We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik

Save
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$82.90
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Depart your central Reykjavik hotel by air-conditioned minivan and travel to the volcanic Blue Mountains, home to a large lava field that covers a network of extraordinary lava tunnels and caves.

    On route, listen as your guide describes how these lava tubes were formed when lava solidified above ground while magna flowed and moved beneath it, eventually forming twisted corridors and chambers.

    On arrival at the plateau, put on your provided specialist caving equipment, including a helmet with a flashlight. Then, after a safety briefing, follow your guide into the Leiðarendi, one of the region’s best-known caves.

    Leiðarendi translates as ‘end-of-the-journey’ in Icelandic, and the tunnel more than befits its name — a long, pitch-dark tube that opens into wide and high hallways.

    With your way illuminated by your helmet torch, head through the tunnel behind your guide. Be prepared to crawl over uneven terrain along some sections as you progress.

    While you explore, soak in the silent and eerie beauty around you — nature at its rawest. See the beginnings of new stalactites and stalagmites, and ogle the multicolored lava formations and streams evident in the walls and ceiling as your guide explains how the different types of lava indicate different eruptions through the ages.

    After discovering the cave, emerge back into the daylight and change out of your caving gear. Then, relax on your minivan journey back to Reykjavik, where your trip ends at your hotel.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Pick up service is offered from selected Reykjavík pick up points
    Duration
    3h
    Return Details
    Returns to the original departure point.
    Inclusions
    • Small group guarantee
    • Reykjavik pick up & return
    • Certified guide
    • All necessary caving gear
    • Free wi-fi on board
    • Entry/Admission - Raufarholshellir
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 2 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
    • Minimum age: 6 years old
    • Remember to bring: Warm outdoor clothing, waterproof jacket and pants, head-wear, gloves and hiking shoes.
    • Caving equipment will be provided, however you are advised to wear good hiking shoes and gloves.
    • This is a small group tour ensuring a more personalized experience.
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    57Reviews3Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 16
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    +1
    I booked two tours with Arctic Adventures -- their Underworld Lava Cave tour from Reykjavík and Gullfoss Canyon Rafting tour from Reykjavík. Both tours were easily booked directly through Arctic Adventures' own website while the tour pick-up was a breeze -- in my case at stop
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
    Responded 23 Sep 2019
    Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear that you had a great time. Come back and see us soon!
    Read more
    +2
    One of the most adventurous experience you can ever have! The cave has so much to see, all those unique landform features and requires a brave heart and fitness.
    Read more
    Response from Erika A, Marketing assistant at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
    Responded 6 Oct 2019
    Hello ladyteex, Thanks for sharing your review with us and the others. We are looking forward to your next visit! Best regards, Erika
    Read more
    Our trip (with its excellent guide) was ruined by appalling customer service. Due to blizzard conditions Arctic Adventure's bus - with 9 of us on board - almost plunged off the road down a 40 ft slope (one in one incline). The bus would definitely have turned over. We had to
    Read more
    Response from Helena T, Manager at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
    Responded 2 Jan 2019
    Dear andrewcutler2004, Thank you for taking the time to express your experience here with us. We're saddened to read that your experience with us was compromised due to the unfavourable road conditions and missing hat. First of all, we fully understand that the icy conditions on the roads may have seemed scary on that day but at no point was anyone at risk of being harmed. With a professional driver on board, your safety was kept at all times, as you have explained above. When the bus started sliding on the ice, despite being equipped with winter tires, the driver kept it on the road but it did turn on the road. The driver instructed everyone to go off the bus just in case it would slide some more. The icy conditions then prevented the bus continuing further resulting in a replacement bus being sent to your location. We are happy to hear that the guide managed to keep you safe during and after the incident, as per your description, as that is of course our main focus in such conditions. As per our email conversation, the general rule is that our customers are responsible to keep track of their personal belonging. While we certainly try our very best to reunite them, our options are quite limited. We have, unfortunately, up until now not found the woolly hat that you say was left on the bus and for that we sincerely apologize. As you had to continue on a new bus the guide took all items left on the previous bus to be delivered to the owners. There seems to have been some miscommunication as the hat, that the guide confirmed we had, turned out to be a cap and did not match the description you have given on your daughter's hat. If found, we will of course, as promised, reach out to you and get the hat sent to you. We fully understand that the terrible accident that happened on the south coast bridge, to tourists travelling on their own with a rental car, can well affect the experience other travellers in Iceland might have. However it is important to keep in mind that the situation on your tour was very different and your safety was never at risk. We are again very sorry to hear how your experience has been affected during your stay. Again, we will be in touch if the woolly hat turns up, but unfortunately at the time this is being written, the team has not been able to locate the described hat. Best regards, Customer Support Team Arctic Adventures
    Read more
    Hofstead (sorry if that's incorrectly spelled) was an amazing guide for our trip through the cave. Mind you, we did have a personal experience as my wife and I were the only ones on this excursion ... That, in itself, says a lot, as the company could have cancelled on us due to
    Read more
    Response from Laurasabonyte, Customer Service at Small Group Lava Caving Experience From Reykjavik
    Responded 2 Dec 2018
    Dear TerryStratford, We care about each of our customers, so our guide took the time to share with you the best that Iceland has to offer. Your safety is our priority, therefore, our guides make sure the trip goes smoothly. We are happy to receive your recommendations and hope you will join us again in the future! Best regards, Laura Arctic Adventures
    Read more
    We had a private tour since our group of 12 was large enough for us to be exclusive. Chris and Emily picked us up promptly at our hotel and drove us out to the lava fields. They were very knowledgeable about the region and the cave itself. They provided a lot of insight into
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 3h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Hotel Pickup
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +44 12 2492 8241