Rovaniemi Tours
Snowmobile and Ice Fishing Experience
4.5

Snowmobile and Ice Fishing Experience

By Nordic Unique Travels
Recommended by 92% of travellers
92% of reviewers gave this product a bubble rating of 4 or higher.
About

Ages 2-99, max of 32 per group
Duration: 4h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Guide in English (other languages available on request: Dutch, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Chinese)
  • Pick-up and drop off to your accommodation within 15km (driving distance) from Rovaniemi city center
  • Winter clothes: overalls, boots, gloves and helmet
  • Lappish BBQ: Lappish bread, salmon, marshmallows and hot drinks (vegetarian/vegan alternative upon request)
  • Snowmobile ride: approximately 1 hour
  • Ice fishing equipment


Start:Multiple pickup locations offered.
  • Maakuntakatu 29, 96200 Rovaniemi, Finland
    The meeting place will be at the our office, Maakuntakatu 29 (next to subway), Rovaniemi 96200. Please meet us at the reception 10 minutes prior to the scheduled meeting time.
Pickup details
  • Pick-up and drop off to your hotel or accommodation within 15 km (driving distance) from Rovaniemi city center. Please be ready and waiting in your hotel lobby 10 minutes prior to your scheduled pickup time.
Hotel pickup offered
During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included hotels.
    Airport pickup offered
    During checkout you will be able to select from the list of included airports.
    • Rovaniemi Airport, Rovaniemi Finland
    End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

      • Not wheelchair accessible
      • Near public transportation
      If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 65490P59

      • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
      • Departure time may vary depending on the seasons and availability, please double-check with the local partner
      • At least 2 people are required for this tour to take place on weekdays and Saturdays
      • At least 4 people are required for this tour to take place on Sundays and public holidays
      • Children under 12 year old must be accompanied by adults paying the full price
      • Please be ready and wait in your hotel lobby 10 minutes prior to your scheduled pickup time
      • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
      • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
      • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
      • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
      • Most travellers can participate
      • Please be advised the price is per person - twin driving: means that the person has to share the snowmobile
      • Remember to take your driving license (or a copy of it) with you on the day of the trip
      • If the child is 140 cm or taller, he/she can be seated on the snowmobile paying the adult's price
      • If the child is lower than 140 cm, he/she can be seated on the sleigh
      • Children under 12 year old must be accompanied by adults paying the full price
      • Infant under 2 is complimentary
      • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
      • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 32 travellers

      • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

      If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 65490P59

      Currently unavailable
      This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
      Explore other options
      Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

      Similar experiences

      Itinerary
      • 1
        Drive a snowmobile through the Lappish forest. Try the art of Ice Fishing on the the frozen lakes after your snowmobile adventure and savor a Lappish style barbecue.
      About the operator
      Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
      • Nordic Unique Travels
        1,806
        Rovaniemi, Finland
        Joined in September 2017
      • simospa70
        0 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Air conditioning was broken in the van
        The hike was good, but the transfer in the van with the air conditioning broken was terrible. Two hours sitting in the back without air made was very uncomfortable and ruined my experience.
        Written 28 June 2024
      • GGoutam
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Mesmerising Trip
        The Midnight Sun sauna boat trip in Rovaniemi was an unforgettable experience, beautifully blending relaxation and natural beauty. Mathias and Kido, our guides, were exceptional. Their knowledge, enthusiasm, and warm hospitality enhanced the trip immensely. They ensured we were comfortable, safe and informed, making the entire journey smooth and enjoyable. The sight of the midnight Sun was surreal and magical. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Rovaniemi!
        Written 23 May 2024
      • 705baileyh
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Beautiful & Thrilling trip through an arctic wonderland
        Riding the snowmobile through the forest was exhilarating and beautiful. It was amazing getting to see so much of the beautiful land and snow covered trees and really fun. We went on a two seater as a couple and had a great time - they give you opportunity to switch drivers half way through if you want to so you both get to experience it. They provided delicious snacks and a hot drink after. I recommend taking really thick insulated gloves as my hands were frozen! I would 100% do this again - what a highlight!
        Written 25 April 2024
      • kerry_kennedy12
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Winter wonderland
        A really great company to deal with. Our tour guide was so helpful gave us lots of information on surrounding areas. Pick up & drop off option was very convenient. We drove through the forest into a setting sun in -29 degrees it was an incredible experience We were only 1s on tour that particular evening Everyone in our group ( 7, aged 7 -43 ) of us really enjoyed it On drop off back to city we were given some lovely hot berry juice & cookies I highly recommend this company & will definitely use them again next year
        Written 24 April 2024
      • X1770CEpeterb
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Superb Reindeer tour - lovely to see animals and humans in harmony!
        We did a Reindeer tour with Pasquale and his friends on 22-Feb-24. Was fantastic, and I totally recommend it. It was friendly and unhurried, and a really magical and memorable experience in the beautiful countryside. the first thing we noticed on the tour was how well the animals were treated, and the wonderful harmony between the humans and the Reindeer - with each respecting and evidently liking the other. Pasquale gave us a detailed explanation of how the Reindeer live, and the symbiotic relationship between humans and Reindeer, which has thrived for centuries, with each benefitting from the other. Then we had a ride in a Reindeer sleigh, with an obviously happy and friendly Reindeer pulling us along, (the Reindeer chose the pace, and we trotted along very nicely - no controls from the driver - the Reindeer just trot along as they fancy). These are wild reindeer - these aren't domesticated animals - and all Summer, they live completely free and wild, and only in the winter season do they interact with humans; so these are properly wild animals, and yet they are relaxed and comfortable in the presence of humans - that is really really nice to see - and probably that is the most memorable part of the tour. Then after the rides, we all sat in a lovely cosy hut around a roaring natural-wood fire, and drank delicious hot berry-juice, with traditional spicey biscuits - which were really lovely, and we learned more about the history and practices of the Reindeer - and how the humans interact with them and protect them from predators - no hurry, and all super-interesting. After all the questions were done, there was plenty of time to finish off our drinks and snack, and no rush, and we all trotted off and were driven back to the starting point at the end of the tour. Super memorable, and super lovely. Before the tour, I was a little anxious in case the Reindeer were not nicely treated, but I needn't have worried - it was super-lovely to see how well the humans and animals interacted - if only we could find a way for other species of animals to be so well-treated as these ones. Obviously I am not so naive as to realise that many of the Reindeer will eventually be slaughtered for meat - and I'm a vegetarian, so don't like the idea of that AT ALL - however if you are going to have animals which will eventually become "meat", then this is the way that they should be treated - kindly, nicely, and with respect, and other types of animal-husbandry could really learn lessons from the Finns and how they interact with these beautiful, gentle, and graceful Reindeer. So if you are thinking of a tour - BOOK WITH THESE GUYS, because it is really lovely. Pasquale is a great ambassador for this company, and the more people select tours with these guys, the more it will help people like Pasquale to work with these graceful and lovely animals !
        Written 20 April 2024
      • J1577PKlouisef
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Fantastic experience and we saw the Northern Lights
        We did the Small-Group Aurora Snowshoeing in Forests and had an amazing time. GG was a fantastic guide, it was wonderful to walk through the forest at night in snow shoes, we felt like we had the forest to ourselves. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights and GG guided us to a fantastic spot to see them. It was a truly magical experience that we'll never forget, thank you very much
        Written 9 April 2024
      • B1563AUmichaelo
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great experience and excellent guides
        We originally booked for a full day snowmobiling but the Nordic Unique Travels contacted us the day before and let us know they couldn't provide this but could provide the 2-3 option, which we accepted. In April there was always a chance that there wouldn't be enough snow for the tour anyway, so we were aware that there could be an issue. As it turned out, the 3 hours was perfect. Snowmobiling is more difficult than it looks but it was brilliant. We drove across a frozen lake and through the wooded areas around it and enjoyed every minute. The guides were constantly vigilant and stopped every now and then to make sure none of us ended up too far away. They also gave a full outline on safety and guidelines before we left. The only name I remember was Paula (who picked us up) and she was friendly and enthusiastic, as were all the guides. Highly recommended.
        Written 7 April 2024
      • atakjia
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great Photos
        Even though the northern light's activity was quite low and you could only see it on the horizon, the photos were stunning! I would definitely recommend it, your phone wont be able to take pictures as good as this photographer can, she is amazing! The only thing I'd wish for is that the team could keep an eye out for all the people coming with us. They walked pretty fast back to the bus and it was hard to keep up without a flashlight through the high snow
        Written 5 April 2024
      • jeannick69
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        ABSOLUTE AANRADER !
        Thanks to our driver and guide, Pasquale, we had a wonderful trip with the husky's. Especially the very cold temperature that day was remarkable (-31°C)
        Written 5 April 2024
      • 218lindsayc
        0 contributions
        4.0 of 5 bubbles
        A good beginners exercise for first time snowmobilers.
        As first timers at snowmobiling it took us a little while to gain our confidence. We appreciated our guide Sergio putting us in the slower group at the first break. From there on we thoroughly enjoyed it.
        Written 29 March 2024
      • Daydream30127264833
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Wonderful experience 💫✨
        Got really Lucky to see the northern lights and a sky literally full of stars. Thank you to the Nordic Unique Travels team for such a memorable experience. You guys have been a great guide from the pickup till drop. 🙏🏻
        Written 18 March 2024
      • naushada643
        0 contributions
        1.0 of 5 bubbles
        Disappointing "Northern Lights Hunt with BBQ" Experience
        If you're considering the "Northern Lights Hunt with BBQ" tour, let me save you the trouble: don't bother. This so-called adventure was a complete letdown from start to finish. First off, they clearly have no clue about when and where to find the Northern Lights Or probably they knew it but didn’t care and dumped us in a sad little tent next to a highway. Surprise, surprise, no lights to be seen. They call it hunt but should learn the definition of it. We understand it’s nature but being in business we expect them to know this upfront and put a little effort to make it worth(I know many tours postpone the trip due to bath weather or in some cases refund). Total waste of time and frustration. And don't even get me started on the BBQ. One sad sausage and a tiny cup of soup does not a meal make. We were left starving and grumpy by the end of it. Save your money and sanity, folks. This tour is nothing but a scam targeting clueless tourists. Do yourself a favor and find something better to spend your money on.
        Written 16 March 2024
      • Traveler14220701254
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Great tours with Nordic Unique Travels
        We have booked three activities with this provider. Everything went smoothly, from the transportation to the execution of the activity. We did the snowmobile tour at night with Nicole. She is very customer-oriented and friendly. She was able to tell us a lot about Lapland and at the BBC we had a funny and very pleasant conversation with her. We booked the husky tour in the afternoon. We had wonderful weather. The experience with the snow dogs was very nice. The tour was rounded off with delicious blueberry tea, cookies and a story about the huskies. Once again, Nicolle accompanied us and Owen war our friendly driver. The Norther Lights tour was amazing. We had a delicious BBC beforehand. The photographer Pepe was very patient with our large group and took great photos. Thanks also to Nicky, Franco, Antoinette and Risa for accompanying us. We had a great time! thx
        Written 15 March 2024
      • 295cristinab
        0 contributions
        5.0 of 5 bubbles
        Excellent tour! Highly recommended
        I called this tour operator last minute to book an aurora photography tour. They replied inmediatley, made it so easy to book. Provided clear and exact details about the pick up time, tour highlights, times etc. The tour guide, Franco picked me up o’clock. He was very nice, kind and friendly since the very first beginning. We headed to the agency’s main office to get some warm clothes (included in the tour price), the lady at the counter was also nice. Headed to hunt the auroras and even though there were some difficult passengers aboard our group, our tour guides were always nice and professional. I would definitely recommend them and I am looking forward to experience another tour with the company.
        Written 14 March 2024
      • 425carmelc
        0 contributions
        2.0 of 5 bubbles
        Husky farm visit and husky sleigh experience
        While the sleigh ride and our guide were really nice, however it wasn’t as advertised! We expected a 2-3h experience which is what was printed in the brochure but in total we were only there for approx one hour, for the price we paid as a family we felt it wasn’t value for money.
        Written 13 March 2024
      See all 1,806 reviews
      These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

      Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

      Popular mentions

      We perform checks on reviews.
      Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
      Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
      When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
      Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
      Learn more about our review moderation.
      4.5
      4.5 of 5 bubbles52 reviews
      Excellent
      44
      Very good
      4
      Average
      3
      Poor
      0
      Terrible
      1

      Matt G
      4 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jan 2024 • Couples
      The tour was average. The guide was very nice and they picked us up from our accommodation as planned. But there were 48 customers on this tour, which was much more than I expected. They run 6 groups of 8 tourists simultaneously. You don’t really get 1 guide per group, as soon as you get to the locations it feels like 6 teachers on a field trip of 48 kids. They give you all the equipment for ice fishing but don’t tell you how to use it. You just figure it out for yourself and if you can’t drill your hole, they just do it for you rather than showing you how. No one in our 48 group caught anything, it is also extremely cold. But the lunch is very nice salmon.
      Before we started snowmobiling they told us there would be a slow, medium and fast group and that after 10 mins they would let us switch groups (in case you wanted to start medium speed then felt comfortable to go fast). However this never happened. We stopped after 10 mins and no one came up to us and asked what speed we wanted to go, I’m still not sure what group they ended up putting us in. Also the terrain was so bumpy. There was almost no flat ground, it was constant up and down bumps. The person riding on the back of the snowmobile was just being thrown around like sitting on the backseats of a bus hooning over speed bumps. That was very uncomfortable. Everything else was pretty much as expected. But there was a lot of waiting around on this tour.
      I’m glad I did it, it’s a unique experience but if I could go back, I’d look around for another company to do this with.
      Written 4 January 2024
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear Matt, Thank you for your detailed feedback from the beginning until the end of the tour for us to know better which parts to be kept or improved. We appreciate your kind understanding that there are relatively bigger groups during high season in Lapland, and we will organize our cooperation better to make sure guiding service can be more average for all the customers. Regarding to snowmobile tours, our guides take safety as the first priority, and sorry for not checking with you again about the possibilities changing to another group possibly due to certain concerns. Since we can't find the review name if our system for snowmobile & ice fishing, could you please maybe kindl reach us at info@nordictravels.eu, so we can check which groups you were in and get the situations on your tour better? Looking forward to hearing from you, and thank you again for your feedback which makes us improved to provide better services to potential customers. Hopefully we can still welcome you again in case you travel back in Rovaniemi. Warm regards, Nordic Unique Travels
      Written 5 January 2024
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Sarah P
      1 contribution
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2023 • Couples
      The tour was very unorganised didn’t make for an enjoyable day at all. There was far too many people (+50) and we were the only English speaking people on a large bus while the other English speakers were put in smaller vans. Communication from the tour guides was poor and the tour ending up running hours overtime with A LOT of standing and waiting around. We also weren’t able to go faster than about 20-30 km/h on the snowmobiles because of the guides. All in all a very poor experience for a very expensive tour.
      Written 21 December 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Dear Sarah, Thank you for your review, and we apologize for your unpleasant experience. December is the busiest month in the whole year in Lapland, so the groups are relatively bigger, but we always try our best to take care of all the customers. However, we have checked Snowmobile and Ice Fishing Experience during the period when you left the review, we have'n't have any departure with more than 50 people. Could you please kindly reach us and specify us more details about your experience, so we will be able to discuss further and see how we might be able to improve? Snowmobile-related tours are extremely important with instructions, so it might take a bit more time since safety is our first priority, and we have to make sure all customers are ready to go and aware of all details. The speed also depends on the levels of the groups, and our guides will check and instruct accordingly to make sure all drivers can drive safely enough without speeding up too much (comparing to their levels or familiarity to snowmobiles). Your time and review are appreciated, and hopefully next time we can provide better service when you visit Lapland again. Warm regards, Nordic Unique Travels
      Written 23 December 2023
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

      Ivar
      Naaldwijk, The Netherlands11 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2023 • Friends
      We booked a snowscooter and ice fishing tour at nordic Unique travel for 7 persons. Our guide was Myriam.

      We were picked up 10 minutes before scheduled time, which is always great. First we went ice fishing. Although the chances of catching something are (very) limited, we really enjoyed the experience. Our guide Myriam was helpful and very friendly!

      The snow scooter tour was at another location and was a lot of fun, even though the scooters were limited at 40 kilometers per hour. After the tour, Myriam stopped by the supermarket for us, which was great.

      Overall we had a great experience and Myriam was a great guide. We would recommend it.
      Written 3 March 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Abdullah A
      Riyadh, Saudi Arabia3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We have booked Nordic Unique Travels Snowmobile and Ice fishing trip. It was nice and we enjoyed it. What made the trip grand was our tour guide “Anna” she was really very helpful and easy going . She explained a lot about the Finnish culture and Lapland. I would really recommend to book tours with her if you want to make your trip so amazing!
      Written 15 January 2020
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Marcelo M
      New York City, NY3 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Mar 2023 • Friends
      The tour was fantastic, we had an excellent tour guide who was excellent at explaining instructions, keeping an eye on everyone's movements to ensure their safety, and being very caring. He knew the area like the back of his hand, so we knew we were in good hands. My family loved the snowmobiles and would love to do it again, and for the younger kids, there was a mini snowmobile with sausages and berry juice.
      Written 24 December 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Clare B
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Nicole spoke perfect English and was very informative. She made the day fun, interesting and exciting. Sadly no fish caught, but the bbq was a welcome comfort. The snow mobile ride was amazing……wish it was longer as I loved it. Thank you Nicole.
      Written 31 December 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      N.Willems
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Jan 2022 • Solo
      Had a great time with Nordic unique travels. Did the ice fishing and snowmobile excursions. Driving a snowmobile with this scenery was a great experience. As a tourist from the Netherlands, it was weird to watch out for traffic that consists out of other snowmobiles and dog sleds. Unfortunatly we didn't catch any fish. However, the tour guide (Sergio) made us some fresh salmon. He really took the time. Not only for us and the excursions, but also teaching us about the enviroment and history of Rovaniemie and Finland.

      P.S: Remove the limit on the snowmobiles :)
      Written 2 January 2022
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      anthony g
      1 contribution
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 2023 • Couples
      The views and experience were amazing. Although we didn’t catch any fish the salmon they prepared after was amazing. Victor did a great job heading our group. The snowmobile ride was fun as well. Don’t follow the group that drives slow.
      Written 30 December 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      KirkJegs
      Sunny rotherham22 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Feb 2023
      A brilliant day of activity with our guide Nicole. Pick up from one accommodation and drop off at our next accommodation was included which was a big help! We had chance to try ice fishing in a beautiful setting. Then a relaxed lunch around the BBQ with chance to warm up! The snow mobile trip was exhilarating with chance to swap who was driving and take some photos!
      Written 11 February 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Kayan N
      Manchester, UK200 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Our guide Chris was very helpful and talkative, he told us a lot of history about Rovaniemi and always care about us during the tour!

      Riding Snowmobile in the forest was just fun and exciting! Chris even ask us if we want extra ride time , he was just so kind!

      Ice fishing in the middle of the lake was just too windy and cold, Chris set up a fire and prepared some salmon ,hot berry juice for us which are very tasty!

      The duration of the tour was about 3 hours long and it was just totally worth paying for this!

      Highly recommended!
      Written 9 January 2023
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

      Showing results 1-10 of 37

      Snowmobile and Ice Fishing Experience provided by Nordic Unique Travels

      All Rovaniemi HotelsRovaniemi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rovaniemi
      All things to do in Rovaniemi
      Day Trips in RovaniemiAmusement Parks in Rovaniemi
      RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire