Tours and Tickets

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin provided by Hilltoptreks

LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin
4.5
Book in advance
from
€45.00
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Recommended by 90% of travellers
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Comprehensive tour of County Wicklow landmarks and highlights
Duration:
8h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Group size:
16
Infant seats available
Ticket type:
Mobile
Free cancellation
About
Visit the highlights of County Wicklow, including Powerscourt Gardens, Glendalough, and Wicklow Mountains National Park, without the need to rent a car on this full-day tour from Dublin. Relax and enjoy the scenery, knowing that all the details and transportation are taken care of. Listen to commentary from your guide as you travel to the Guinness Estate and the Victorian village of Enniskerry.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Plenty of independent exploration time—great for independent travelers
  • Commentary from a guide on the area's history, culture, and environment
  • Round-trip transportation from Dublin eliminates the need to rent a car
What to expect
Step aboard your tour vehicle in Dublin and relax immediately, knowing your day in County Wicklow has all been planned out for you. Enjoy the fact that instead of puzzling over directions and traffic, you can simply sit back and enjoy the scenery. The first stop is Powerscourt Gardens (own expense), where you have free time to explore the formal gardens and statuary on your own. Your guide is on hand to recommend the must-sees in the facility. Midday, stop in the Victorian village of Enniskerry for lunch (own expense) and some time to look around. Move on to the Wicklow Mountains National Park, to visit Sally Gap, the Guinness Estate, and Lough Tay. Listen to your guide's commentary on the historic and environmental importance of the park. Around midafternoon, reach Glendalough, a 6th-century monastic site, where you have time to explore independently before returning to Dublin.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Plenty of independent exploration time—great for independent travelers
  • Commentary from a guide on the area's history, culture, and environment
  • Round-trip transportation from Dublin eliminates the need to rent a car
What to expect
Step aboard your tour vehicle in Dublin and relax immediately, knowing your day in County Wicklow has all been planned out for you. Enjoy the fact that instead of puzzling over directions and traffic, you can simply sit back and enjoy the scenery. The first stop is Powerscourt Gardens (own expense), where you have free time to explore the formal gardens and statuary on your own. Your guide is on hand to recommend the must-sees in the facility. Midday, stop in the Victorian village of Enniskerry for lunch (own expense) and some time to look around. Move on to the Wicklow Mountains National Park, to visit Sally Gap, the Guinness Estate, and Lough Tay. Listen to your guide's commentary on the historic and environmental importance of the park. Around midafternoon, reach Glendalough, a 6th-century monastic site, where you have time to explore independently before returning to Dublin.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 24779P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Local guide
Exclusions
  • Entrance fees (Reduced rate €8, paid on entry)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Powerscourt Gardens and House
  • Entry/Admission - Enniskerry
Duration
8h
Departure details
  • Molly Malone Statue, Suffolk St, Dublin 2, D02 KX03, Ireland This statue is outside old stone church on Suffolk Street at 09:20am, Please be 10 minutes early
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Pickup Location is the Molly Malone statue on Suffolk Street at 09:20am
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Inclusions
  • Driver/guide
  • Live commentary on board
  • Local guide
Exclusions
  • Entrance fees (Reduced rate €8, paid on entry)
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Food and drinks
  • Entry/Admission - Powerscourt Gardens and House
  • Entry/Admission - Enniskerry
Departure details
  • Molly Malone Statue, Suffolk St, Dublin 2, D02 KX03, Ireland This statue is outside old stone church on Suffolk Street at 09:20am, Please be 10 minutes early
Duration
8h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Pickup Location is the Molly Malone statue on Suffolk Street at 09:20am
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Molly Malone Statue
    Suffolk St, Dublin 2, D02 KX03, Ireland
    This statue is outside old stone church on Suffolk Street at 09:20am, Please be 10 minutes early
    See address & details
  • 1
    Molly Malone Statue
    Stop: 5 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Powerscourt Gardens and House
    Stop: 90 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 3
    Enniskerry Village Square
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission excluded
    See details
  • 4
    Wicklow Mountains National Park
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Sally Gap
  • 5
    Old Military Road
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Guinness Lake
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Glendalough Monastic Settlement
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
166 reviews
Excellent
128
Very good
22
Average
10
Poor
4
Terrible
2

Donblu
Brentwood, CA9 contributions
Gillian is one of the best tour guides we have encountered in over 20 years of traveling. She has a warm personality. Her narrative of the countryside we were driving through added so much information to supplement the visual experience. The small group experience was appreciated. We met on time, left on time and returned as scheduled. Gillian was also an excellent driver. This tour is a great value compared to many travel tours. One last note: the owner of the tour company accommodated our request to schedule on a day other than reserved at the last minute. A truly great experience for those wanting to experience the Irish countryside
Written 3 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for the excellent review. I will pass along your kind words to Gillian and it was a pleasure to assist you.
Written 4 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jannie L
1 contribution
Family
We had an excellent trip and the guide Johnny did a great job, especially when he suddenly had 5 guests more than he expected.

Despite rain and wind, the mood was high and Johnny made us laugh with his anecdotes and commentary.

We would definitely recommend this tour!
Written 7 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for the positive review, Johnny has been with us for quite a while now and is very resourceful even with last minute surprises...
Written 10 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nyika A
2 contributions
Relaxing but fun filled day with Matt and HillTopTreks! My husband and I had already done a longer tour with another company to the Cliffs of Moher earlier in the week and weren’t interested in another 6 hour drive. We stumbled across HillTopTreks shorter, day trips and signed right up. The bus was easy to find and the group was a very small, manageable size. Only after about a 25 minute drive we reached our first destination, the beautiful Powercourt Estate and Gardens. We got some exercise walking briskly through the gardens and enjoyed looking at the various tree and flowers from all over the world. We love animals and thought the Pet Cemetery was especially neat and also fell in love with the romantic Japanese Garden. Next was a lunch stop at Poppies in Enniskerry, very cute tiny town. My husband and I shared a yummy Shepard’s Pie. Our tour guide Matt, drove us the back way through the mountains so we could really take in the scenery. The “P.S. I Love You Bridge” and Guinness Lake were spectacular. We appreciated Matt’s historical knowledge, story telling abilities and attention to detail. Last major stop was Monastic City in Glendalough where Matt walked us through the fascinating ancient ruins. Our return to Dublin was painless and we arrived a little before 5 pm! It was a perfect, stress free day exploring Ireland. Would highly recommend, thanks Matt!
Written 12 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent and extensive review.
Written 14 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ioanna T
Athens, Greece38 contributions
Of our 7 day visit to Dublin, this was our worst unfortunately. I will write everything as it happened, so you get an idea of our experience. Keep in mind I usually give 5 stars in my reviews.
We arrived just 4 minutes late that morning, because it was raining throughout out 20+ minute walking to reach the destination. I received no phone call as it happens with all tours when you are late, so we thought it was fine. When we arrived, there was a hilltop treks on the spot and we entered it. This was apparently not our group exactly, as this bus was visiting the Powerscourt gardens, whereas we wanted to do the hike (this was the reason we booked with this tour). There was a nice tour guide on this bus, who accepted us and called the other tour guide who had left, and agreed we will all meet at Powerscourt.
When we arrived, we went to the bus we belonged to, where we found Johnny the tour guide saying to a family who had also booked the hike that it is very muddy for the last 3 days, as he has been on the mountains for 3 days, and he doesn't recommend it. By the way at this point the weather was sunny and warm. He even said that my hiking books were not actually hiking boots (sorry Jack Wolfskin). When I asked him why they did not tell us earlier, as they had a phone call before we left Dublin, he said how could he know before hand that it would be muddy (completely cancelling his statement that he had seen it for the last 3 days). When I asked if we could do the riding, he said he can't make horses appear out of nowhere (fair, but if they had told us 3 days ago about the mud, we would have said we want the riding). He even said the mistake was ours because we were 4 minutes late in the morning. The other group gave in and agreed to see Powerscourt instead. I still wanted to do the hike, and he started yelling that he could still take us for the hike but it would be our problem if it was a complete swamp. As you can imagine, we were very disappointed at this point as the hike was the reason we joined the tour. In the end we agreed to do the gardens.
The gardens were very boring, we walked the whole thing in 20 minutes. Johnny paid for our ticket, but the difference between what he paid and what we paid for the hike was still higher, and we never heard back for a refund. We did not know what to do to kill our time in Powerscourt. In the end, we saw he came back with the riding tour, so we were thinking all this happened because there was no tour guide available for the hike, so we felt even more cheated.
Afterwards they left us in a small and very poor coffee shop (?) which was too expensive for what it offered (there was a huge fly on the food they were offering).
Then we had the best time of the tour, which was seeing the bog (we went with the first tour guide again, who was very nice) and then we went to Glendalough, for which we had a very brief introduction outside the area. Thank God inside there was an archaeologist who told us and showed us interesting aspects of the site. We walked to the lake and back (we had to run our way back due to the ridiculously short time they gave us for this stop).
All in all, we only liked hearing about the bog from this company. What a waste of time and money.
Written 15 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your tour with us. We do everything we can to accommodate our guests and give them the best guided experience. This is very irregular. I wasn't there personally so I can not account for this particular situation, although this is the first I heard of it. I will ask the guides in question what happened so it doesn't again. Thank you for your feedback.
Written 16 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Debon G
5 contributions
Family
Powerscourt Japanese Gardens are amazing and Glendalough settlement is worth it. Matt went above and beyond sharing his wide knowledge of Ancient Ireland to bring background and connectivity to the places we visited. Well worth every penny.
Written 3 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for the excellent review and I will pass along your kind words to Matt.
Written 7 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joanie C
Oakville, Canada87 contributions
Our guide, Matt, was pleasant and helpful, and went out of his way to look after us. The sites were lovely. My one complaint was the bus. We were 16 people jammed into a small bus. I was in the back row with 4 others. Limited view out the window, and squeezed shoulder to shoulder. It would go a long way to improving the experience if you limited the tour size to 13 people or got a bigger bus.
Written 19 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for your feedback about your tour of Wicklow with us. We use smaller buses so we can drive into areas and along smaller roads in Wicklow. We will however take your views into consideration to improve our service.
Written 20 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tashie C
13 contributions
Friends
This trip was fantastic. Rob was an extremely knowledgable guide and had a great sense of humour! Would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting to escape the city for a day for some country air and learning more Irish history. 10/10!
Written 18 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such an excellent review... I will let Rob the Viking know he has fans.
Written 18 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveler2121
New Orleans, LA116 contributions
Solo
The time spent at PowersCourt was really worth the trip. I would have appreciated a little more preparation for suggested routes to walk around the grounds in the time allotted. Unfortunately rain dampened the experience someone at Glendalough but I still enjoyed it greatly. Matt, the bus driver made the best of the situation and was a cheerful and practical presence throughout, with good information, and facts to enlighten the experience.

I do wish there had been a policy for mandatory mask wearing on the small van. I wore a mask throughout, but two passengers coughed continuously and made me quite anxious. I was the only one wearing a mask…
Written 10 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very very much for the very positive review. With the policy towards masks wearing, it is really up to each individual and impossible to enforce although we definitely do not discourage.
Written 11 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carlos P
Gijon, Spain178 contributions
The tour is really beautiful, specially Powerscourt gardens and Wicklow; Glendalough was ok too. But, by far, the best of the tour was our guide, Johnny. He changed the planned route to let us get the most of the trip despite de bad weather and made the tour more enjoyable with his stories. Nice job, Johnny, thank you from Asturias
Written 8 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you Asturias for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review and I'll pass along your kind words to Johnny.
Written 10 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trudy F
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii6 contributions
Friends
The Powerscourt Gardens were lovely, as were Wicklow and Glendalough.
Matt, our guide/driver made the trip fun and interesting. He was a good sport when my sister in law asked him to "propose" to her on the P.S. I Love You bridge!! (photo included) :)
Written 30 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Terry-hilltoptreks
Thank you very much Trudy for the excellent review and I will pass along your kind words to Matt.
Written 12 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 143
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Hilltoptreks
510ren_h
510ren_h
00
Great day trip
Nice hike with some remarkable views. Glendalogh is really worth going to include the walk to the lakes. And the r
C8122SWantonellab
C8122SWantonellab
00
Great tour
Excelent tour! Highly recommend to enjoy to Ireland beauties. Is a tour with a lot of active walking.
Bruno1966
Bruno1966
00
Not all-inclusive, but worth it.
My SO and I did a four-day/three-night self-guided walking tour from Marlay Park, Dublin, to Glendalough along the
MichaelN430
MichaelN430
00
A fantastic jaunt from Dublin to see nature at its finest! Also, horses!!!!
What a great experience! I was looking for easy day trips out of Dublin as I was hesitant to attempt to drive with
mash4d
mash4d
00
Unsurpassed private tour of Wicklow
We've toured Wicklow before, but our day with Gillian could not have been better. She picked us up at our hotel and
Aukay75
Aukay75
00
Lovely guide, nice walk
Richard was a great guide - weather meant we couldn't see much on the walk but it was still a really nice adventure
nhtravellers286
nhtravellers286
00
10 Day Dingle Way Trek
We did the 10-day Dingle Way self-guided trek. Everything went smoothly, thanks to Hilltop. They created an itinera
jhenders0n3
jhenders0n3
00
Horseback riding Not as pictured !
Richard our guide was very accommodating, interesting and knowledge. The vehicle was nice. BUT the horseback riding
geoffcB597MS
geoffcB597MS
00
Clearly marked trails, welcoming hosts, impressive views.
We enjoyed our eight day self-guided walk along the Kerry way very much. We were fortunate to have good weather, an
J7351UGmaryg
J7351UGmaryg
00
Great trip to Wicklow!
Horseback riding through the Wicklow area was awesome! We loved every part of this day long excursion. The timing f
396dirkf
396dirkf
00
5 day Kerry Way walk
I walked from Killarney to Glenbeigh in 3 walking days, in very sunny weather and hiked an extra mountain or two on
emmapD7627UZ
emmapD7627UZ
00
Worth Every Minute
This was honestly one of the best tours I've ever been on. The views and the historical locations were so beautiful
FarAway49167949318
FarAway49167949318
00
Hill walk on The Brockaghs, Glendalough
Great hill walk yesterday with hilltop treks. Fab views and weather made it! Thanks to Terry for the transport to &
312nellb
312nellb
00
A must do tour of Ireland
This was one of my favorite tours of Ireland I did. I loved the small group aspect which felt personal and much mor
Nataliya F
Nataliya F
00
Inspiring experience
Excellent choice to see Irish country side. Powerscout gardens are amazing. Our guide Matt was very informative, ga
Frequently Asked Questions about Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin will start at 9:20 AM. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor


Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin price starts from €46.85. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor

Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Small-Group Wicklow, Powerscourt, and Glendalough Day Tour from Dublin on Tripadvisor