We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bridge on River Kwai from Bangkok

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$60.90
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
This tour takes you to the world famous bridge on the River Kwai, built during World War II by the prisoners of war. The bridge is located near the town of Kanchanaburi, 130 kms west of Bangkok. This Tour is available as a Private Tour or Joint Tour.
Highlights
  • Escape the city and discover Bangkok's history
  • Travel between attractions in air-conditioned comfort
  • All entrance fees and lunch are included
  • A great choice for history buffs 
What to Expect
Your tour begins with hotel pickup in Bangkok, where you’ll board an air-conditioned coach destined for the Bridge on River Kwai. During the journey, your guide provides an overview of how thousands of prisoners of war were forced to work on a railroad track that connected Myanmar with Thailand. Stop first at the Bridge on River Kwai before continuing to a section of the Thai-Burma Death Railway and two cemeteries that pay tribute to the 16,000 prisoners that died during the construction of the railway. After a Thai lunch at a local restaurant, your tour concludes with hotel drop-off.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
Centrally located Bangkok hotels
Duration
10h
Return Details
Centrally located Bangkok hotels
Inclusions
  • Lunch at a local restaurant
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • All taxes and service fees
  • Available as Private or Joint tour
  • Entry/Admission - Bridge Over the River Kwai
  • Entry/Admission - Kanchanaburi War Cemetery
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Other fees and expenses, such as meals (breakfast, and/or dinner) drinks, tips, and shopping, unless otherwise stated
  • Transfers from and to airport, sea/river ports, train stations that are located inside or outside of the city center and others are NOT included in the service and supplements will applied.
  • Transfers from and to hotels and resorts that are located outside of the city center are NOT included in the service and supplements will applied.
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • According to regulations set by the Port Authority of Thailand, we are unable to pick-up and drop off customers from main cruise ports such as the Klong Toey Cruise Terminal in Bangkok. Special permits are required to enter the cruise terminal premises
Cancellation Policy
All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
13
4
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
13
4
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train trip rush hour great trip day trip the bus boat ride asian baht itinerary stops
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This tour is very good! The guide is knowledgeable and kept us all on track so we didn't run over time. The short train ride is beautiful, and the lunch was excellent.

Thank loralees62
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only spent three quarters of an hour at the bridge. The rest of the day spent on train and waterfall. As the tour was for the bridge I was very disappointed. There was nearly one and a half hours at some waterfall when we could...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Holiday2710
Niels S, Manager at Asian Trails (Thailand), responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Holiday We thank you for your honest opinion on our River Kwai tour. We do apologize that the tour did not meet your expectations by spending more time at the bridge. With ample other natural and historical elements in and around Kanchanaburi and the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found this trip to be really fascinating and very moving. However, whilst our guide was excellent it is a very long day - over 12 hours from our pick up to return into Bangkok. Might have been better to avoid a Friday as the...More

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank candc2015
Niels S, Manager at Asian Trails (Thailand), responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Candc2 Many thanks for sharing your experience with us after your Kanchanaburi explorations. Your positive view on this long yet interesting and moving day has been a welcoming start of our day. Indeed, the drive from and to Kanchanaburi can take a part of...More

Reviewed 22 August 2019

really enjoyed the trip as we had the car to ourselves which made it very relaxing. guide was very good and new a lot about what we were seeing.More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Flyer681855
Niels S, Manager at Asian Trails (Thailand), responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Dear Flyer68 Many thanks for reviewing our version of this full day Kanchanaburi and the Bridge over the River Kwai with lots of positivity! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with the world. The stories and landmarks of the construction...More

Reviewed 22 July 2019

Asian tours organised our collections to join the main large bus ( lrg busses not allowed in city center). It is a long trip so be prepared with water. There is a stop about half way for toilet and a coffee. Have small notes on...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank John G
Niels S, Manager at Asian Trails (Thailand), responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2019

Dear John It has been a sincere pleasure reading your constructive, informative and positive review of your River Kwai excursion. All points are very valuable as each client notices certain matters differently, giving us a more complete overview of how our Bridge over the River...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Joanne J
27 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gepke | Reviewed this property |
I booked thru Viator also and pickup was on time.
0
Votes
linda R
12 January 2019|
Answer
Response from Etherlycc | Reviewed this property |
Don't know, ask your tour guide/operator.
0
Votes
Dhishaandhriti
6 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Mindthegap0 | Reviewed this property |
You need to call them. They dont pick from every hotel even they mention that while selling the package. If you are out of way even little bit they will make you join them some where in different hotel.
0
Votes
Key Details
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall: +44 12 2492 8241