We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Custom Private Tour in Hakone with Optional Hot Springs Experience

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$235.54
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Pick up at your hotel/ryokan in Odawara or Hakone area at between 9am to 10am. You can also be picked up at Odawara Station or Hakone Yumoto Station.

    Visit Owakudani Valley to see an active volcano and enjoy stunning view of Mt.Fuji(weather dependent). Later visit 1260 years old Hakone Shrine, one of the oldest shrines in Japan, and your guide will share a lot of insights about its history.

    After lunch proceed to one of Hakone Yosegi Zaiku store, Japanese traditional crafts then visit the Onshi Hakone Park for beautiful Japanese gardens and great view of Lake Ashi and Mt.Fuji. Then the guide will take you to walk the historical road of Tokaido and rest at one of the oldest tea houses in Hakone.

    Hakone is also famous for its hot spring, also called Onsen in Japanese, and local open-air hot springs by a stream experience is also an option for you to choose. If you choose to visit this local open air hot springs, the tour needs to skip one or two places described above to finish in time.

    After the tour ends, you will be transferred back to your hotel/ryokan, Odawara Station or Hakone Yumoto Station.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Your hotel in Odawara or Hakone area, Odawara Station or Hakone Yumoto Station
    Departure Time
    9am, 10am
    Duration
    6h 30m
    Return Details
    Your hotel in Odawara or Hakone area, Odawara Station or Hakone Yumoto Station
    Inclusions
    • Licensed local guide
    • Beverages at a local tea house
    • Free car transportation
    • Hotel/Railway station pickup and drop-off
    Exclusions
    • Lunch (around 1,500 JPY/each)
    • Optional admissions fee to open-air Hot Spring by a stream (extra cost)
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • A maximum of 5 people per booking
    • Private hot spring experience is optional. Please make your selection at the time of booking
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (30)
    Filter reviews
    30 results
    Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    Traveller rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews mt fuji tea house his knowledge fluent in english friendly personality my wife and i nice view day tour beautiful area friends and family an unforgettable experience my favorite part highlight of our trip shinto shrine delicious lunch japanese culture special area
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 30 reviews
    Reviewed 7 August 2019

    Our private tour of Hakone was amazing due to our tour guide Shin! The weather (clouds and rain) and Mother Nature (volcanic activity) prevented us from going up the Ropeway or seeing Mt. Fuji so initially we were disappointed, but Shin made the necessary changes...More

    Date of experience: July 2019
    1  Thank EWON22
    Shin-Kaneko, Owner at Explore Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

    Thank you again for visiting Japan and my hometown Hakone. It was a big shame that the weather was not so nice. However, I'm really glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the day with me. So did I!! There are still other...More

    Reviewed 22 July 2019

    After reading so many 5-star reviews, I was quite disappointed when I learned that Shin was already booked for the day we would be in Hakone. However, he made arrangements for another guide to spend the day with our group. Hiroko, the other guide, was...More

    Date of experience: June 2019
    Thank sancrispino
    Reviewed 28 May 2019

    Shin was awesome! He started us out early, to beat the crowds that were arriving for the festival, and it paid off. We didn't encounter any substantial delays, got to see the Emperor's Summer Home and Mt. Fuji on a morning with clear skies. Like...More

    Date of experience: May 2019
    Thank MReiss234
    Shin-Kaneko, Owner at Explore Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2019

    Thank you so much for visitng my hometown and having me as your guide! It was really nice meeting you all and spent such a wonderful day with you. Weather couldn't have been better! I must thank you all for bringing sunshine from Chicago :)...More

    Reviewed 20 April 2019

    Been to different lovely places all over Japan. And Hakone is one amazingly and breathtakingly beautiful place made more unforgettable by one of Hakone’s finest - Mr. SHIN KANEKO. Our smart, patient and fluent English speaking personal tour guide. Our family highly recommends Mr. Shin....More

    Date of experience: April 2019
    Thank Compass56882
    Shin-Kaneko, Owner at Explore Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2019

    Thank you very much for choosing my hometown Hakone for your trip to Japan this time. It was really nice meeting all of you and spending such a wonderful day. Weather was just perfect and cherry blossoms were fully bloomed. I'm also glad to hear...More

    Reviewed 9 April 2019

    We ended our visit to Japan with a tour of Hakone. We contacted Shin from Explore Hakone via email prior to our trip. Shin was most accomodating and was quick to respond to emails and answer any questions that we had.Unfortunately, he was busy with...More

    Date of experience: April 2019
    Thank kailuabay
    Shin-Kaneko, Owner at Explore Hakone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

    Thank you so much for visiting Japan and my hometown Hakone on the other day! It was a shame that I couldn't guide your group by myself but it seems that Hiroko did a great job! She is one of a few guides that I...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    Excursion45201235147
    4 April 2019|
    Answer
    Response from Shin-Kaneko | Property representative |
    This is Shin and thank you for reaching out! I'm very very sorry that I'm booked until 21 May. It's a really shame that I won't be able to guide on your requested dates. I'm more than happy to assist you via email. So please... More
    0
    Votes
    DawnyMagic
    9 March 2019|
    Answer
    Response from Shin-Kaneko | Property representative |
    Hi Dawn, sorry for the delay in my response. The system doesn't automatically send your question to me. I just found it out today...Anyways, if your group is more than 5, it doesn't fit in my van and we need to charter a... More
    0
    Votes
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +44 12 2492 8241