Tours and Tickets

Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna provided by Red Lava Tourist Service Center

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
€71.07
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Explore with the safety and knowledge of a guide on this hiking trip through Tenorio Volcano National Park. In addition to navigating, your guide points out plants and animals often missed by visitors and ensures you have plenty of time to snap photos along the way. After a swim in the Rio Celeste, enjoy a well-deserved lunch and relax on the way back to La Fortuna (round-trip hotel transport included).
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Calle 468
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Rio Celeste
    Stop: 4 hours - Admission included
    You'll then engage in a 4-hour hike that is a bit tough for some but the end result is definitely worth it. After your 4-hour hike you'll get to the Rio Celeste (Blue River). The blue color you'll see is the result of a chemical reaction between two merging rivers containing different volcanic minerals. It's a very rare phenomenon which creates a fairy-tale-like beauty. You'll get to see a waterfall, a lookout point that's great for taking pictures and you'll also get to see the place where the river changes colors.
    Read more
  • You'll end at
    Calle 468
    Calle 468, Provincia de Alajuela, La Fortuna, Costa Rica
    La Fortuna Bus terminal, Street 468
    See address & details
+
Highlights
  • Explore secluded natural landscapes without getting lost
  • Free time to swim in Rio Celeste’s natural pools
  • Post-hike lunch of traditional Costa Rican food included
  • Convenient round-trip transport from La Fortuna hotels
Important Information
Departure Point
Calle 468, Provincia de Alajuela, La Fortuna, Costa Rica
Duration
8h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Lunch in local restaurant
  • Professional guide
  • Pickup and drop-off from hotels in La Fortuna area
  • Entry/Admission - Rio Celeste
Exclusions
  • Dinner
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Vegetarian option is available
  • 4-hour medium-tough hike is involved
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
26Reviews
8Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Sarah M wrote a review Feb 2019
Owensboro, Kentucky148 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Red Lava did a horrible job of organizing this day hike. Pickup was supposed to be at 7:10. After I called them at 7:30 they advised pickup was now going to be at 8:20. We were then picked up in an employees personal car and then met up with another passenger who said she’d been
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RedLavaTsc, Owner at Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna
Responded 22 Feb 2019
The pick up was going to be later then originally mentioned and we called the hotel the night before so they could let you know. It appears they didn´t pass the massage. As you know there was a truck blocking the road not far from your hotel. The driver had to hike up to and then walk with you to the car. This caused additional delay. We don´t charge extra (like most companies do) for pick ups at the remote hotel you where staying at. To make it somewhat cost effective we send a car while our minibus does the pick up in the other hotels. Although we try our hardest to make the logistics smooth there are times things don't work out as planned. We regret that this caused a bad start of your trip. The thing that worries me most is the behavior of the guide. There was no need for him to rush the hike and I apologize that he made you feel like a burden. This guide came highly recommended to us and got a great response the first couple of weeks. At a certain moment we noticed a decline in work quality and we got several complaints. We no longer work with him because after a first correctional conversation he did not improve. I expect you recognize from personal/professional experience that people can start out very good and show a different face when the honeymoon weeks are over. ps. I will look into the lunch/water situation. There should always be plenty free water,
Read more
Chadster wrote a review Dec 2018
Palos Verdes Estates, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
Just had this tour on Dec 10, 2018. Rio Celeste was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen. It was raining a little bit, but I could still see the light blue color water. Our tour guide, Marcos, was awesome! He is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They
Read more
Date of experience: December 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sunnylady_8484 wrote a review Dec 2018
Portsmouth, United Kingdom105 contributions31 helpful votes
+5
Booked online & unfortunately they were over an hour late to collect me with no communication which caused a lot of stress. My hotel called them after 15mins, to be promised they would be there in 10 mins - but it took an hour. My hotel receptionist said that this was common
Read more
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RedLavaTsc, Owner at Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Hi Sunnylady, Again sorry for the late pickup. As I explained in the personal email I send you it was a mistake I made*. When we corresponded it was at night for me and the next day I didn´t process correctly what we agreed on. Besides the obvious apology I also asked if the effort we made: a private car, driver and guide, was to your satisfaction and if you felt that we had made up enough for the discomfort. Since I got no response I am now kind of surprised that you prefer this way of expressing yourself over the option of direct interaction. The fact that your hotel talks badly over us is not surprising. The hotel offers (over-priced) tours as well and we are in competition. When a person does not book with them they have no problem in smearing that company. I hear stuff about that hotel as well but I try to show the decency to let them handle it themselves. Glad you did like the activity and luckily it is easy for any reader to see that the tours we operate bring a lot of enjoyment to many people. *Just a short reflection. In this 24hour economy and interaction via whats-app, email, live-chat ect. one extends his availability to almost 100% (especially in tourism where you communicate with people in different time zones). I have to secure that things I agree on far outside standard office hours get the same quality follow up as the ones I handle during office hours. It´s 2018 reality of which I hope only this mistake is the result.
Read more
JesicaH wrote a review Nov 2018
Los Angeles, California7 contributions
Great tour and tour guide, Jonathan was super friendly and very knowledgeable of plans and animals. If you can you should ask to have him as your guide. He is the best!
Read more
Date of experience: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Erika M wrote a review Aug 2018
10 contributions1 helpful vote
+6
We booked two excursions through Red Lava: the 6hr Arenal Volcano Hike and the Rio Celeste Hike. My friend and I were fortunate enough to be the only two people on both tours, likely due to it being the end of summer and not many tourists were traveling in the city. Our guide
Read more
Date of experience: August 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
12
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Red Lava Tourist Service Center
356chasem
00
Refreshing, Inspiring
Hi all, I would highly recommend this tour along with the wonderful guide I had. Erick was extremely knowledgeable
Read more
Eeffielove
00
Fun day
Overall, we had a good time. It was raining badly throughout the first part of the day, which made things less enjo
Read more
perrina2021
00
Unbelievably Beautiful and Exciting
This hike is absolutely Incredible and our guide Carlos was amazing! If you're looking for something off the beaten
Read more
priskah2021
00
A great way to explore nature
I enjoyed the hike and especially the opportunity to swim in a little pond underneath an impressive waterfall. My g
Read more
Nickou_Ste
00
Amazing first time in La Fortuna
I usually don't leave reviews but I enjoyed this tour so much that I decided to leave a review. Tour guide and driv
Read more
kellyokelley
00
BEST DAY EVER! This is a must-do tour in Arenal!
This is an absolute AMAZING tour! Eric was adorable! His enthusiasm and knowledge for the area and nature was so am
Read more
lolhark
00
An amazing day despite the rain
This tour packed in so much. Would never have completed all of these things in our short time here if we had not jo
Read more
quinnebright
00
Full day Arenal volcano, La Fortuna waterfall tour
This was an excellent experience and Carlos with Red Lava Tours was a great guide. He was very friendly and knowled
Read more
Melissaz1122
00
Great value and beautiful scenery
Our tour guide Christian “Nano” was amazing, friendly and super knowledgeable about the locations we visited, the w
Read more
CarolinaOrtloff
00
The perfect day! You need to do this tour!
This tour was amazing! Our guide, Christian, tailored the trip just for us. We were a family of 4 and the only on
Read more
Matt W
00
Increidlbe Full Day Tour
This tour was amazing! We had Christian aka Nano and he was incredibly knowledgeable, interesting, and fun. We di
Read more
lauriekcardwell
00
Eric from Red Lava Tours was Amazing!
We had a VIP experience since the tours were just starting up again after COVID closures. We were the only ones on
Read more
CRarog
00
Such a fun day
I was fortunate to get this tour in before everything started to get shut down due to coronavirus. Im very happy I
Read more
Shahern19
00
Full day arenal volcano
We had a great experience with red lava tours! We did the full day which included a rainforest tour, a waterfall, h
Read more
851vishnup
00
WORDS CANNOT DESCRIBE THE AMOUNT OF FUN WE HAD!!!
The tour was a full day of fun and adventure. Our tour guides Erick and WIlliam were fabulous, they were very enter
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Pickup offered
  • Languages Offered: English, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241

Frequently bought together

Rainforest Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
from €21.74*
Popular: Booked by 1,271 travellers!
Two Volcano Extreme Hike in La Fortuna
from €62.71*
Popular: Booked by 1,171 travellers!

Hiking

North Fields Cafe: Craft Specialty Coffee and Chocolate Tour
from €33.44*
Popular: Booked by 293 travellers!
Sloth Watching Tour
from €24.97*
Popular: Booked by 137 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Full-Day Rio Celeste Tour From La Fortuna