We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hervey Bay
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming

Save
Share
Likely To Sell Out
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$71.34
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Great Sandy Straits Marina Urangan Hervey Bay
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Whalesong Cruises
    Stop: 5 hours - Admission included
    The remote West Coast of K'gari (Fraser Island) is our ultimate destination....a place where few people have been. We also see Round Island, Big Woody Island and the stunning Pelican Bank on our way out to K'gari.
    Read more
You'll return to the starting point
Highlights
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Great Sandy Straits Marina Urangan Hervey Bay, 17 Buccaneer Dr, Urangan QLD 4655, Australia

    Traveler pickup is offered
    We pick up from local resorts, hotels, motels and caravan parks. We don't pick up from Air BnBs (unless they are close to the Esplanade) due to time constraints and vast spread of locations. Pick up (and drop off) times depend on where you're staying in the Bay. In general, pick up times are approx. Point Vernon/Pialba: 8:05am - 8:15am, Scarness: 8:15am - 8:20am, Torquay: 8:20am - 8:30am, Urangan: 8:30am - 8:40am. Please call to verify your pick up address, at least 24 hours before the cruise.
    Departure Time
    9:00 AM
    Duration
    5h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • All activities
    • Lunch - Buffet lunch
    • Coffee and/or Tea
    • Local guide
    • Hotel pickup and drop-off
    • Entry/Admission - Whalesong Cruises
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks, unless specified
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
    • Dietary requirements catered for, please advise at time of booking if required
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    51Reviews3Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 44
    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    We are generally not tour takers but we loved loved loved this 5 hour tour. Take nothing... do nothing... except swim, kayak and play at a gorgeous deserted pristine beach. Oh wait! Theres more!Free smoko and lunch. Bar service available all day. The staff do everything possible
    Read more
    Response from RebeccaG2207, Owner at Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Responded 6 days ago
    Wow, what a great review! Thanks so much for taking the time to write it. More importantly, thanks for choosing Whalesong....we're so glad to hear you had a fabulous time with us! You're right, everyone just needs to go on and do it! :-) .
    Read more
    We had a great time, captain was very friendly and crew was friendly too. The activies they offer are a great way to spend your time on fraser island. Its a must do in Hervey bay
    Read more
    Response from RebeccaG2207, Owner at Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Responded 1 week ago
    'Must do in Hervey Bay'....WOW, thanks! That certainly speaks volumes to us! Our captain and crew do such a great job of looking after everyone and making sure a good time is had by all! Thanks for taking the time to give us this great feedback!
    Read more
    Highly recommended. Great trip to the beach of Paradise island (as we found out from friendly captain). Wonderful beach, lot of activities, very friendly staff, plenty of delicious food. Everybody on board had smile on face.
    Read more
    Response from Whalesong C, Owner at Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Responded 6 days ago
    Thanks for the high recommendation! Our skipper and crew ensure you have a great time on board and that you also learn something interesting about 'paradise', i.e. K'gari (Fraser Island). There's certainly enough activities to keep everyone occupied...we love the diversity this experience offers! Glad you think so too! Hope to see you on board again sometime!
    Read more
    Fraser Island beach is beautiful - great stretches of smooth sand - but you need to appreciate that there are no reefs around the island so although the water is lovely and clear, there is absolutely nothing to see in it. Dingos were no problem but knowing they are there stopped
    Read more
    Response from Whalesong C, Owner at Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Responded 1 week ago
    Thanks for taking the time to review our Fraser Island Beach + BBQ cruise. Such a shame you didn't appear to enjoy the cruise as most other people do. We certainly do our best to cater to everyone on the boat and their needs for the day. Sounds like it didn't happen for you though. I'd like to address your concerns: - Dingoes: the skipper always gives his 'be dingo safe' talk before disembarking the main vessel. As he says, there many be some present, but you're generally fine if you're with someone else. We emphasise that children shouldn't be left to run around on their own. Apart from that, it is highly unlikely you will even encounter a dingo, let alone be bit by one. It's a shame it deterred you from venturing off the beach to discover the beauty of the interior. Many of our guests have looked around there, without any incident. Fishing tackle: As you would know, fishing tackle and sand don't mix well. Our equipment is perfect for just throwing in a line and having a go to catch a bit of whiting. No, it's not the best quality (we save that equipment for our optional fishing add-on which is not done on the beach) but serves it's purpose as a fun thing to do. As we provide ALL equipment for the trip (and it's not a specialised fishing trip), we cannot provide the highest quality equipment, for the price of the cruise. Also, we invite our guests to bring on their own equipment, if they wish. Some of our more serious fisherpeople do take us up on the offer and we're happy for them to have their own equipment on board. Snorkelling: you're correct, being a sandy bottom, there's not much to see besides bait fish, whiting and the odd ray or parrot fish. If it's a dedicated snorkelling trip you're after, then you'd find more variety of gear for your use. Kayaking: yes, there's no place to aim for. This whole experience is just about trying different things and having a go on the water. It's not a guided tour and our guests are able to do as much as they want or as little as they want (some take the kayaks out for a bit of fishing too...just a few whiting caught though). Shade: definitely no natural shade on the island. We erect 3-4 shades of 3x3 metres, depending on the number of people on the boat. This ensures that everyone gets to have some shade whilst they're not doing activities. In general, we provide enough decent equipment for the numbers we have on the boat. As we take up to 40 guests sometimes, we don't have 40 of everything on board...it would take us too long to transport it all to the island. This just means sharing with others and most people tend to understand that. Everyone gets to have a go at everything they want to and the crew is always there to assist. One of our crew has been fishing all his life, so would've helped you sort out the fishing equipment if he'd have known. Glad to see you enjoyed your lunch back on the boat.
    Read more
    Right from the start the staff at Whalesong Cruises were so friendly & helpful. The day was fantastic with a few activities in the beach to keep us / the kids entertained or just laze on the beach or just swim around. The boat was comfortable & very clean & lunch was great -
    Read more
    Response from Whalesong C, General Manager at Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Responded 4 weeks ago
    Thanks for the high recommendation! The entire team at Whalesong love what they do...showing off our backyard to everyone who visits. I'm happy to see there was enough to keep the entire family entertained. The trip is designed to enjoy on your own terms and it sounds like you do! Excellent! Hope to see you all again sometime!
    Read more
    Previous
    About the operator
    By: Whalesong Cruises
    Elaine B
    Moranbah, Australia
    110
    Best Day Ever!!
    We are generally not tour takers but we loved loved loved this 5 hour tour. Take nothing... do nothing... except
    Read more
    Melissa M
    10
    Fraser Island
    We had a great time, captain was very friendly and crew was friendly too. The activies they offer are a great way
    Read more
    Krydy
    20
    Fraser Island West Coast BBQ Lunch Cruise from Hervey Bay Including Kayaking and Swimming
    Highly recommended. Great trip to the beach of Paradise island (as we found out from friendly captain). Wonderful
    Read more
    Wendy H
    Brisbane, Australia
    1213
    Beautiful cruise around the bay
    A beautiful sunset cruise around the bay with Whalesong Cruises. The captain and crew were wonderful, friendly
    Read more
    J C
    London, United Kingdom
    226
    Would suit some
    Fraser Island beach is beautiful - great stretches of smooth sand - but you need to appreciate that there are no
    Read more
    Naomie H
    Brisbane, Australia
    10
    Awesome day out on Fraser Island
    Right from the start the staff at Whalesong Cruises were so friendly & helpful. The day was fantastic with a few
    Read more
    Georgina Woodler
    20
    Best family day out!
    What a fantastic experience aboard Whalesong for their Beach & BBQ Cruise - with their professional, informative
    Read more
    Alan O
    Brisbane, Australia
    33
    A beautiful way to end a day in Paradise
    We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunset Cruise with Whalesong. The food was excellent. I am a very fussy eater but
    Read more
    PaulaE
    20
    memorable cruise with great people on 25th November 2019
    What a super time we had do not book with anyone else!! Small group as out of season two man crew were fantastic.
    Read more
    Beth D
    167
    Fantastic Trip! Lovely food & Great Value
    We booked onto this trip last minute & it was a great as it wasn’t a massive amount of people / good price & quite
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 5h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Hotel Pickup
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on Tripadvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Hervey Bay Sunset Cruise
    26 Reviews
    from US$53.50*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Turtle Discovery & Cultural Eco Tour
    50 Reviews
    from US$76.91*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Fraser Island Sailing Adventure...
    31 Reviews
    from US$58.31*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Hervey Bay Champagne Sunset Sail
    53 Reviews
    from US$46.37*