Tours and Tickets

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona provided by Amigo Tours Barcelona

LIKELY TO SELL OUT

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona
4.5
Book in advance
from
€33.71
per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Regular temperature checks for staff
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
About
Religious landmarks are best explored in peace. However, the crowds that many attract make this impossible. Explore Montserrat monastery in tranquility on a hassle-free tour that includes a morning access pass to the abbey. Choose between just the transfer to the monastery, round-trip transfers and guided tour with tickets, or a package that includes transfers, a guided visit, and access to the museum.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English, Spanish
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English, Spanish
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Explore Montserrat monastery in peace with a morning access admission 
A tranquil atmosphere enhances your experience of the sacred structure 
Upgrade to include stress-free round-trip transport and a guided tour
Eliminate the hassle of public transport and car rental
What to expect
Depending on the option chosen at checkout, your experience begins with pickup from a designated meeting point in central Barcelona. Greet your guide and board an air-conditioned vehicle destined for Montserrat. If you chose the transfer-only option, purchase tickets at the abbey and take a self-guided tour. On arrival, sail past the line that often forms outside of the Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey and take a guided tour of the monastery. Visit La Moreneta (The Black Madonna), a 12th-century wooden carving, and admire the design of the sacristy and atrium. Plus, during a visit to the Museum of Montserrat (if option selected) admire 13th- to 18th-century paintings by the likes of Berruguete, Caravaggio, El Greco, and Morales. The tour concludes with drop-off back at your original departure point in Barcelona.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 228699MONTSERRATEXC
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Professional guide (if included in your option) • Licor tasting (if included in your option) • Access to the Museum (if included in your option) • Round transfer from Plaza Catalunya to the Monastery
Exclusions
Audiovisual • Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Entry/Admission - Montserrat Museum
Duration
5h
Departure details
Carrer de Provença, 273, 08008 Barcelona, Spain The bus will be parked in street Provenca number 273. The guide will be waiting with a sign of Amigo Tours. Take the subway to the stop "Diagonal" lines 3 and 5. The bus stop is close to the Casa Milá (La Pedrera)
Inclusions
Professional guide (if included in your option) • Licor tasting (if included in your option) • Access to the Museum (if included in your option) • Round transfer from Plaza Catalunya to the Monastery
Exclusions
Audiovisual • Food and drinks • Hotel pickup and drop-off • Entry/Admission - Montserrat Museum
Departure details
Carrer de Provença, 273, 08008 Barcelona, Spain The bus will be parked in street Provenca number 273. The guide will be waiting with a sign of Amigo Tours. Take the subway to the stop "Diagonal" lines 3 and 5. The bus stop is close to the Casa Milá (La Pedrera)
Duration
5h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Please note that the inclusions are different for each option. Please read carefully the inclusions of the option that you have selected.
Please note that depending the time of the year, the tour can arrive at the monastery after the sunrise. Also the starting time is different depending on the season.
Please note: All tours are run in both English and Spanish
Not wheelchair accessible
Stroller accessible
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Infant seats available
Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
The use of masks has been proven to be effective in preventing contagion of Covid 19, so the use of masks is mandatory throughout the tour. Amigo will not provide them so please make sure you bring your own one. The social distance should be maintained throughout the trip when possible. Families can stay together
The social distance should be maintained throughout the trip when possible. Families can stay together
We recommend our tourists to take responsibility for their luggage, backpacks, etc. as Amigo collaborators are forbidden to touch any of our clients objects
Our employees (guides and operators) are regularly trained in the sanitary measures stipulated by each country where we operate.
At the beginning of our tour, the guide will clearly communicate the health protection protocol in detail that we will follow during the tour
The check-in process will be done through the mobile phone to avoid contact with paper or other people.
Our units are disinfected before each service with products approved by WHO in the N list: Disinfectants for use against the SARS-CoV-2 virus
Our units have alcohol-gel dispensers at 70% at the disposal of our tourists.
Our tourists will have an assigned seat, personal and guaranteed during the whole tour.
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Carrer de Provença, 273
    Carrer de Provença, 273, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
    The bus will be parked in street Provenca number 273. The guide will be waiting with a sign of Amigo Tours. Take the subway to the stop "Diagonal" lines 3 and 5. The bus stop is close to the Casa Milá (La Pedrera)
    See address & details
  • Pass by
    Plaza de Cataluna
  • 1
    Abadia de Montserrat
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Montserrat Museum
    Stop: 30 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Carrer de Provença, 273
    Carrer de Provença, 273, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
    The bus will be parked in street Provenca number 273. The guide will be waiting with a sign of Amigo Tours. Take the subway to the stop "Diagonal" lines 3 and 5. The bus stop is close to the Casa Milá (La Pedrera)
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
80 reviews
Excellent
56
Very good
13
Average
4
Poor
2
Terrible
5

Alex M
Grimes, IA13 contributions
Just Amazing Views
Mar 2020
This location is about an hour outside of Barcelona via the bus, the tour guide was informative and gave great advice on what things we should see. But gave us plenty of time to see everything. The sights alone are worth the trip there!
Written 11 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear Amigo Alex Thank you very much for your great words. We love that you liked our tour from Barcelona and we hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you Best regards
Written 12 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lakshman A
18 contributions
One Day Outing from Barcelona
Feb 2020
This is an excellent place to visit, if you have an extra day in Barcelona. Lot of people think that they should take organize tours to this place. But you have very good transport system to reach the place. There is a day pass that can be used in MRT, Train, and Cable car. Most of the tour companies on the street can sell this pass. When you are on your own you can spend time leisurely and explore the place at your own phase.
Written 18 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear Amigo Thank you very much for your great words. We love that you liked our tour and we hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you Best regards
Written 18 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sridhar G
Visakhapatnam, India151 contributions
Wow! Montserrat
Dec 2019 • Solo
You can never call a trip to Barcelona complete, without a visit to De Montserrat monastery. It was an amazing & serene experience on my visit. Started by train with a return ticket from Placa Espaniya to Montesrrat, then switch to rail rack train to the monastery with a return ticket or one has an option of cable car also.
From the monastery, one can take the funicular train ride to reach further heights of Sant Joan, from where you can experience a truly exhilarating trek! And the best experience would be to walk down from the Sant Joan back to monastery.
Written 10 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear Amigo Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour Montserrat Monastery and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards
Written 14 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DameInTheCity
Lund, Sweden3 contributions
Great guide but little less time to explore
Jan 2020
The transfer to Montserrat by bus and guided tour were perfect. The guide gave recommendations and explained aspects of Montserrat in the lives of Catalunya. My recommendation would be to take the train to Montserrat and then the funicular to the top of the mountain ranges, on reaching the monastery area. Take a good 4-5 hours to explore the area, without the travel time. Also, taking a guided tour is recommended definitely. There is an art museum with pieces from Dali, Picasso, Monet, Renoir and so on. Definitely recommended visiting that.
Written 7 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear Amigo, Many thanks for your great comments. We love you liked our tour and we will keep working to improve and give the best experience in accurate time :) Kind regards AMIGO GROUP
Written 8 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

tbm720
2 contributions
Find another operator
Nov 2019
Booked this tour a month or so ago. Arrived at he designated meeting place, at the designated time. Joined by 8 other tourists. Waited until after the tour departure time -no bus, no tour guide showed up. Called the tour operator and were told we were all lying - that we were not there on time and the tour had left without us. Staff were rude, and very unhelpful No alternative trip offered (even though there was a later tour departing), and refund was refused. Very unhappy with the staff, the company, and certainly did not appreciate being told 9 individuals were all liars!
Written 3 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OnAir52535048020
Dear customer, many thanks for your comments. our guides always send us GPS location to prove that they were on time and place on the meeting location. Please, contact us through our website and we can send all the information to you and try to look for an alternative date with a special discount. Many thanks Kind regards AMIGO GROUP
Written 5 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RenTineea
Los Angeles, CA203 contributions
Very nice tour
My husband and I did this tour our second day in Barcelona. Gabby, our tour guide, was very pleasant and taught us a lot about Barcelona and the monastery. The bus ride was about 45-50 minutes but it was a smooth ride, no traffic. We were the first group there so it was very nice to get to walk around and explore a bit before all the other tours came. Gabby spoke a little too fast for us sometimes, but we were able to understand. She was also nice to provide lunch recommendations back in town. It’s not a long tour, so you won’t have time to do everything, but we did enough (audiovisual tour, museum, liquor sampling). There’s a cafe up there so it was very nice to grab a coffee and a croissant as well. We also had time to buy some honey at the one of the little farmers market stalls that was set up outside. If you want to spend a long period of time there and do everything (the hikes, funicular ride to the top, museum etc.) a longer tour would be better for you.
Written 28 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SueL
10 contributions
SueL
Oct 2019 • Couples
We travelled on the exciting finicular train up to Montserrat monastry. What an experience to trael up through the clouds and then be able to take pictures of the valley below bathed in smokey white cloud. Amazing basilica and terrific museum.
We went in to see and here the Escolania boys choir. They were absolutely heavenly and I would advise any visitor to go into the Basilica early by 12.30pm for the daily 1pm performance as it is very well attended. The whole experience of the visit was spiritually moving and left us with stunning photos and lasting memories.
Written 15 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear Clem Many thanks for your great words. We love you liked our tour in Barcelona and we look forward to receiving you soon again. Many thanks Kind regards
Written 19 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lynne262015
Cuenca, Ecuador13 contributions
Do not take this tour!!
Nov 2019
I arrived at the meeting site 20 minutes early for this tour. Soon 8 other travelers joined me. No tour guide showed up at all. We all called the local office of Amigo tours and were told different stories, none of which were true. I was told I was not at the location on time, which was a lie. We all waited more than an hour in case the guide was late. We all asked for refunds and none were granted. Staff at Amigo tours were very rude and not at all helpful. I am very disappointed and still hoping for a refund.
Written 9 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear customer we apologize for the bad experience you had on the day of the tour. To follow up your case, we dwould need your booking number and date of the tour. Many thanks Kind regards AMIGO GROUP
Written 11 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kirk J
Salt Lake City, UT3 contributions
So glad we chose this tour
Oct 2019
Meeting up was easy and the guide was friendly and easy-going. The bus ride was comfortable and we arrived early before many other people were there. We got right into the tour and were able to see everything we wanted without wasting any time waiting around. As we left we realized what a good deal we had because there were hoards of people and a crowded parking lot. If we had wanted to go for a hike (and it looked like there were some wonderful hiking trails to various landmarks and sites) it would have been better to book something that allowed time for that. The Monastery itself was amazing! The rail to the top of the Mt. was worth it too.
Written 5 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear customer may thanks for your kind words. It is really nice to be the first in Montserrat to enjoy the peace up there. We hope we can receive you soon again in our tours. Many thanks Regards AMIGO GROUP
Written 6 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

candriel
15 contributions
Montserrat with no crowds
I know it is hard to get up before 6:30 when you're travelling but if you want to see the famous "La Morenita" without queue then book this tour. I know the tour is only 6 hours with the travel time but in my experience it was enough to explore the place. I want to reach the cross but when we went there, the gate going up was close for some reason. Nevertheless, I took the other route with somes statues like the station of the cross, after that I bought some souvenirs, had a breakfast and tried their cookies instead of the licors. If you want to visit this place and see how solemn it is, this tour is definitely worth it.
Written 23 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmigotoursCalidad
Dear customer many thanks for your words. We love you liked this visit to Montserrat. We will keep working to give the best experienc to our customers. Many thanks Kind regards AMIGO GROUP
Written 29 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 73
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Amigo Tours Barcelona
719saundrag
719saundrag
00
Need better customer relation skills.
The guide offended my friend. He said something about putting your phone through the scanner, however the way he p
MichaelK10069
MichaelK10069
00
Place Great. Tour was Incomplete.
Tower closed but ticket price included it. Guide indicated refund of some sort but had no information.
sandracva
sandracva
00
Beautiful place! Excellent tour!
Clara was an excellent tour guide. She's very professional, knowledgeable and kind. I'd been to Parc Güel before, b
sestansandra13
sestansandra13
00
The best offer
Correct time of departure, comfortable ride, good air conditioning, friendly atmosphere, professional driver, very
Lazarus H
Lazarus H
00
Magnificent Montserrat Monastery
The early morning drive was beautiful and scenic up to Montserrat...avoided the traffic, avoided the crowds. The li
Texan C
Texan C
00
A superb architectural building
It was a beautiful scene, from across the road & close up. In this hot afternoon sun, the most amazing architectur
MarkWing
MarkWing
00
Great tour
This was a fantastic tour and exceeded our expectations. The guide was knowledge and clear in communication. We lea
ptamom1967
ptamom1967
00
A must see
This was a great tour. Although I thought it was English only, it turned out to be bi-lingual. No worries as it d
LMJ3443
LMJ3443
00
A most beautiful place
On entering the vast doorway I had to just stand for a moment and take in all that I could the cathedral is stunnin
Mobile316075
Mobile316075
00
SF has definately made progress since our last visit.
Beautiful. Stunning. Neck straining as you find yourself looking upwards constantly ! Fabulous detail and our guide
900sheenas
900sheenas
00
Very nice experience!
We had visited the Sagrada familia on a guided tour in March. We found our guide Clara to be extremely knowledgeabl
plloader
plloader
00
Great tour
Booked our tour prior to arriving in Barcelona. We were running a couple of minutes late due to traffic but Clara
bendelrushing
bendelrushing
00
Memorable Experience
This is an awesome place to visit and we enjoyed our tour guide Manu. She gave the tour in 2 languages and that was
John W
John W
00
Tour Sagrada Família
Informative and friendly guide around this spectacular place. Guide Clara kept it useful and chatty, not any lectur
rajivank2020
rajivank2020
00
Great experience and excellent tour guide
The tour guide, Clara, was very informative and nice. She kept it fun and factual. It was a good choice to have the
Frequently Asked Questions about Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona will start at 7:30 AM. Discover and book Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona on Tripadvisor


Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona price starts from €33.10. Discover and book Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona on Tripadvisor

Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Morning Access to Montserrat Monastery from Barcelona on Tripadvisor