Tours and Tickets

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney provided by Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney
4.5
Book in advance
from €105.00 per adult (price varies by group size)
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
What you can expect during your visit
Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Gear/equipment sanitised between use
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
About
The remote Gap of Dunloe features spectacular scenery but is hard to navigate, so this half-day tour makes it easy to access the photogenic mountain pass from Killarney’s medieval Ross Castle. The classic Irish adventure includes a narrated boat ride on the lakes of Killarney plus a pony-drawn carriage ride through the relatively untouched Black Valley, so you can travel the way that locals have for centuries.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 5h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
Explore some of Killarney's most remote yet rewarding landscapes
Travel through the Gap of Dunloe and Black Valley on a traditional pony cart
Learn about the region's history on a boat ride through the Lakes of Killarney
Convenient start and end point at historic Ross Castle
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 16620P3
Call +44 12 2492 8241
Important information
Inclusions
Driver/guide • Live commentary on board • Local guide • Guaranteed to skip the long lines • Transport by private vehicle • Entry/Admission - Lough Leane • Entry/Admission - Black Valley • Entry/Admission - Gap of Dunloe • Entry/Admission - Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours • Entry/Admission - Old Weir Bridge • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase) • Food and drinks • Lunch • Gratuities • Entry/Admission - Ross Castle
Duration
5h
Departure details
Ross Castle, Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland Company rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
Inclusions
Driver/guide • Live commentary on board • Local guide • Guaranteed to skip the long lines • Transport by private vehicle • Entry/Admission - Lough Leane • Entry/Admission - Black Valley • Entry/Admission - Gap of Dunloe • Entry/Admission - Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours • Entry/Admission - Old Weir Bridge • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase) • Food and drinks • Lunch • Gratuities • Entry/Admission - Ross Castle
Departure details
Ross Castle, Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland Company rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
Duration
5h
Return details
Returns to original departure point
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Not wheelchair accessible
Children must be accompanied by an adult
Minimum drinking age is 18 years
Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or non-arrival of cruise ship
Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
Service animals allowed
Near public transportation
Infants must sit on laps
Not recommended for travellers with back problems
Most travellers can participate
This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Ross Castle
    Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
    Company rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
    See address & details
  • 1
    Ross Castle
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
    Pass by
    Innisfallen Island
  • 2
    Lough Leane
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Black Valley
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 4
    Gap of Dunloe
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 5
    Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours
    Stop: 2 hours - Admission included
    See details
  • 6
    Old Weir Bridge
    Stop: 10 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • You'll end at
    Ross Castle
    Ross Rd, Ross Island, Killarney, Co. Kerry, Ireland
    Company rep from Tangney's of Killarney will meet with you at 10.20am at the wooden foot bridge in front of Ross Castle. There is free car parking at Ross Castle
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

4.5
25 reviews
Excellent
19
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Frank S
1 contribution
Fantastic experience!
Aug 2020
Highlight of our trip to Kerry! Everyone we encountered (Donal and Dux) was cheerful and informative, and the whole experience was very well organised by Tangney Tours. Hand sanitiser was provided at each point of the journey. We only discovered this the day before and so glad we booked -- will be recommending to friends visiting the area.
Written 1 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Thank you for posting a great review and we are so happy you enjoyed your day out in The Gap of Dunloe and that it was the highlight of your staycation in Kerry. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Killarney and on . Our priority is for the well being of our guests and team at all times. We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to enjoy more of our touring options.
Written 2 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Aoife M
Dublin, Ireland1 contribution
10/10 highly recommended
Aug 2020 • Friends
Absolutely fantastic experience. It was the highlight of our trip to Kerry. The scenery is beautiful and our tour guide Bernie was great, very accomadating and pleasant. Wear comfortable shoes as you have to walk a small bit to let the horse rest. We will definitely go again
Written 11 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Thank you for posting a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your day in The Gap of Dunloe. We cant wait to welcome you back, we will pass your compliments onto Bernie.
Written 17 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lolly2345
17 contributions
Great tour!
This tour was great, we got a boat from Ross castle, cart from Lord Brandon’s and then we were returned to our car in Ross Castle. Everyone we met was very friendly and informative. The procedures had been updated for covid-19 and everyone was socially distanced, but this didn’t distract from the enjoyment! Highly recommended!
Written 24 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Firstly thank you for posting your review, we are delighted you had the opportunity to take a tour with us in The famous Gap of Dunloe. During these covid-19 times we have implement many new procedures in order to keep our team as well as our guests safe and thank you for letting us know we are doing a good job. Take Care and we hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to explore some more of our wonderful tours
Written 25 July 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lgk1915
Denver, CO12 contributions
Highlight of a Great Week in County Kerry
Oct 2019
For our last day of a great week, we decided to turn our touring over to someeone else. We chose Tangney Tours for an all day adventure. It included a Jaunting Car ride through the beautiful, peaceful mountains and valley on a small cart led by a horse. It was the absolute best way to enjoy this area. After a lunch at a quiet spot, Lord Byron's cottage, we went on a boat ride (traditional) around the Long Range river and three lakes back to Ross Castle. The peacefulness, beauty and quiet discussion with a lovely Irish boat driver was an amazing way to leave this unbelievable countryside behind. Having Tangney arrange the day rather than piecemealing it together, made a thoroughly relaxing experience with very qualified and pleasant guides at each stop. We would highly recommend Tangney for any tours one might take from Killarney. The easiest part is that you arrange on the internet, on their website or by phone (which we did). It was great!!
Written 11 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Thank you for posting a great review and we are so delighted you enjoyed your Gap of Dunloe Tour with us. The Gap of Dunloe is such a special place and it is often described as another wonder of the world. We are happy to read that you found the booking process easy and that by booking with us it allowed you to sit back, relax and enjoy your day out in our company. We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to enjoy some more of our great tour options that are available,
Written 14 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Suma16
Cheshire121 contributions
Spectacular
Sep 2019
We were met at Ross Castle and taken to the start where we got on our jaunting cart for our ride through the Gap of Dunlop. After lunch we enjoyed a boat ride with Dux back to Ross Castle. The whole experience was amazing and so well organised. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Tangneys..
Written 29 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Thank you for posting a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed The Gap of Dunloe Tour with us. Yes we agree with you this tour is amazing!! We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime to enjoy some more of our amazing tour options on offer.
Written 30 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas K
5 contributions
Broken cart - Tuff luck walk
Sep 2019
Scenery great, boat trip great, boatman great, Jaunt trip a disaster. Cart broke down midway - Buster's (the horse) guide was a dud. The cart broke down midway and the guide emptied the cart of us and turned around leaving us to walk over 3 miles. No cart was sent for us and according to te other jaunters they guide was pleasant and informative.
Written 17 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
killarneyjauntingcar
Hello Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you had an inconvenience on your tour. Unfortunately a bolt came loose on your trap and for safety reasons you were asked to disembark your trap. A trap came as a replacement which should have meant you would only have walked from the black valley church to the boats- which is an approx 1 mile walk. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had but we must adhere to safety procedures. We are glad that you enjoyed your boat tour and that you got to enjoy the scenery of the Gap of Dunloe which is a wonderful part of Ireland. Again our apologies for the inconvenience you had on your tour. We hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime
Written 18 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Darren D
Gold Coast, Australia223 contributions
Enjoyable
We got a wet and windy day. In away it added to the experience as Ireland can be harsh and the people have to adapt to her over history.

The gap ride was wet, windy and fun, there is a steep part that we needed to walk, u should check if you have problems with walking up hill for a considerable distance, maybe you can still ride.

Scenery is fantastic, the driver was fun but difficult to understand.

The boat ride gave a different perspective of the mountain and how the eco system works, our skipper had a good Irish sense of humour and new the area well having lived there all his life.

If your sick of being in the car it’s a great days break, being outside in nature.
Written 1 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jessica L
Champlin, MN189 contributions
Fantastic way to artificially inflate your step count for the day
Jul 2019 • Friends
We loved it! We met at Ross Castle for a short bus ride to Kate Kearney's place, where we boarded our four-person pony-and-traps for the ride up the mountain. So beautiful, and our driver/guide, Michael, was so interesting! He knew the area so well because he lived there (we passed his house). We stopped for a quick soup-and-sandwich lunch at the little cafe in Killarney National Park, and then took a fun boat ride back across the lakes to Ross Castle. Our driver/guide, Robert, pointed out some cool sights, and took great care of us on the rainy, windy day. (By the way, both the bouncing in the trap and on the boat are what gave us extra "steps" on our machines!) The only sad note was that we didn't realize Ross Castle tours were guided-only and we hadn't made a reservation and it was too late in the day for 6 of us to take one.
Written 2 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mark V
14 contributions
Gap of Dunloe
Jul 2019 • Couples
There is planes trains and automobiles, then there is traps boats and trolleys going through the Gap of Dunloe. What scenery within the 25,000 acres of Killarney National Park. A wonderful day it was.
Written 10 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your tour of The Gap of Dunloe. This tour is such a great memory tour. I hope we can welcome you back to Killarney again sometime
Written 2 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lindsay B
1 contribution
The Absolute Best!
Jun 2019 • Family
This was a perfect day in every way! Laura met us at Ross Castle and escorted us onto our boats. The boat trip was gorgeous and our captain was wonderful. Our pony and trap driver and tour guide was phenomenal and thr landscape you travel through is so beautiful it defies description. Don't miss out on this experience, my family and I will remember this forever!
Written 24 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 24
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Killarney Jaunting Cars Tangney Tours
ahernejulie
ahernejulie
00
Friendly
Very friendly and genuinely wanted the chat, stopped to show us fawns in the shore of an island, very nice touch an
MikeA01
MikeA01
00
Well worth your time.
This was one of the highlights of our trip to Ireland. The ride was and scenery was may even more enjoyable becaus
flamesbyrne
flamesbyrne
00
Lovely experience
Michael and his horse Julie were great. Michael was very knowledgeable and had great aul jokes. Definitely a bit of
R5416XYleeg
R5416XYleeg
00
Dissatisfied, Disappointed
We booked a trip to Ross Castle based on the reviews of an “engaging guided tour through the National Park”. It was
421paddyb
421paddyb
00
A must if in Killarney
Killarney Jaunty car tours is a must when visiting the area. Our daughter absolutely loved it and great memories we
Roger C
Roger C
00
Good trip
Great guide and Captain.. Pleasent hour passed by. Good nearby parking . All next to the Castle. Very clean boat an
mariafoley2
mariafoley2
00
Boat trip
Fantastic trip on the lake , even though the weather wasn’t the best the lake was still magical, great to learn the
paulgfh
paulgfh
00
A great day out
We recently used Killarney Jaunting Cars while in Killarney. We done the Gap of Dunloe and Lakes of Killarney trip.
GrainneEOB
GrainneEOB
00
Lovely way to see the Park
Very knowledgeable guide Mike, and the lovely Charlie was so well behaved - I hope he got extr Guinness in his fe
toniryanh
toniryanh
00
Tour guide exceptional
What an excellent experience! Very professional and social distancing in full practice. Such a funny and interestin
OnlyOscar
OnlyOscar
00
Lovely cruise in a lovely day
Lovely cruise in the lake. The captain tells the history and curiosities about fauna and flora of the area.
lmigeoff
lmigeoff
00
Had a great trip to Ross Castle
Had a great trip to Ross Castle with Michael. Before we started he wiped the jaunting car with disinfectant, and h
suirv
suirv
00
Lovely Boat Trip excellent guide
Took the one hour boat trip today with friends and family... kids and adults all enjoyed... excellent tour guide an
Teresa S
Teresa S
00
Brilliant
We had a tour with Danny and Paddy, it was brilliant, we all had a fantastic experience. Danny gave us background
755michaelo755
755michaelo755
00
Very relaxing
Experience was excellent, the cruise was a must do. Cheaper to book direct though which I only found out on the day
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney will start at 10:20 AM. Discover and book The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney on Tripadvisor


The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney price starts from €106.74. Discover and book The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney on Tripadvisor

The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book The Gap of Dunloe Adventure Day Tour from Killarney on Tripadvisor