We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Queenstown
Post
Inbox
Search

Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$510.98
Date
2 travellers
Options
Overview
Discover Milford Sound and the Dart River on a full-day tour by small plane, sightseeing boat, and jet boat that explores two wildly different national parks. Soar over the mountains and lakes of Fiordland National Park, watch for rare penguins as you cruise the entire length of Milford Sound, then hold on tight for a high-speed jet boat ride up the Dart River in Mount Aspiring National Park.
Highlights
  • More adventure in more ways: Visit two national parks by plane and boats
  • Spectacular aerial mountain views and photo ops over the Southern Alps
  • Chance to spot native seals, dolphins, and penguins from the water
  • Convenient pickup and drop-off at Queenstown hotels
What to Expect
Get picked up at your Queenstown hotel, head to a nearby hangar, and board a small plane for the spectacular 40-minute flight to Milford Sound. The route crosses the Southern Alps and remote parts of Fiordland National Park, with great views across the rugged peaks. Touch down in Milford Sound and embark on a 2-hour cruise that goes out to the mouth of the sound. Watch for the fur seals, dusky dolphins, and rare penguins that are native to the chilly Tasman Sea coast. When you return to shore, take off again above Milford Sound for the flight to Glenorchy, at the edge of Mount Aspiring National Park. Here you skim along the surface of the Dart River, taking the twists and turns at high speed on a 1-hour jet boat tour, then learn about the region’s rich Maori heritage during a 30-minute hike. The tour ends with drop-off at your Queenstown hotel.
Show More
Important Information
Departure Point
39 Lucas Pl, Frankton, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand

Traveler pickup is offered
Hotel pick-up commences approx. 30-60 min prior.
Duration
10h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • All taxes, fees and handling charges
  • Entry/Admission - Milford Sound
  • Entry/Admission - Dart River
Exclusions
  • Lunch - Picnic Lunch can be purchased for $20 NZD per person
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • You will be notified an hour prior to departure time if the weather is appropriate to proceed. Your complimentary transfer from your Queenstown accommodation will pick you up 5 minutes later.
  • There is a minimum height restriction for the Jet Boat portion of the trip which is 1 metre tall
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
35Reviews7Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I’ve been to Milford Sound before and I wanted to try something a little different this time. My husband was a little hesitant because of the price, but he was so glad we ended up going for it! It was worth every penny! The weather was perfect, our flight was absolutely
Read more
Response from TotallyTourism, General Manager at Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown
Responded 21 Jul 2019
Many thanks for your review. The Milford Sound + Jetboat Combo is a fantastic way to experience two of the most scenic locations in one day. I have passed on your comments to Karl and thanks again for your feedback!
Read more
We booked our trip a week in advance based on weather forecasts. The morning started off a bit rough as we waited for a hotel pickup that didn’t show. When I called I was told that the Milford Sound boat cruise had been cancelled and was given the option to cancel for a full
Read more
Response from TotallyTourism, General Manager at Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown
Responded 21 Jul 2019
Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the two trips to Milford Sound and the Dart River/Glenorchy Area. Due to weather issues this is an option that is offered at times and we agree that still experiencing the flights to Milford Sound without the cruise and the Dart River Wilderness Jetboat is a great experience. Thanks again!
Read more
I was prepared for a cancellation due to weather. I was not prepared for a cancellation when there were spectacular clear blue, cloudless skies. I had another day available to reschedule but received no contact from the company. Nor did they refund my money. Fortunately I had
Read more
Response from TotallyTourism, General Manager at Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown
Responded 12 Feb 2019
Many thanks for your review and I am sorry that you have not experienced the service that we pride ourselves on. We always endeavour to contact all passengers to rebook to other options and I apologize that this does not seem to have happened in your case. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this with you in further detail so we can investigate and ensure that this is not repeated moving forward. If you would like to email me my address is manager@milfordflights.co.nz – Thanks again!
Read more
The highlight of the cruise was the flight - everyone had a window seat and it was really fun. Because there was heavy rain the day before, the cruise part of the trip was cancelled and we were all told we would be refunded $80pp for that. After dealing with Viator (who we
Read more
Response from TotallyTourism, General Manager at Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown
Responded 12 Feb 2019
Many thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your flight with us and my apologies for the confusion regarding the price for your refund. We always try and make sure that all changes are communicated to our passengers as Milford Sound can be a very changeable environment so sometimes we have to offer alternative options as the weather dictates. Thanks for your review and we appreciate your feedback.
Read more
We booked the flight, cruise and jet boat tour but on the day our tour was cancelled due to weather conditions. We were offered another day and on this day the weather was such that they offered us the option of doing a scenic flight only but couldn't do the cruise. Although
Read more
Response from TotallyTourism, General Manager at Milford Sound Tour with Flight, Cruise and Jet Boat Adventure from Queenstown
Responded 21 Jul 2019
Many thanks for your review. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the Milford Sound flight only without the cruise as unfortunately this is an option offered to many passengers when the weather is not suitable for enough time to fly back after the boat cruise. Seeing Milford Sound by Air is truly an amazing experience. We generally fly around 70% of the time all year round to Milford Sound. Thanks again!
Read more
Previous
About the operator
By: Milford Sound Scenic Flights
368 reviews
Certificate of Excellence
turboblondiene
81
Amazing view
The view on the fly over the mountains was just incredible. Big thanks for our pilot Aaron and the amazing guest
Read more
Stainlesteve
Lymington, United Kingdom
437146
Very good
The company are a pleasure to deal with, professional and responsive. Good aircraft and well organised.
Read more
Bilambilgjay
Bilambil
64
Sometimes you can get extraordinarily lucky
We were staying in Wanaka and due to the distance to Milford Sound we decided to do a fly, cruise from Queenstown
Read more
Rebecca R
20
Amazing scenery
What a fantastic day! The scenery is breathtaking. Well worth paying extra to fly to Milford sounds.
Read more
joycej_0985
Sydney, Australia
30
Best Day Ever
This tour has been the best tour I have ever done. I was sceptical at first given the price point (as I thought it
Read more
Ross M
Auckland Central, New Zealand
26
Breath Taking!
I requested the day of our trip to be brought forward due to weather which was absolutely no problem to reschedule
Read more
Jessica C
31
What a treat!
For scheduling and weather reasons, the only way we could get to Milford Sound in June was by flying. It was a
Read more
Barry D
Melbourne, Australia
10919
One of the best ways to see and experience the Sound
Though a bit more expensive than the all day coach and cruise option this was in our opinion the best way to get
Read more
Kathy G
143
This is truly a trip of a lifetime...and worth every penny!
I cannot adequately express our complete satisfaction in going on this scenic flight and cruise to and through the
Read more
Tracey L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
4916
Fantastic
What a trip. Highly recommend this one. Coach trip over the mountain range with very friendly and knowledgeable
Read more
Tracey L
Nottingham, United Kingdom
4916
Excellent trip
Stunning views as you travel across the mountain range in a coach. Very friendly and knowledgeable coach driver.
Read more
David_Meikle
242
Stunning
One of the best things we’ve ever done. It costs a few bucks but better than 8 hours on the bus. Professional
Read more
billrapidcity
71
Wow!
We chose to fly back to Queenstown from Milford Sound. Seeing from above what we just saw from the water was
Read more
brownsheri
10
Heli cruise fly
Absolutely AMAZING. Helicopter is my new preferred method of travel. Our pilot, Ben, was incredible. Thank you so
Read more
lse72016
Florida
17741
Scenic and time efficient, worth the cost..
Our tour had a bus to Milford Sound, then a scenic cruise. We took the option to fly back to Queenstown. The
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Hotel Pickup
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241