Tours and Tickets
Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus)
4

Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus)

By Killarney Day Tour
About
from
€60.00
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 0-100, max of 48 per group
Duration: 5–6 hours
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Parking
  • Bus Transport
  • Boat Transport
  • Entry/Admission - Killarney National Park
What's not included
  • Lunch
  • Horse and Carriage transport payable on the day in cash


Start:
  • Old Weir Lodge, Muckross Rd, Scrahane, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
    The Old Weir Lodge is 1 Kilometer from the centre of Killarney town. We offer free parking, Tea/Coffee is also available for purchase here prior to departure.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Infants must sit on laps
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 127876P1

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 48 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus)?
    During this experience, places you will visit include:Discover and book Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) on Tripadvisor
    How much is Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus)?
    Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) price starts from €61.35. Discover and book Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) on Tripadvisor
    What is the Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) cancellation policy?
    Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus)?
    Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) is hosted by Killarney Day Tour. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Killarney Day Tour on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 127876P1

    Reserve your spot
    Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • You'll start at
      Old Weir Lodge
      Muckross Rd, Scrahane, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
      The Old Weir Lodge is 1 Kilometer from the centre of Killarney town. We offer free parking, Tea/Coffee is also available for purchase here prior to departure.
      See address & details
    • 1
      Gap of Dunloe
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
    • 2
      Lord Brandon's Cottage
      Stop: 60 minutes
      See details
    • 3
      Killarney National Park
      Stop: 90 minutes - Admission included
      See details
      Pass by
      Ross Castle
    • You'll return to the starting point
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Killarney Day Tour
      56
      Ireland
      Joined in May 2014
    • Chezloco
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Don't even think of passing on this adventure
      Could not have been more pleased to be guided by Donal O'Donoghue, undoubtedly a distant relative of our Donoho's. We had a typically rainy day across Lough Leanne but we are used to such conditions. As the only two passengers along with our rented bikes, we enjoyed spectacular scenery and fascinating interpretative information of place names and interesting facts about County Kerry's lake country. An absolute gentleman and boatman extraordinaire, we were delivered to Lord Brandon's Lodge completely blown away with a great Irish experience, and with good advice and peaked anticipation of biking through the Gap of Dunloe. Without a doubt we will be back for another experience, with or without rain.
      Written 9 August 2023
    • junebZ5427JT
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brilliant
      The best trip ever, take your bike on the boat and cycle back to Killarney through the stunning scenery of the gap of Dunloe.
      Written 20 May 2023
    • NicB70
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Highlight of Killarney
      Our B&B host booked four of us on a bus to Kate Kearney's Cottage so we could do a one-way hike through the Gap of Dunloe to Lord Brandon's Cottage. One there, we were picked up by Donal O’Donoghue for a boat ride back to Ross Castle (which was near our B&B.) Donal was absolutely FANTASTIC. Even though it was pouring rain, Donal made the afternoon fun. He showed us highlights of the lake area, changes due to fires, and gave us some of the history. Best of all, we were able to hear what it's like living in Killarney and about his father's and grandfather's experiences working on the lake. The whole trip was laid-back and enjoyable. Big recommendation for Killarney Day Tour if you're in Killarney. We'd do it all over again. Donal was a blast.
      Written 1 July 2022
    • peterjohnmurphy
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Trip to Innisfallen
      I cannot rate this tour company highly enough. We had a tour to Innisfallen from Killarney Golf course with close family and friends. Daniel took us out, he arrive well in advance of our booking and was the perfect host. Highly recommend Ducks and team for a tour of the lakes.
      Written 16 May 2022
    • ornabrophy
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Absolutely excellent!
      Did this boat trip last year and it was excellent. My family and I decided to do it again this year. Rory was our boat guide and he was absolutely brilliant and gave lots of history about the lakes/ surrounding areas. A spectacular way to see the national park.
      Written 12 August 2021
    • Robynburns23
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Return boat trip from Ross Castle to Lord Brandon’s Cottage
      Absolutely gorgeous trip! The most beautiful scenery, I am obsessed!! The tour guides were fantastic, very knowledgable and such good fun through the whole journey. Thank you! We will 100% be back to do it again.
      Written 26 July 2021
    • evia_emerald
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Absolutely excellent experience
      We did a morning boat trip to Innisfallen Island. We had such a fantastic time and couldn’t believe how beautiful Killarney lakes are. Our captain was Rory and he was very knowledgeable about the history of the Ross Castle, Innisfallen Island and other surroundings. Rory was absolutely great to answer all of our questions as we explored the surroundings. Our dog was also allowed on the boat with us which was perfect! The boat trip was one of our highlights of our Killarney trip and we recommend it to everyone! Thank you Rory!
      Written 19 July 2021
    • 372niamhg
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Boat Tour on Killarney Lakes
      This was a fantastic experience! We went on a boat tour on Lough Lane, one of the Killarney lakes, starting from Ross Castle and visited the beautiful Innisfallen island where the ruins of an old Irish Monastery remain. Our tour guide Rory was excellent and provided us with lots of information on the history of the area, the lakes, the castle, the wildlife, the monastery and Innisfallen island. It was definitely worthwhile for the tour on its own but the scenery was beautiful also. It was so peaceful and relaxing out on the lake. The island itself was also lovely! We went early in the morning so we had the island to ourselves and spotted several deer while walking the loop around the island. Rory also gave us lots of other recommendations and tips for our time in Kerry. Would definitely recommend!
      Written 16 July 2021
    • fion_nl895
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fantastic tour and guide
      Rory took myself and my partner out to Innisfallen for a tour of the lake and the monastic island! Rory was full of historical anecdotes and facts! He was also able to give us great tips for the rest of our stay, of where to go and things to do! I would highly recommend Killarney Day Tours!!
      Written 16 July 2021
    • 0858054307
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Killarney Day tours , Return boat trip to Lord Brandons cottage from Ross Castle
      My daughters and I booked the return boat trip from Ross Castle to Lord Brandons lodge , I have been to Killarney many times before but never took a boat trip on the lakes before. Absolutely amazing , the scenery was stunning , the reflections of the shoreline and mountains in the lake was stunning . Raymond was the skipper for our outward journey , he was so informative and wonderfully assisted by his spaniel Ted who the girls adored. After spending some time at Lord Brandons lodge , Donal O Donoghue was our skipper for the return leg , He let my daughters steer through the lakes and totally made their day . I can't recommend this highly enough , A day trip to remember ..
      Written 10 July 2021
    • TP4725
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unmissable
      Booked the Killarney Lakes boat tour in conjunction with bike hire to cycle through Gap of Dunloe and back to Killarney. It was an exceptional tour, highly enjoyable and the best part of our 3 days in Killarney. Upon booking we had been concerned that the two hour boat journey would be too long and we might find it boring but nothing could be further from the truth. Our tour guide, Donal, was outstanding. He had so much interesting information and history with lots of great stories about the nature, wildlife, life on and around the lakes. his love and passion for the area really shone through. It is definitely the best way to fully appreciate the outstanding natural beauty of this area. We even stopped off at an uninhabited island in the lake along the way. Unmissable if in Killarney but I would caution that it may be less enjoyable in poor weather conditions.
      Written 5 August 2020
    • Gitte S
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip
      Lovely boat ride from Ross Castle to Lord Brandon’s Cottage, beautiful scenery and a really great and informative boatsman/guide - all his stories and jokes made us forget the lousy weather. We had our rented bicycles along with us on the boat and cycled back to Killarney through the amazing Gap of Dunloe. A really great way to spend a day in Killarney!
      Written 10 July 2019
    • warners1
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      We loved our day!
      Absolutely fab day. Collected at Lodge Weir Hotel, taken to Ross Castle. There were 8 in our particular group. We boarded the boat (2 hour through three lakes). It was stunning - no rain! We were given the choice of walking 10 klms or riding with a horse and trap. We chose the walk and so glad we did as you get to see so much of the lovely scenery, passing sheep, farms etc. Although it is quite steep in a few sections, we managed fine (we are in our late 60’s). Great to finish off with a Guinness at Kate Kearney’s cottage.
      Written 1 June 2019
    • 22polly22
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Shambles of a company - only book the boat which is fantastic (not the coach from Old Weir!)
      We unfortunately chose to book with Killarney day tours. Firstly the boat trip at 2pm was superb with a great, witty guide and a lovely 1 and a half hour trip across the lakes which we adored so definitely do book just their boat ride. We paid 35 euros each for the coach which was misguided and such a huge regret from our trip to Killarney! We woke up and arrived at old weir lodge at 9.40, 20 minutes before a bus was supposed to collect us and take us straight to Kate Kearney’s cottage. Old weir lodge is a ten minute walk out of town so we set off before 9.30 to make sure we were there in plenty time. After 10am a coach arrived and we were frantically bundled on to this (although it was almost entirely full). This then set off in the wrong direction towards Killarney (where we had just come from!) instead of Kate Kearney’s. We then stopped in town and were all told to get off the bus where a man ran us a couple of minutes (we had to speed walk) to keep up and were dropped off at Deros tour office who are a different company. It was absolute chaos, no guidance and loads of people all who had booked on different tours. Somebody finally told us to wait in an alleyway where we waited for thirty minutes outside. We then finally were met, had to walk five minutes to a coach which finally took us to Kate Kearney’s (Via 1 lucky family’s hotel) and we arrived after 11am. It was incredibly stressful and took more than triple the time of getting any other form of transport. All in all this was an absolute rip off/ daylight robbery and unbelievably bad service - please get a taxi / horse / shuttle / use another tour company or somehow make your way to Kate Kearney’s!
      Written 21 April 2019
    • yvr2010-06
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Excellent Boat Tour!
      One of the best highlights of our trip to Ireland was biking to the Gap of Dunloe. We began our day by booking a boat tour with the Killarney Day Tour. I had been in touch with them prior to leaving on our trip and they were ever so helpful from the beginning. Very friendly and easy to deal with. Our day started with us renting bikes from a local shop by the Tourism centre and then biking down to Ross Castle. We were then met by our great guide where all the boats are docked. I wish I got his name - he was Charlie the dogs owner. He took care of loading the bikes onto the boat and he was super informative about the surrounding areas of our boat trip. It was just a wonderful start to our day. Our boat trip was approximately 90 minutes with some stops along the way for photo opportunities. Many could walk or take a horse carriage to the Gap of Dunloe as well so don't feel you will be limited to just bike riding to the Gap of Dunloe. We landed at Lord Brandon's cottage and then were on our way for our bike trip portion. The scenery on the boat portion is breathtaking so if you were even just interested in this then I would highly recommend Killarney Day Tour who will take good care of your during your journey.
      Written 3 September 2018
    See all 56 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    We perform checks on reviews.
    Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
    Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
    When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
    Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
    Learn more about our review moderation.
    4.0
    4.0 of 5 bubbles17 reviews
    Excellent
    11
    Very good
    2
    Average
    1
    Poor
    1
    Terrible
    2

    Emily H
    Boxford, MA7 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2022 • Solo
    I was incredibly frustrated by this ”tour” and would recommend avoiding it at all costs. The only reason it gets two stars instead of one is because it was beautiful nature. It was my belief that this was a tour, but instead it was really just get in a taxi and good luck. There was no bus pickup, absolutely no communication about what to expect, and no guide to tell us about the history, flora and fauna, or the architecture in the park. Instead I was dropped off near the horses and told that I could hire one if I wanted. However they didn’t say that instead of letting those who arrived at the horses first to take the first cart, that they would be prioritizing the “pre booked tours”. An hour and a half after arriving at the horses and nearly 50 people who arrived after me having been given priority and left, I was finally shoved into a tiny cart where I didn’t even get a seat. It was genuinely painful. Half way through the horse driver told us that our cart was out of balance and that we had to walk up the hill instead of riding in the carriage. I specifically took the carriage because I have a medical problem and struggle with large inclines, and instead was forced to pay to walk up one. At the end of the horses the driver charged everyone in the cart 10 euro over the list price online. So I had to wait an hour and a half, get cut in line by a bunch of “pre booked tours” (even though this was a pre booked tour), and then pay an extra ten euro to be forced to walk up a giant hill because they packed the carriage too tight. By the time I finally got to the boat (which was enjoyable and quite scenic) and completed the route I didn’t get to explore the castle at all before having to take the not-bus (taxi) back into town. If I had known this was a self guided “tour” I would have never taken it and honestly feel quite scammed. You can easily do this route by yourself by taking a taxi to the trailhead with the horses, paying the extra money for the horse and carriage anyway, and then the boat all while having the opportunity to explore the castle at the end. Especially since “entry” into the park is literally free. This isn’t worth the almost $60 I paid and I recommend you don’t pay it either.
    Written 15 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Katfine
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2022 • Couples
    I’ve requested my trip canceled four times and the tour operator is not responding. My credit card is to be charged for over one hundred dollars tomorrow despite these repeated requests. I’m very concerned that Maureen is deliberately ignoring my repeated requests for cancellation. I find this to be unprofessional and questionable business practices.
    Written 30 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Kathleen, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I wish you took as much time to find the button that simply allows you to cancel your reservation. Maureen took the time to ring you and explained to you that it was up to you to cancel your booking as it wasn't our company that took payment, it was Viator, so you had to cancel it on their system. Since leaving your misleading review I see that your reservation has been cancelled. We're very disappointed that you've left such a review after what's been a difficult few years for businesses. Rory O'Donoghue
    Written 4 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Stephanie W
    Chicago, IL50 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2023 • Couples
    Took the bus to Kate Kearney's Cottage, hiked from there to Brandon's Cottage, then the boat to Ross Castle. The hike was on a road the whole way, with some steep uphills in places. There's plenty of time to make the hike in time for the boat ride back; we had time to grab a bite to eat at Brandon's Cottage. Our boat driver was funny and pointed out highlights as we went. The water was unusually low, so we had "leprechauns" (rocks!) bumping the bottom of the boat in places, but the driver was obviously skilled and did a great job navigating them (some of the other boats had to drop people off to walk in one spot that our driver got through).
    Written 30 June 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Mike
    County Kerry, Ireland7 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Rory welcomed the 10 tourist folks on board and never stopped imparting historical knowledge of the lakes, mountains and people of the Killarney valley over 10k years. The landscape speaks for itself. The Gap trip is one of the iconic trips.
    Written 3 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Col C
    5 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2023 • Family
    I had previously just taken this tour back in October and it was wonderful. , this trip could have been a disaster. There was no Advance. warning about about the low water levels and that Passengers would have to exit the boat and walk a treacherous winding "path" with no guide. And no assistance for the elderly, those that were had any disabilities (of which I was one).
    Written 18 June 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Kiera G
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Mar 2024 • Family
    Rory and Ted (the cutest dog ever) were the best tour guides someone could ask for! The views were incredible, and Rory added so much helpful information to really make the gorgeous landscape come to life. I would highly recommend taking this boat tour and then walking or biking the Gap of Dunloe. A perfect Ireland day!
    Written 7 March 2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Joanne D
    1 contribution
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023
    The views were beautiful. We were expecting a larger boat , it was a small boat with a little motor that held the 13 of us. We were on the boat for over an hour which was a little too long. The horse and carriage was a great way to see the hillsides . All in all is was a great experience but pricey.
    Written 22 May 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Laura K
    Hilton Head, South Carolina20 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2023
    Don’t believe any negative reviews.
    This tour was the highlight of our time in Killarney.
    First a wonderful open boat ride through the Lakes of Killarney which you could not see on your own. Then a delightful yummy stop at Lord Brandon’s for a quick bite, Irish coffee or whatever.
    After that we took the pony and trap ride through the Gap of Dunlop…others walked until we all got to Kate Kearney’s Cottage.
    The scenery was amazingly awesome and our pony driver was a character.
    Written 19 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Gesa S
    1 contribution
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2022 • Couples
    The tour was ok. Unfortunately, there was not that much time to walk through the Gap. If you are fit, you will arrive at the Cottage for the Boats on time - if not, there are plenty of horse carriages avaiable at the start. The boat trip was nice - put on very warm clothes, its very windy! In summary, everything is very short and the tour is already over quite early!
    Written 27 September 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Steven S
    Williamstown, MA10 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jun 2022
    We had a great day tour. The walk through the Gap was incredibly gorgeous. We were glad we did the 7 mile walk instead of the horse/buggy. Slow walkers should be aware - you won't make the boat if you dawdle. We stopped to take pictures along the way and had 30 minutes for lunch. The boat ride was lovely. The bus transport was a little frustrating. We were told to go to Old Weir hotel where we picked up the bus. Then, the bus took us back into town where we waited 30 minutes for no apparent reason (this may have cut into the walking time). And when we got dropped off, there was no instruction. The driver just pointed and said go that way. It's difficult to get lost, but a map or schedule would have been reassuring.
    Written 3 July 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 13

    Gap of Dunloe Tour ( Boat & Bus) provided by Killarney Day Tour

    All Killarney HotelsKillarney Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Killarney
    All things to do in Killarney
    Day Trips in Killarney
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire