Tours and Tickets

Green Island Day Trip from Cairns

By Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour
Discover the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park on a catamaran cruise to Green Island, a coral cay surrounded by spectacular reefs and marine life. Enjoy activities like snorkeling, relaxing in the sun, and a glass-bottom boat tour. Visit Green Island Resort to enjoy a spot on the sandy beach, with the option to add a trip beneath the surface in a semi-submersible and a buffet lunch.
from
€66.78
per adult
from
€66.78
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-99, max of 150 per group
Duration:8h
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:Mobile
English

Highlights
  • See spectacular marine life and vibrant corals of the Great Barrier Reef
  • Spend half a day exploring and relaxing on Green Island
  • Enjoy access to Green Island Resort facilities and showers
  • Choose from two departure times suit your schedule

  • Cruise transfers to and from Green Island by modern air-conditioned catamaran
  • Morning tea / coffee (served on 9am full day only)
  • Buffet lunch (if option selected)
  • Choice of a glass-bottom boat tour or use of snorkeling gear for the day (if option selected)
  • Semi-submersible tour (if option is selected)
  • Environmental Management Charge (Reef Tax)
  • Entry/Admission - Great Barrier Reef
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Optional activities. (Can be booked locally, subject to availability. Payable locally. Introductory Scuba Dive AU$152, Seawalker Helmut Dive AU$165, Semi-submersible Coral Viewing Tour AU$20)
  • Food and drinks (available to purchase)
  • Flotation vests and lycra suits are available for hire

Travel to the Reef Fleet Terminal on your own to meet your boat. Board a catamaran bound for Green Island and the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. Upon arrival at Green Island, you have the day to explore and relax, choosing from a wide variety of activities offered by Green Island Resort. When booking, select a snorkeling trip to the coral reef, a glass-bottom boat tour, or a trip in a semi-submersible that gets you below the surface without getting wet. The resort’s facilities are available for your use, and you can rent beach loungers, canoes, sailboards, shade umbrellas, and more. If you’ve selected the lunch option when booking, return to the catamaran for a fresh buffet, or just purchase a meal on the island. After your island time, the tour concludes with the return trip to Cairns.

Departure details
  • 1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia Please proceed directly to the vessel located at Marlin Wharf, 1 Spence St, Cairns, check-in will be directly on the vessel. Check in is at 8.30am, the boat will depart at 9am sharp.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2438FDBIGCAT_CNS

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessibility is available but limited. Passengers must have some mobility and/or the presence of a carer who can assist them.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

A note from Green Island Day Trip from Cairns
  • Prior to travelling with us, you will be required to provide, your full name, a current phone number and residential address (address of accommodation if travelling) in order to complete your activity. We are following all guidelines set out by the Queensland Government.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Which attractions will I visit with Green Island Day Trip from Cairns?
During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Green Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor
How much is Green Island Day Trip from Cairns?
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns price starts from €69.35. Discover and book Green Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor
What is the Green Island Day Trip from Cairns cancellation policy?
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Green Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Green Island Day Trip from Cairns?
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns is hosted by Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruises - Day Tour on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Green Island Day Trip from Cairns on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 2438FDBIGCAT_CNS

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    1 Spence St
    1 Spence St, Cairns City QLD 4870, Australia
    Please proceed directly to the vessel located at Marlin Wharf, 1 Spence St, Cairns, check-in will be directly on the vessel. Check in is at 8.30am, the boat will depart at 9am sharp.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Green Island Cruise - Day Tour (Big Cat Green Island Reef Cruise)
    Stop: 6 hours
    See details
  • 2
    Green Island
    Stop: 6 hours
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

balasubra
balasubra
00
Enjoyable glass-bottom boat ride
The ride was good going, but the return was very rough, and the ferry was rocking violently. Green island was great
Fdan1959
Fdan1959
00
Wonderful
Visited Cairns with daughter and granddaughter. Enjoyed the cruise and then day tremendously. Crew were very helpfu
L C
L C
00
Get ready to snorkel!
As the island is not that large it is easy to walk around and there are a number of things to do on it. (a) has a
wadeandnat
wadeandnat
00
Nice crew - equipment was terrible
The seas were very rough on the day we sent our and our very sea sick daughter was well looked after by the crew. G
Jennifer1969C
Jennifer1969C
00
Snuba/Snuba Doo with Benny an absolute delight!
Benny taking us for a professional Snuba-Doo experience was unforgettable. It included feeding fish. Dozens of ree
chattam2013
chattam2013
00
Brilliant Day Trip
We are visiting from Canberra and joined friends who live here to go to Green Island for the day. The weather was
S6748WUwendyp
S6748WUwendyp
00
The most amazing experience
I have never snorkeled or scuba dived in my life. We went Snuba Dooing with Benny and he made the entire experienc
melscho14
melscho14
00
Awesome Dive Experience with Stephanie
As a group of 9, I must say we all thoroughly enjoyed the Big Cat cruise to Green Island. The crew on board we very
kimdenisehoile
kimdenisehoile
00
Amazing experience
We had an amazing experience . Michelle took us over the reef snorkeling, she was knowledgeable , patient and made
yardenak2017
yardenak2017
00
Amazing day out!
A beautiful day on a stunning island which was made even better with amazing staff! Thank you marine biologists Cal
Y1367CMlisad
Y1367CMlisad
00
Super snuba!
Benny was a fantastic instructor and kids had a blast experiencing snuba for the first time. Benny really made sure
jezzaraaz
jezzaraaz
00
Best Trip Ever!
This is the highlight of our Cairns trip! The tour is amazing! Green Island is such a wonderful place! The water is
Marniemartil
Marniemartil
00
Exciting and so worthwhile.
We did the Snuba diving with Benny. It was an incredible experience. The kids love every minute. My daughter and
B1231CJianp
B1231CJianp
00
Amazing
I had the most amazing experience today doing the Snuba & snuba doo with my family on the great barrier reef at gr
Teahforwood
Teahforwood
00
SNUBA DIVING
Went to green island today and got to experience snuba diving with Benny and his crew, best way to see all the reef
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
188 reviews
Excellent
97
Very good
40
Average
28
Poor
15
Terrible
8

Ines
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions
Sep 2020 • Family
I wasn’t expecting great things from this tour being aware that Green Island is heavily trafficked by tourists but thought it might be a decent little trip with my young kids. Trip over was smooth, takes about an hour. Equipment hire is quick and efficient. Snorkeling was ok but the water isn’t overly clear being so close to the mainland, however did see some lovey parrot fish and some others I couldn’t identify.
We paid to do the semi-submersible tour and the kids were very excited to go under the water. I found this to be very disappointing. We were on the 12.45pm tour and it lasted maybe 10 minutes. Whoever was driving sped through the whole thing, if someone saw a turtle or something interesting on one side by the time you turned that direction the sub had already sped past. Felt like a complete waste of money. Maybe the glass bottom boat would be better given it is offered as a free option.
There is currently a lot of closed areas on the island and work being done. Hopefully once all that has been attended to there might be more of interest on the island itself. We were offered to see the croc feeding for about $30 per person but felt that was a little steep given there are heaps of other places you can see that.
All in all I would say it’s an ok day out but you’d probably be better off finding other tours to do, most activities are done better elsewhere and there are much prettier places to visit.
Written 25 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sorry to read of your disappointment Capnes. If you'd like to forward me your booking details to c.koscielny@experienceco.com I'd be more than happy to follow up with the ops team as to why the Semi sub would have been cut short as this is generally a 20 - 25 min experience. As you'll see from other reviews, this activity is usually one of the highlights for families. As for the underwater visibility, i can only assume it may have been a windier day which I can appreciate can affect this. Thanks for taking the time to write in. Regards, Chris
Written 5 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gerard M
2 contributions
Mar 2021
I and my wife have booked a cruse to Fitzroy Island through "Fitzroy Island Adventures". The Island we visited was good, unfortunately, after some problem appeared while a boarding process (which actually wasn't our fault), we have experienced the bout crew staff: not polite! :( arrogant! :( not helpful! :( at all - simply unprofessional! On the following day we have booked another cruise to Green Island this time and on that time (thank you God!) through a different cruise provider: "Big Cat Reef Cruises". The service was great! :) Professionalism from the very beginning to the very end - Thank you :) We have also realized later that the company we were very happy with ("Big Cat Reef Cruises") also offers cruises to Fitzroy Island. We regret now that we did make our booking (to Fitzroy Island) through "Fitzroy Island Adventures":( I would definitely recommend (to anybody in future) to book a cruise (either to Fitzroy or Green Island) through "Big Cat" as "Big Cat Reef Cruises " is professional and offers a professional service.
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review - we really appreciate it. We're sorry to hear that your experience on Fitzroy Island Adventures was not up to standard. Both Fitzroy Island Adventures and Big Cat Green Island Cruises are both operated by Experience Co so we will be sure to look into your comments internally regarding your experience with Fitzroy Island Adventures. If there is anything you'd like to add, please do not hesitate to contact us at res@fitzroyislandadventures.com. We are so happy to hear that your experience with Big Cat was great, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Written 26 April 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anand n
Gold Coast, Australia22 contributions
Crowded queue and dated interior did not give a great first impression and the complimentary morning tea was just that, only tea or coffee, no snacks or anything of that sort. Slowly as you get used to the place and the crew, it wasn't so bad after all. They kept checking on us, helped when kids and wife felt sea sick. Benny, the dive instructor, made the day whole heaps better as we did the Snuba dive, my 7 year old is not the most confident kid and he gets very anxious at trying new things, he's only learning swimming now but Benny made him feel so calm and confident by giving him enough time and space that my son wanted to try and get in the water and managed to enjoy the action. Definitely recommended for non swimmers to get a piece of the reef action. Oh and there's the glass bottom boat, kids love it. Green Island itself is not too interesting as it smells quite heavily of sea air and bird droppings. But people enjoy the snorkel around the beach area. Definitely a whole day experience if you don't want to be rushed. Buffet lunch is OK.
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Margaret H
Albion Park, Australia16 contributions
Apr 2021
Our trip out to Green Island by Reef Adventures was amazing.
On getting to the island we went to have breakfast at 9.30 but the only place opened was the restaurant but after we sat down we were told they were closed and we could get drinks , alcohol ,at 10.30 across from restaurant when they opened they only served alcohol,drinks, not what you want for breakfast.
We had to wait till 11 to buy dried up snitzel rolls,dryedbup fish plate.
No where decent to eat .
The grounds looked so run down ,not looked after,mud over paths,leaves over paths.
The weather was not good ,occasionally raining but no cover to sit under .
The island was so disappointing. This place needs to have a good look at what service could be given ,day visitors are customers too.
Don’t just cater to those staying at the hotel.Extremely disappointmented.
Written 5 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey there, Thanks for leaving your feedback, however we don't believe you have travelled with Big Cat Green Island as you have mentioned travelling Reef Adventures/Great Adventures. We are also a transfer service to Green island and we do not operate the resort on the island. If you did not travel with us, it would be much appreciated if you could please remove this one-star review :) Thank you!
Written 16 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

serena m
Kilmington, UK19 contributions
Jul 2022
Oh dear, the boat trip was fine, but the island is smelly, dirty and needing an overhaul. Boats full of guest arrive every hour and head to the centre of the small island where there are shops, and cheap restaurants. there's a pool which is only for hotel guests, the paths are covered in bird pooh, litter in the bushes - it really was disappointing as a resort. the beach was lovely as was the sea, it wasn't cheap to get there so we expected more.
Written 15 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Serena, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate it. However, you have left us a poor review in regards to the island itself and the resort areas, of which we have no control. We hope that your experience onboard Big Cat during your transfers to and from Green Island was enjoyable. We offer a range of optional activities, as well as a delicious buffet lunch option, onboard the Big Cat during your day on Green Island, including a snorkel safari, glass bottom boat tour, and semi submarine tour. If you enjoyed your time on the boat, we would love for you to update you rating to which you think Big Cat deserves. Thank you in advance :)
Written 18 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

HERMAN D
3 contributions
May 2022
Green Island is way overrated. The only place to see fish, without getting out in a boat, is in the boat channel at the jetty. Everywhere else is covered with seagrass. That may be an important marine environment, but for a day tripper it's a waste. And I recommend you take your own food. The restaurant is closed during the day, and the kiosk has only very uninspiring things.
Written 15 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your visit to Green Island wasn't quite what you'd expected, however we'd like to mention that we do not actually operate the resort or any of its facilities. We offer a range of optional activities, as well as a delicious buffet lunch option, onboard the Big Cat during your day on Green Island; Including a snorkel safari, glass bottom boat tour, and semi submarine tour. We hope that your experience onboard Big Cat during your transfers to and from Green Island was enjoyable If you enjoyed your time on the boat, we would love for you to update you rating to which you think Big Cat deserves :)
Written 22 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SarahandPete2011
Brisbane, Australia164 contributions
We did the half day tour to green island and loved it. As we were with our 3 year old we skipped the snorkelling and instead did the glass bottom boat and then paid extra for the semi submersible boat, both were a huge hit. Also had a small amount of time for a quick beach/water play on the island. The trip out and back was very smooth on the smaller reef rocket and the staff were very friendly. Highly recommend.
Written 20 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey Sarah and Pete, Thanks for the 5 star review and positive feedback, we really do appreciate it. We are so glad to hear your family had a wonderful time on Green Island and with our crew. Hopefully we will see you again soon on your next adventure :)
Written 24 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Helen K
Melbourne68 contributions
The island is lovely and set up was good with so much potential but looked tired and staff looked like they didn’t want to be there. You can’t swim on the beach due to coral and even snorkeling wasn’t that great. The glass bottom boat was good and the guide was very informative. The young man at the food kiosk was very friendly as were the staff at the dive desk. There is so much potential for this island. Lying on the beach, the guy selling drinks and icecream and renting beach umbrellas and lounges (for $40) played music just for himself. If he had trendy music playing nice and loud, the vibe would be so much better - it would feel like you were in the Mediterranean. I’m not sure how happy those staying there are about daily visitors to the island either.
Written 28 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hey there, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review - we really appreciate it. However, you have left us a one-star review and your comments are mostly focused on the island itself and the resort areas, of which we have no control. We hope that your experience onboard Big Cat during your transfers to and from Green Island were as enjoyable as the glass bottom boat tour you enjoyed with us. If you feel as though we deserve a higher rating than one-star based on this, we'd really appreciate you updating your review :) Have a wonderful day!
Written 30 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sophia
2 contributions
Jan 2021 • Family
We enjoyed the island however felt some of the vessel staff were not very professional and seemed unsure of what snorkeling/swimming was available/recommended - particularly when told that we were not the most confident of swimmers. The ad said snorkeling equipment was supplied so we assumed that included a wet suit and/or life jacket as per other snorkeling companies we’d been with - but it didn’t. I was charged an additional $25 for the suits and another $20 for the vests on top. It was also apparent that if they had your size then you were lucky so no planning had been done there. I asked if there were supervisors to watch/count the snorkellers and was told it was a big island and we can’t watch you. I didn’t necessarily need it but was feeling a little unsure as it’d been a little while since I’d last been. They did nothing to reassure us. I noticed other people were also left feeling uncertain too.
Written 19 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi Sophia, Sorry to read of your disappointment and thanks for your feedback . I'll be passing your comments onto the marine operations manager as our crew our trained to inform our guests of the recommended area for snorkelling which is patrolled by life guards. Additionally we show a snorkel demonstration video on the way to island showing guests how to use the equipment and where the patrolled areas are. With regards to our advertisement of snorkel equipment our brochures and websites do advise that suits and flotation vests are an optional extra and are available in a number of sizes. We appreciate your 3 star review Sophia and apologies if you felt our communication was not up to standard on this occasion. Regards, Chris
Written 27 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aju M
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
Dec 2020
We did a Green Island day trip with Big Cat. As non-swimmers there was not much activity to do on the island other than just enjoying the view. Reef viewing on semi submersible boat was good.Lunch provided on the boat was not worth for the price, carry your own lunch if possible.

What made my trip memorable is the SNUBA dive with Benny. He is a well experienced and patient trainer. He is a great communicator and took care of me during the entire process. I was overjoyed with the underwater experience and with the fact that i spent almost 15-20 mins there. I would recommend anyone to try SNUBA even if you are non swimmer.
Written 11 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 179
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Green Island Day Trip from Cairns | Australia