed price does not include a $5 parking fee, payable at the time of tour check-in.
  • Souvenir photos (available to purchase)


Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 53480P1

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum drinking age is 21 years
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Dress code is resort casual
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 500 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 53480P1

About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

heidimR9492BI
heidimR9492BI
00
Overpriced! and Overrated!
We were so excited to go to our first Luau, as it was our first time in Hawaii. It was high priced, but we knew we
robinwX5641QV
robinwX5641QV
00
Sunset Luau
The music & dancing from the performers with the glorious sunset as a backdrop was amazing. The fire dance to close
DivaDavis
DivaDavis
00
Wonderful experience, tremendous dancers.
Except for the Kailua pork the food was disappointing. The pork was delicious. The drinks were fine, not special. T
Michael H
Michael H
00
A fun and tasty luau
The food was great! The drinks tasty! The dinner music was excellent! The show was fun! The dances and the ban
F4047ZSrichardw
F4047ZSrichardw
00
Don’t miss this luau, it’s a no brainer!
What a great Luau! From the dancers getting everyone into the Hawaiian mood to the great food choices and abundance
sswearingen
sswearingen
00
Fun and entertaining.
Food was not very good. Entertainment was fun. The event was organized so you could find everything you needed.
Raul V
Raul V
00
Great experience that you should try in Hawaii
The overall experience is very nice, with good food (I don’t know why others complained about it, when I was there
961evelynt
961evelynt
00
VIP not worth it
Great show, awful service. We had VIP tickets, so the whole table of 4 was for us at the front section of the show.
Lisa J
Lisa J
00
ROYAL LUAU
This was a great experience! A must do in Maui! Food was fabulous, Entertaining and Dancing was fabulous! Drinks we
twovatravlers
twovatravlers
00
Fun evening
Overall this was a good experience for our family. The show was great and the fire twirling was awesome! We were
amywonders
amywonders
00
Great last night in Maui!
We had an amazing time at the Luau on our visit to Maui last month. The drinks and the Pork was delicious! Our serv
clayontheroad
clayontheroad
00
Mediocre Luau
Underwhelming, particularly for the price. Mediocre performances and the food bordered on bad. This is obviously a
synToronto
synToronto
00
Good Luau show
Choices: I understand that there are only two places that do a Luau. Here and Old Lihaina but only this location d
WhiteSox333
WhiteSox333
00
Myths of Maui at Royal Lahaina is great!
Excellent luau! Get VIP. Early entrance, cocktails, and access to buffet early. VIP was worth it to us. The food
Nilssen83
Nilssen83
00
TV dinner !
The service, show and view was good. But it was tainted by the fact that we payed 130 usd for a plate of food that
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
499 reviews
Excellent
231
Very good
101
Average
66
Poor
52
Terrible
49

Jonathan S
11 contributions
Aug 2022
What a great experience! We booked the "VIP" tour which allowed us to enter 30-45 minutes prior to the rest of the attendees and sit closer to the front, although I think most anyone who came later still had plenty of food and good views of the stage. As VIP, we also were able to get a family picture taken by their professional photographer (although buying a 8x10 copy will cost you $20). The bartender was extremely generous in pouring the alcohol, and drinks were unlimited. They actually start you off with 2 right off the bat!

The food was good but there wasn't a huge variety. The pork was delicious, though, so I was happy enough with the selections.

The dancing was fantastic! All were very enthusiastic and talented as the "told" the story of the island through the hula dance. The performances and evening ended with a fire dancer who had my wife cheering with delight. Our boys enjoyed the event as well. All-in-all it was an expensive but entertaining evening.
Written 7 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for sharing your positive review of our luau! We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Written 1 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lesly H
3 contributions
Aug 2022 • Friends
I thought this was a very cute way to start my week long vacation. The performers we're expressive and talented! At one point they asked if anyone wanted to come on stage to learn a hula dance. I thought that was fun as well as the friendly audience "who can be louder" competition we had. I'm vegan so couldn't eat much of the buffet and I didn't know they offered a vegan stir fry. They were able to accommodate me last min which was great! I think it was worth the price, especially when you could see the beautiful sunset behind the vocalists. My one critique is they had us take pictures before entering the luau, they never found us to show us our picture. The staff quite literally has to play "where's waldo" to find the people photographed. I think there could be an easier way for them.
Written 26 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback! We are so happy to read that you loved your experience with us and that you enjoyed the energy and enthusiasm of our staff! We appreciate your feedback regarding the photo and will share with our team for review. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Written 1 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jill M
1 contribution
Oct 2021 • Couples
Music Dancers and food were all great. The long wait to get in was not. We got there at 430 for a 500 show but they started lining us up at 445 to check our temp and ID’s, waited another 20 minutes to walk around to the beach side of the entry. Then they kept us standing there in the hot sun for another 45 minutes. This is so they can take everyone’s picture to try to sell you after you get in. The picture quality was bad so we passed on it. We had lots of time to take our own pictures. We finally entered around 545 and they seated us. Food was good and the free drinks were pretty watered down but if you wanted to buy a specialty drink it would be $15. The dancers were great and the music was fun too.
Written 1 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read about the long wait for your check-in. We will share your feedback to improve this experience. We hope that you had a lovely time otherwise and a wonderful stay in Maui.
Written 1 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meander652158
2 contributions
Aug 2022 • Friends
We were extremely disappointed at this Luau. We have attended Germaine's and Chief's Luau's in the past and expected something similar. However, from the introductions til the very end, this seemed like an embarrassing social experiment. The singing performance and emceeing by the narrator was monotone and bad. They also only had 2 male performers that acted out each of the supposed Islands represented. Neither of which looked as if they spent any time in The culture and one was so Caucasian, he resembled Screech from Saved By the Bell. Seriously, just 2 male performers for the entire show and only 5 or 6 females. And the band was behind the lattice which left us believing that it was recorded music and no band whatsoever. For the $162 we paid for each of our 16 family members, this was ridiculous.

There was obviously so little effort put into this presentation and the entire event. For example, when you enter, they direct you to the buffet line and make no mention nor presentation about the dinner's feature, the pig nor the supposedly locally prepared staples. This looked like some kind of cafeteria food line. In fact, even the beverage service was lagging. The selection was very small and was basically watered down versions of over juiced mai tais etc. And they had last call at 7:15 while the performance was supposed to go til 9.

I would not recommend this luau whatsoever as it is an embarrassment to the good people and the rich Hawaiian culture. I will inform the hotel to not recommend this luau any longer and will persue a partial refund at the very least.
Written 23 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your luau experience. We want every guest to have a magical night and appreciate you letting us know your concerns. We will share your feedback with our team. We hope that you had a lovely time in Maui!
Written 23 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Louie S
Vacaville, CA104 contributions
Jun 2022
We've been here just a week ago, June 26th to be exact. This is our second Luau which is the first one is in Oahu, so in comparison, there are some differences but I will give the details later. For now, I would like to give kudos to the artists, they are just amazing. From the beginning to the end, they did it without any other alternates. The only different actor is the Fire twirler dude and he is just killing it. I'm not sure if he's done it in an amusement park because he really does it so normal. Hands up to all of you. Keep up the great job.

Anyways, in comparison to our first Luau, I am thankful that I bought our tickets directly from them because we have free Lei even though back in Oahu, it is part of the package. When you check-in, they will give you your Lei, if by any means I bought our tickets from other sources, we won't have our own Leis and It will be sad. I remember other people next to us asking how come they don't have Lei? I guess the didn't bought their tickets directly from them.

In continuation, the food here is not that good, not much option compared to the Oahu Luau but I have no complaints because we never really came here for the food but for the show itself. As a Pescatarian, I didn't eat the roast pork just the fish which I am happy because there's not much people paying attention to it compared to the pork. Regarding the food, I just hope they put tags on the food that are on the table because I noticed that nobody is getting the POI. I'm not sure if they don't like it or just don't know what that is especially the first timers. This is the local delicacy that people should try. I know it's kinda bland but it will have taste if you pair it with other food. And for me, not bad at all.

Regarding the staff, all of them are so friendly and accommodating, from the entrance to the end of the show and in between. Everyone are taking cared of.

In conclusion, I just gave it a 4-star because for one, the place is not that big even though it is by the beach overlooking the sunset. But at first being summer, all of us are roasted first from the sun from 5pm until around 7pm when the sun is slowly coming down, and it's nice from then on. Then, There's not much parking because they're sharing it with Royal Lahaina Resort & Kaanapali Ocean Inn, so if you come on time, parking is a headache that's why come early like an hour early.

Aside from all of these shortcoming, my family & I had a great night in this Luau. I surely recommend them and will love to come back here in the near future.

Mahalo!
Written 1 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the show and dinner and we so appreciate your feedback regarding the parking and shade needed. We hope to welcome you back again on your next visit to Maui!
Written 7 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Family_Holiday_12
4 contributions
Aug 2022
Royal Lahaina is much overrated as many others are realizing in their reviews. The show performers were very good but the evening overall was a disappointing experience - poor service from wait staff who were hard to find and unresponsive (eg, we asked for 6 drinks, he returned with 2 and after asking, brought 4 more about 30 minutes later), bad quality bulk buffet food and a rowdy crowd (some people trying to drink back their ticket fee at the bar). Seating was crammed and made it hard to see the stage for much of the audience.
Written 11 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you felt our luau was overrated and that you felt service was lacking. We want every one to have a wonderful experience and are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us. Your feedback helps us improve and so we do hope that you will join us again in the future to experience our improvements. Mahalo!
Written 2 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ADAM M
1 contribution
Jan 2022 • Couples
This luau was worse than one we went to go see when we were in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. It was boring, filled with long gaps of terrible music and they take a picture when you walk in and try to charge you $20 for it in the middle of the luau. They have great food but unfortunately that is the only good part of the luau. Their fire dancing was pretty mediocre as well for this being an authentic Hawaii Luau it was pretty bad save your money and go elsewhere. They have an open bar all night as well so maybe if you get drunk enough you wont realize how bad this show is.
Written 16 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy all aspects of your luau experience. We want every guest to have a magical night and appreciate you letting us know the drawbacks of your seating arrangements and service from your waiter. We will share your feedback with our team to try and improve our service.
Written 17 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

snate08
Madera, CA8 contributions
I was celebrating a 10 year anniversary in Maui so my husband and I booked this show to celebrate. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the experience very much . First off the atmosphere is gorgeous . The backdrop is the ocean and the timing of the show allows you to see the sunset. We had VIP seating which put us in first few rows so seating was really good. I give the performers an A ! The master of ceremony was an expert storyteller and musicians were talented. There were many different types of dances , my favorites were hula, fire dance and the happy dance. Servers were quick and friendly and drinks are free and endless. This could easily be a 5 of 5 with a few adjustments. The food for example is plentiful but was bland. They need to add seasoning ! And while the entertainment was excellent, there was a long period with no entertainment during dinner. It seems like they could’ve started the show a bit earlier while we were eating. Overall I’d definitely recommend !
Written 3 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are honored to read that you and your husband chose our luau for celebrating your 10 year anniversary. We appreciate your feedback regarding the food and entertainment during dinner and will share your feedback with our team. Wishing you many more happy years together and we hope to welcome you back again on your next anniversary!
Written 3 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Noreen P
5 contributions
Aug 2022 • Family
I don’t understand the negative reviews. This luau was fun from start to finish. We waited a bit to get in but were greeted with a choice of drink and a photograph. We were escorted promptly to our seats and then to the buffet with choices of salads, pork, chicken, fish and chicken fingers and Mac and cheese for kids. Food was good considering the amount of people to feed. Service was exceptional. The show was entertaining featuring stories throughout. The dancers against the sunset created such a picturesque scene that almost didn’t look real. Tradition Hawaiian dance with hula and fire. Give it a chance. I’m glad I did!
Written 16 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit! Thank you for joining us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Written 16 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Phil J
Pinckney, MI29 contributions
Feb 2022
This was a somewhat confusing experience. First, the parking attendant at the gate wanted to charge us $10 for parking when their confirmation email said it was $5. He accepted my explanation and took $5. Second, we had to "check-in" with at least 4 different persons before being seated. When we were seated, approximately half the crowd was already eating. In hindsight, it makes sense so that everyone isn't going through the buffet line at the same time. However, there was no program at our table to explain the order of events. After almost everyone had eaten, the hostess explained what food items were available. It would have been helpful to have known earlier either via her or a menu. Finally, our waiter tried to charge us $15 (supposedly at deal) for 2 Pina Coladas that should have been included at no charge. All in all, we felt that they were very disorganized and were nickel and diming us. I'm not sure how the other luaus handle things but maybe they're worth checking out.
Written 22 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry to read that you felt the luau was disorganized and that you did not enjoy your experience. The blended drinks at the luau are not included with your ticket cost (it is an add on) however the mixed cockails and well drinks are included. Should you return we would be happy to welcome you back again and ensure you have a lovely time in all aspects.
Written 21 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 498
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Myths of Maui Luau Dinner and a Show | Lahaina, HI