Tours and Tickets

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town provided by Springbok Atlas Day Tours

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town
3.5
Book in advance
from
€159.92
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
About
This tour is ideal for travelers who would like to see African wildlife without traveling too far from Cape Town. Spend several hours on a safari at Aquila Game Reserve, home to the “Big Five” game animals and Verreaux’s eagle. Everything is planned: transportation, lunch, and pickup and drop-off from your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Take one of the easiest safari tours near Cape Town
  • Don’t stress about lunch or transportation: both are included
  • Get a chance to see the Verreaux's black eagle
  • See the “Big Five” game animals, including African elephants and Cape buffalo
What to expect
  • After pickup from your central Cape Town hotel in an air-conditioned coach, journey to the southern Karoo region and the private Aquila Game Reserve. Meet your guide and game ranger and climb aboard an open-air safari vehicle. Start the drive while your guide tells you about the “Big Five” animals in the reserve. Keep your eyes out for them as well as African elephants, buffalo, lions, hippos, and other animals. Pass a large wetland area known for its abundance of bird species, including Verreaux's black eagles. Have lunch after your safari and then meet your guide again for the drive back to Cape Town, where you’re dropped off at your hotel by late afternoon.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Take one of the easiest safari tours near Cape Town
  • Don’t stress about lunch or transportation: both are included
  • Get a chance to see the Verreaux's black eagle
  • See the “Big Five” game animals, including African elephants and Cape buffalo
What to expect
  • After pickup from your central Cape Town hotel in an air-conditioned coach, journey to the southern Karoo region and the private Aquila Game Reserve. Meet your guide and game ranger and climb aboard an open-air safari vehicle. Start the drive while your guide tells you about the “Big Five” animals in the reserve. Keep your eyes out for them as well as African elephants, buffalo, lions, hippos, and other animals. Pass a large wetland area known for its abundance of bird species, including Verreaux's black eagles. Have lunch after your safari and then meet your guide again for the drive back to Cape Town, where you’re dropped off at your hotel by late afternoon.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2382SC9
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
  • Lunch
  • Game Drive
  • Hotel pickup and drop off (English Driver only)
  • Professional Game Ranger - English speaking only
  • Entry/Admission - Touwsrivier
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Duration
9h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Should your Hotel not be listed, please contact us 48 hours so we can confirm if we would be able to pick up and drop off from your hotel.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Tour accommodates maximum 8 guests, however there will be more guests at the Reserve and on the game drive.
  • Cullinan Guided Journeys strictly follow the SA Government approved TBCSA Health and Safety COVID-19 Protocols. Should guests present COVID-19 symptoms, COVID testing and quarantine will be at their own cost. We recommend that you ensure that your guests take adequate personal travel insurance cover before departure from home.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Currently this tour departs Fridays and Saturdays only until 30 April 2021 (this is subject to change)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Inclusions
  • Lunch
  • Game Drive
  • Hotel pickup and drop off (English Driver only)
  • Professional Game Ranger - English speaking only
  • Entry/Admission - Touwsrivier
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • Should your Hotel not be listed, please contact us 48 hours so we can confirm if we would be able to pick up and drop off from your hotel.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Tour accommodates maximum 8 guests, however there will be more guests at the Reserve and on the game drive.
  • Cullinan Guided Journeys strictly follow the SA Government approved TBCSA Health and Safety COVID-19 Protocols. Should guests present COVID-19 symptoms, COVID testing and quarantine will be at their own cost. We recommend that you ensure that your guests take adequate personal travel insurance cover before departure from home.
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Currently this tour departs Fridays and Saturdays only until 30 April 2021 (this is subject to change)
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 8 Oct 2021
A note from Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town
* Guests are required to bring along own face mask. * All passengers are required to be fully vaccinated in order to travel on our tours
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Aquila Private Game Reserve
    Stop: 5 hours - Admission included
    Included: welcome drink on arrival, 3 hour open vehicle game drive, & buffet lunch. Drinks and all extras are for your own account
    Read more
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Popular mentions

3.5
28 reviews
Excellent
10
Very good
6
Average
5
Poor
2
Terrible
5

asop3369
Derbyshire, UK20 contributions
Amazing
Great experience. I think we saw 4 of the big 5 (no leopards) and would definitely recommend. Room was lovely, spa, tour guides and facilities were great and we have a very relaxing and unforgettable experience.
Written 17 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Will be sure to pass your feedback onto the reserve.
Written 18 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kenneth chinn
1 contribution
Not the Big 5
Dec 2019
3 times we have been to Aquila and have even stayed over and have never seen leopard and Cape buffalo , I was given different excuses by staff I would just rather they be honest. The loins in this huge game reserve are in a large cage that you drive through ,we where very close to them which seem to be very tame like most animals you would find in a zoo
Written 19 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will share your comments with Aquila Private Game Reserve.
Written 23 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Kanami Y
San Francisco, CA2 contributions
Do not pay in advance. Dishonest company.
Dec 2019 • Friends
I was hoping to do an overnight safari and made a reservation/ payments online. But with my air tickets, the day didn’t work out and I requested a cancel. Customer support accepted the cancelation and told me the refund process takes up to 7 business days. After a month since the cancelation, the money have not been refunded yet. Customer support replies once in a while saying I forwarded the request to accounting team and revert back to you once the team respond. No further email.
Do not trust this company. I trusted this activity because It was introduced on South African Tourism web page. It was the huge mistake.
Written 10 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Afternoon Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our company however only offer Day trips to Aquila Private Game Reserve and not overnight accommodation. We therefore presume that you have booked the overnight stay directly with Aquila Private Game Reserve and that your feedback relate directly to the experience that you have had with the Aquila Private Game Reserve office?
Written 12 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dorothy M
86 contributions
Big 5 overnight stay
We really enjoyed this place. The evening safari was great and I opted for the riding safari in the morning. The staff were so nice and helpful all the time. The accommodation was very clean . I would recommend this break. We say everything. It is a 2 .30minute drive from Capetown but the scenery is amazing.
Written 16 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Safari Experience.
Written 18 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fee Dunn
11 contributions
1 night stay and 2 safari drives
Aug 2019
We got a last minute deal for an overnight in the family lodge and 2 safaris, dinner, breakfast and lunch. It was all great. The staff were friendly, the food lovely, the accommodation was really large, clean, warm and fun. The safaris were also great. Our Guide called Ceaseri was such fun, clearly skilled and really looked after us. We had a midnight star safari and roasted marshmallows. We saw 4 of the 5 Big Animals. Yes, its not Kruger and I think we saw what they had but for my 9 and 11 year old it was exciting and special.
Written 25 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storyteller778375
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time and provide us with your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your excursion and overnight.
Written 26 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fuzzy A
Carshalton, UK5 contributions
Very disappointing
Dec 2018
Having worked in the hotel industry for the last 20 years as well as having stayed in many many safari lodges, I was very disappointed. My partner booked this for us as a special treat and for the money he paid, I have stayed in much much better places for half the price. Upon arrival my first impression was wow, however it just went downhill from there.

We started with lunch which was our first disappointing experience. It was an extremely hot day (37 degrees) and all the main food was hot as well as hot dessert (no ice cream), I would’ve hoped for a quiche, cold meats etc when it was so hot.

As we had finished lunch and there was no where to go, unless we sat in the blistering sun (as all the chairs in the shade had been “booked” with people’s towels on) we thought we would chance it and see if we could check in early. My partner went to the desk and asked at 1pm. After waiting 15 minutes, he was promised it would be ready by 1:30 so we waited. When finally it came to 2pm and no one had still come to us (we were right at the front desk) we queued for our key and were finally taken to our room only to find this not clean.

A manager came to see us to apologise and offered us a bottle of sparkling wine. Whilst that was a lovely gesture the fact remains that don’t offer something you cannot deliver.

Next we went on our game drive and it was great to see the animals we did see, however the guide drove very fast, past many animals and didn’t even give us a chance to look or capture some pics.

Dinner was again disappointing and resembled a lot of what had been offered for lunch.

When coming back to the room in the evening, the room was filled with mozzies and miggies. I realise we are staying in the bush and this is to be expected, however surely a netting over the bed would have been suitable so you don’t get chowed by mozzies in the night. Considering we had WiFi I was very surprised that there was no phone to call reception to get some doom or something, and as we had the furthest room away, we did not feel like walking back at that time of the night, therefore we grinned and bared it, however a very restless nights sleep was had.

The morning drive was much like the day prior and when you are getting up early, you kind of want it to be worth it. I realise you can’t guarantee seeing the animals, however at least give us a chance to look.

Breakfast was tasteless with no flavour, seasoning or spice. The only thing I enjoyed was the fruit, which you don’t cook and unless you serve them rotten or not ripe, should be good.

It is such a shame as I really do believe this place has a lot of potential and could be fantastic with just a few small changes, good service and good food, which would make paying R7500 a night, worth it.

Written 12 February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

924jill149
Letham Grange, UK20 contributions
Local safari parks in uk are more interesting
Dec 2018
It’s a 21/2 hour drive to park. It was a bit like go round this corner and there are the elephants eating carrots placed in a certain spot. Next corner was rhinos etc etc. Certain animals are electrical fenced in! Guide was knowledgeable but talked far too much so much so that by the time he let us into the lion quarters caged area the lion had laid down and gone to sleep. We were on wrong side of jeep. Suggest if you are going sit on left. It was a wasted day. Food was ok a lot of flies. Flyer makes the place look really good, no cheetahs though.
Written 28 December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

ARMANDO R
Escazú, Costa Rica32 contributions
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER ! ! !
Nov 2018
Just to start, we were told we will be picked up at our hotel at Sea Point at 8:30 a.m. sharp. They showed up at 9:30 a.m. When we got to the Reserve after a long two hour and half drive we were told by the receptionist that according to our reservation number we had already done the safari early in the morning and left back to Auckland. Oh, yes, really??? We called STA Travel at 91 Loop Street (from which we booked the tour) and they kindly help us by obtaining a new reservation confirmation number from Aquila's reservation department. We went back to the front desk and the same rude, obnoxious and repugnant lady told us that there was no new number for us on her system and that 'IF WANTED TO DO THE SAFARI WE HAD TO PAID IT IN FULL TO HER AND TRY TO GET A REFUND FROM STA TRAVEL OR FIND A WAY TO GO BACK TO CAPE TOWN AS WE WOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO RIDE THE TRANSPORT BACK TO THE CITY". And this point I just plainly lost it and started demanding to see the manager, which showed up relunctantly after we were trying to clear things up for almost an hour. After the manager look into the problem she apoligized and asked us to take the safari, which by the way, was just an O.K. experience. I would STRONGLY RECOMMED to do the Kruger Safari in Johannesburg instead of risking an appalling and dreadful experience as we had to endure at Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town.
Written 13 November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dave M
18 contributions
Ok Trip.
Oct 2018
The safari was a little over hyped and the distance to travel a little too far. Travel in an old minibus not great. 5 hours travelling in total. Felt that the safari was a little staged regarding most of the animals. The guides though are knowledgable and certainly aware of not annoying the animals such as the rhinos who had young with them on our tour. Don't expect a lot of bang for your buck, unless your visiting one of the large parks then this one will do.
Written 20 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

nbennett480
Swansea, UK149 contributions
Great experience
We stayed over night and took full advantage of the spa, sauna and massage.

The buffet food was exceptional and hot with the number of visitors I don’t know how they do it? We done.

Our cottage was very comfortable and the bed enormous. There was also an outside shower very decadent

We took three trips to see the wildlife although the 06.30 start was very cold. Raymond our guide was very informative and funny a great guide.

It felt a little bit like a zoo although a very big zoo. Each trip took between 1 1/2 and 2 1/2 hours but a well worth while destination
Written 4 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 22
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Springbok Atlas Day Tours
Aimeescott12
Aimeescott12
00
Wonderful.
Our curated wine experience was incredible. Our tour guide Roger ensured we learnt at each farm, tasted the best wi
michael_lB1269FU
michael_lB1269FU
00
Great trip to the Cape Peninsular
Very comfortable coach from the "hop on hop off" company. A very scenic drive and splendid comentry by "Mark" - ou
Tourist738221
Tourist738221
00
Overall, very good value
Excellent tour but very difficult with visit to Table Mountain as cable cars (although very quick) have such long q
WilmaB619
WilmaB619
00
Horrible experience at Mount Nelson
We booked a table a week in advance for 5 pax on the terrace for high tea on Tuesday the 4th of Feb at 15h00. On ar
caroline196260
caroline196260
00
Breathtaking!!
Attempted the cable car in January but winds too strong. We continued our trip with the half day tour and took in
SL_KU
SL_KU
00
Perfect day in Cape Town area.
Perfect day visiting Cape Town area. Highly recommended. Great guide. Comfortable couch and very rich information a
IrinaB128
IrinaB128
00
Amazing day around Cape Peninsula
The tour was exactly as described and, although packed, I didn’t feel rush at all during the stops. The tour compan
Fredjcluver
Fredjcluver
00
Tram Fun
Awesome way to get around the Franschhoek wine farms .... and not having to drink and drive. Friendly staff and lot
davidrX7555BB
davidrX7555BB
00
Best afternoon tea ever
My wife and I felt so lucky to have been bought this gift of afternoon tea at Belmont Mount Nelson. What an amazin
sj2260
sj2260
00
Average commercial tour
There is nothing particularly wrong with this tour—except being told there was no time to drive through Muizenberg—
NatalieBoulton1
NatalieBoulton1
00
Fantastic way to see Cape Town
We were met by our wonderful guide who took around lots of different places in cape town. We stopped at about 4 dif
heleeng2014
heleeng2014
00
Amazing tea, nice terrasse, good pianist
We surprised my mother with a delicious afternoon tea. What fantastic experience was it!! Starting with nice bites,
Rens C
Rens C
00
Wonderful
Our tourguide Norman would probably be the nicest guy in Cape Town. You could ask him anything about Cape Town. His
Tatolo M
Tatolo M
00
Marine world
Family learned a lot about marine life. Our children enjoyed seeing the vast marine life and walking in the ship.
Impi B
Impi B
00
Wine Tasting
Very pleasant. Would have liked to be on the tram for a longer period as it is called a Wine Tram tour and you end
Frequently Asked Questions about Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town price starts from €164.00. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor

Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town is hosted by Springbok Atlas Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Springbok Atlas Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Aquila Game Reserve Wildlife Safari from Cape Town on Tripadvisor