Tours and Tickets

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua provided by Gray Line Guatemala

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua
4.5
Book in advance
from
€65.11
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 93% of travellers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Includes lunch, and park and hot springs entrance fees
Duration:
9h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
50
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Combine a vigorous hike on Pacaya Volcano with a relaxing soak at Kawilal Hot Springs for the ultimate full-day tour from Antigua. Your guide leads the trek up the 8,300-foot (2,500-meter) tall Pacaya Volcano, one of Guatemala's most active volcanoes. Have lunch afterward, then enjoy free time at Kawilal Hot Springs, which offers numerous soaking pools, steam baths, and hydrotherapy baths. Round-trip hotel transportation is included.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Highlights
  • Hear live commentary from your guide about Guatemala's volcanoes
  • Soak in thermal pools, steam baths, and hydrotherapy baths
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off provided
What to expect
Know before you go
  • Duration: 9h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Hear live commentary from your guide about Guatemala's volcanoes
  • Soak in thermal pools, steam baths, and hydrotherapy baths
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off provided
What to expect
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 3022P41
Important information
Inclusions
  • If option selected
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entrance to Hot Springs ( If option selected)
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Entrance to Pacaya Volcano National Park
Duration
9h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • These are our pick up points for our excursion. Please select your pick up point and be 15 minutes prior the starting time.
  • Gray Line Antigua Guatemala - Tours & Experiences, 2a Calle Oriente, #4B, Antigua Guatemala Antigua, Guatemala 03001, Guatemala These are our pick up points for our excursion. Please select your pick up point and be 15 minutes prior the starting time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child under 13 years is not allowed to take the thermal circuit.
  • Tours include bilingual guide (English and Spanish).
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please Note: During holy week ( April 17 – 21, 2019) we do not pick up on hotels, you will be request to move to our meeting point where we will pick up you. Please be ready on the meeting 15 minutes prior the start time of the tour. Our meeting point are: Casa Santo Domingo Hotel or Soleil Hotel.
  • Please contact local provider if you need a guide in any other language. French, German and Italian in private services, subject to additional costs and guide availability.
  • For groups of 10 persons or more, please contact local provider to arrange.
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • To find pictures of our experiences, search us on Instagram as @graylinetoursgt
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Sometimes your return can be vía Guatemala city
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Inclusions
  • If option selected
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Entrance to Hot Springs ( If option selected)
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks, unless specified
  • Gratuities
  • Entrance to Pacaya Volcano National Park
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • These are our pick up points for our excursion. Please select your pick up point and be 15 minutes prior the starting time.
  • Gray Line Antigua Guatemala - Tours & Experiences, 2a Calle Oriente, #4B, Antigua Guatemala Antigua, Guatemala 03001, Guatemala These are our pick up points for our excursion. Please select your pick up point and be 15 minutes prior the starting time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
9h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child under 13 years is not allowed to take the thermal circuit.
  • Tours include bilingual guide (English and Spanish).
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please Note: During holy week ( April 17 – 21, 2019) we do not pick up on hotels, you will be request to move to our meeting point where we will pick up you. Please be ready on the meeting 15 minutes prior the start time of the tour. Our meeting point are: Casa Santo Domingo Hotel or Soleil Hotel.
  • Please contact local provider if you need a guide in any other language. French, German and Italian in private services, subject to additional costs and guide availability.
  • For groups of 10 persons or more, please contact local provider to arrange.
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • To find pictures of our experiences, search us on Instagram as @graylinetoursgt
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Sometimes your return can be vía Guatemala city
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
30 reviews
Excellent
23
Very good
5
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1

strongmom90
New York City, NY8 contributions
Couples
The Pacaya volcano was an amazing sight to see! If you are not well conditioned, like me, you can try and hike as much as you can and then take a horse up some of the way. I have to tell you though, that I felt very sorry for the horse but realize that this is the way of life for the people who live there, and this is a way of making a living. I would recommend as other people have, to wear Hiking shoes and pay for one of the hiking sticks that the young boys have at the bottom of the volcano. When you get to the top, the lava rocks become very sharp. Also be aware that temperatures change and so even though you may have started and you didn’t feel very cold, you need to bring layers because there’s a part that may get very windy and cold. Some people could not continue hiking because they were not appropriately dressed. I did enjoy the spa and though I am not quite sure the water was coming from mineral springs, it didn’t matter, it was relaxing. There was only a small problem leaving the spa. I think the transportation is set up by the people from the spa because the person who brought us to the spa was waiting for us, but they wouldn’t let us go in that van. The spa personnel quickly moved us from our van to another waiting van full of people, some locals and tourist that seem to be picked up for free from Antigua, to use the spa services. We were crowded, and the shuffling of the vans was not pleasant. Other than that the trip was wonderful.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayLineGuatemala
Dear Thank you for having booked with us and for takes the time to share your experience lived during our excursion!! Hope to see you again!!
Written 7 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan N
Ann Arbor, MI1 contribution
The hike was moderately hard but well paced by our guide Claudio, who did an overall great job. Amazing to see the erupting Pacaya volcano from a (safe?) distance.

Lunch was tasty and generous, and was served in a nice setting.

Although the hot springs were a welcome relief, that part of the tour felt a bit rushed. It was nice to go to a hot spring/resort that was well-attended by locals yet not crowded.
Written 8 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

joe s
2 contributions
I did not attempt the hike up as I have leg issues which prevented me from doing so. My horse guide was very informative about the trail and the rest stops / sites to see. The top viewing area gave a great view of the 3 volcanoes, Pacaya, Fuego and Acatenango. Definitely worth the trip.
Written 5 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Nicole C
Denver, CO11 contributions
Very disappointed with the organization of the tour. We got to the hot springs and no one knew who our group was or what had been paid for. Had to call the travel company to confirm they had already paid our entry.

The bus was very nice but there is no avoiding the horrendous traffic in Guatemala City. The people on our bus staying in Guatemala City got picked up at 6am and dropped off at 8pm due to traffic.

I wish there had been more clear communication from the Grey Line Tours
Written 6 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayLineGuatemala
Dear Nicole We are sorry that you had to wait a few minutes while the person at the hot springs attended to you, according to our communication log and the report of the hot springs, the time was not more than 5 minutes, as our service indicates, the entrance fee is included. Regarding the issue of traffic, it is a situation out of our hand and that we cannot control, it is a situation that affects passengers from Guatemala City and not from Antigua, which was your starting point. Thank you for your comments
Written 20 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Emmeline F
3 contributions
Couples
We had an amazing time. The hike was not easy but doable. They offer horses to take you up to the volcano if you are struggling to hike up. The views were amazing to see the pacaya volcano itself as well as three other volcanoes. If you come here and expect to see lava, you might be disappointed. We were here in Nov 2021 and everything had been cool off. Nonetheless, we had a great time and great views to the volcanoes.
Written 7 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayLineGuatemala
Dear Emmeli Thank you for having booked with us and for takes the time to share your experience with us.
Written 29 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kristy W
3 contributions
A wonderful day, nicely coordinated to flow from a more active, sight seeing morning (Pacaya hike) to the hot springs circuit. The guides are excellent and accommodating.

Note - the hot spring experience is at a location which is also a major hotel and is extremely organized, all you really need is your swimmers. We personally would have brought a change of clothes for after the hot springs so we didn't have to put back on our hiking gear.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayLineGuatemala
Dear Kristy Thank you for having booked with us and for takes the time to share your comments about your experience during the exucursion!!
Written 7 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Natalie
19 contributions
Couples
This was a great excursion from Antigua. The hike is reasonably challenging. Although there are horses available for those who wish, it’s very rewarding to do the climb yourself if you are able. The lava fields are incredible and it’s fun to toast marshmallows in the steam coming off them. The included lunch was very good, and after the hike, the hot springs in the very well appointed spa resort was great relaxation. Highly recommend this trip as a day out, and found it good value for money.
Written 13 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Natalie Thank you for having booked with us and for takes the time to share your experience with us!!
Written 24 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Divya P
Toronto, Canada73 contributions
Friends
This tour was absolutely incredible! We had a bit of a late pick up but the driver was very apologetic. They came in from Guatemala City so I understand there was traffic. The hike wasn't easy but it's not unbearable if you regularly exercise. There are horses for 200Q if you feel like you can't do it. Our guide was very good and not going too fast, he let us take pictures. The itinerary was great, the spa was great, the food was great, everything was top notch. It was extremely well priced considering what we received!
Written 30 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Divya Thank you for having book and for take the time to share your comments with us!! It is great to hear you really enjoyed your experience in the Pacaya Volcano with our team, hope you come back to Guatemala!!
Written 2 November 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christiana Nikola
Graz, Austria16 contributions
Friends
The tour included a pick up from the hotel in the Moro! After several attempts to reach out to the tour operator the day before the tour I was told my hotel was not within the pick up zone and I had to walk 5 mins to another hotel to be picked up! Please keep in mind I was told pick up is at 6.30 am so it is still dark in Guatemala City! The city is not safe so the tour operator put me in danger by having me walk to a different hotel!!! Once I was there on time the driver was 30 mins late with no other explanation than to much traffic! There is traffic every morning so the tour company should plan for it! Once picked up, the driver drove passed by the hotel I was actually staying at! So the excuse that the hotel is far away is a complete joke! I wouldn’t boom with them again although the rest of the tour was fine! The company policy needs to be changed since this is clearly not the tour guides fault! You can’t expect to have your customers walk the other dark in a city not considered as safe and than actually pass their hotel anyway!!
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GrayLineGuatemala
Dear Christiana Thank you for having booked with us, our pick up points are in hotels and in the central hotels, we were not able to pick up you in your apartment since the address you sent to us was out of the hotels zone. The traffic is something out of our control, but the customer representative always was in contact with you.
Written 3 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bobbyjohl
12 contributions
Couples
My wife and I were picked up from our hotel and driven to Pacaya(a little over an hour drive). The hike itself is quite strenuous but definitely worth it. When we were there, the volcano was active and we were able to hike all the way up to the lava field which was an amazing experience.

Bring plenty of water and comfortable shoes. We both wore hiking boots and were happy we did because there were some jagged rocks when we got to the lava field.

The hot springs were a great way to recover after the hike and included a juice. Lunch was ok, nothing memorable, but appreciated after exerting so much effort.

Our guide was Juan Pablo and he was great on the drive and all the way up the volcano. He and the other staff made sure no one was left behind.
Written 3 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dear Bobby Thank you for having booked with us and for take the time to share your experience lived with us!! We are going to share with our staff your good comments about them, we are more than grateful to have been part of your experience in Guatemala!!
Written 22 April 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 27
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Gray Line Guatemala
Flightgirl7777
Flightgirl7777
00
Horrible
Avoid this company! I fell very ill the day of the tour. I was aware of the cancellation policy. I had a high fever
LoriLewis
LoriLewis
00
Trips to Lake Atitlán, Chichicastenango Market and Antigua
I went on two excellent excursions with Gray Line Tours Guatemala. The first was to Lake Atitlan and Chichicastenan
trixiemcclure
trixiemcclure
00
Yaxhá and Cesar are amazing
Tikal was great. There are many buildings and complexes to explore. But Yaxhà felt like more of an adventure. It wa
Th3ButterflyandLion
Th3ButterflyandLion
00
Excellent, well organised.
We did the chischitenga tour with Lake atitlan - they collect you at the hotel and then take you to different marke
erinysasi
erinysasi
00
Gray Line Transportation
We got Gray Line through Expedia for transport to and from the airport. Our 2 way travel was $100 for 3 people and
flavia r
flavia r
00
Boring
The tour guide took us to someone’s house to see how they make costumes, gave as a tour inside a hotel to see its d
Th3ButterflyandLion
Th3ButterflyandLion
00
Awesome
We were collected from our hotel, taken to airport - took the flight to Flores and collected from airport - AT Tika
Sightseer30721826805
Sightseer30721826805
00
Ascott21a
Excellent! Juan Pablo is the best tour guide ever! We went on a half day tour of Antigua, Guatemala and Juan Pablo
Nassaugal1
Nassaugal1
00
Excellent value and tour
The tour was amazing. It was more than I anticipated for the price. Transportation plus breakfast but also a great
1fleaux
1fleaux
00
Absolutely Amazing
I can't even begin to put into words how amazing this unexpected trip was. I was booking another Tour for Saturday
Blgermain
Blgermain
00
Antigua excursion from the Puerto Quetzal port
Adolfo was our guide. He was very knowledgeable about his country and shared very interesting info all through out
FarAway64268737507
FarAway64268737507
00
Timely arrival and thoughtful driver!
We arrived in Guatemala City and were delighted to see a friendly driver holding our names! It was a relief after a
JunctionJo
JunctionJo
00
History and hot springs
Very nice tour; well organized. Interesting tour of colonial Antigua. Enjoyed lunch and the hot springs. The dri
MartineGumusluk
MartineGumusluk
00
Excellent
Antigua is so nice that there is no word to describe the magic of this city. The couch of "La Merced" is gorgeous.
ziayee
ziayee
00
Amazing place, good servicw
Long hours to get to Copan and back, but am pleased with the service and good driver to travel with. Tour guide in
Frequently Asked Questions about Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua will start at 7:30 AM. Discover and book Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua on Tripadvisor

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua price starts from €63.60. Discover and book Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua on Tripadvisor

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua on Tripadvisor

Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua is hosted by Gray Line Guatemala. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Gray Line Guatemala on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Pacaya Volcano Tour and Hot Springs from Antigua on Tripadvisor