We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stirling Castle, Trossachs and Loch Lomond Shore Excursion

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$72.51
Date
2 travellers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Stop At: Stirling Castle, Castle Esplanade Upper Castle Hill, Old Town, Stirling FK8 1EJ Scotland

    Visit Stirling Castle, one of the most significantly historic castles in the country and really quite “fit for a Queen”. The preferred home of the Stuarts and the ancient seat of Scotland. A beautiful castle rich with history and stories situated in the town of Stirling high on a Cragg.

    Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes

    Stop At: Trossachs Woollen Mill, Kilmahog, Callander FK17 8HD, UK

    Highland cows and Woollen Mill shop in Kilmahog

    Duration: 20 minutes

    Stop At: Loch Lubnaig, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK178HF Scotland

    Scenic stop at Loch Lubnaig in the Trossachs Park

    Duration: 20 minutes

    Stop At: The Drovers Inn, North Loch Lomond, Inverarnan, Arrochar G83 7DX, UK

    Lunch in the very old Drovers Inn... Pub of the year 1705

    Duration: 45 minutes

    Stop At: An Ceann Mor, Near the National Park Visitor Centre, Inveruglas, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G837OW Scotland

    A toast on the beautiful Loch Lomond from the vantage of a viewpoint.

    Duration: 20 minutes
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Greenock Ocean Terminal, Patrick St, Greenock PA16 8UU, UK
    Departure Time
    8:00 AM
    Duration
    6h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Bottled water
    • Snacks
    • Driver/guide
    • Professional guide
    • Local guide
    • Port pickup and drop-off
    Exclusions
    • Lunch
    • Admission Fees
    • Entry/Admission - Stirling Castle
    • Entry/Admission - The Drovers Inn
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
    • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    15Reviews0Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 11
    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    • 1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Like a number of the more recent reviews our early September tour was cancelled last minute, with no refund provided and the company stopped answering calls / emails within 48hrs. It made some precious time with my parents far more stressful than needed. Under no circumstances
    Read more
    We used this company whilst our ship stopped in Scotland. We had a great days tour around Stirling castle and Loch Lomond. Our guide Barrie was hospitable, knowledgeable and a ton of fun. He arranged for us to stop and feed some Scottish hairy cows which we enjoyed immensely.
    Read more
    We really enjoyed the tour. striking castle is absolutely what you expect a castle to be. We had lunch at a old inn near the head of Loch Lomond. The burgers are very good. We were lucky enough to have perfect weather, even got by Scottish standards. Barry and Tony did a great
    Read more
    This was worth it since the Celebrity tour only did the castle. We were also impressed with the shops just outside the port where we found the only embroidered sweatshirts made by a local. Barry was our tour guide. He made the trip go by so fast. We all enjoyed his jokes and the
    Read more
    Our tour skipped some of the promised sites because of the poor weather. While that was certainly a hindrance, there should be a "plan B" for rainy days, even if it is is simply allowing more time at Stirling Castle, or there should be a caveat that certain sites are
    Read more
    Response from Catriona S, Owner at Stirling Castle, Trossachs and Loch Lomond Shore Excursion
    Responded 15 Jun 2019
    Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to review. The tour actually did not skip sites because of poor weather, it was down to 2 motor accidents along the road that you needed to travel along to see them. People don't always drive appropriately in the rain, and in Scotland, it rains a lot. This would have caused a problem with any option you did that day with the main M8 motorway also being affected by another couple of traffic collisions that day, as I had mentioned to you in our prior correspondence, I was doing a tour in Glasgow and was caught both there and back again. We also had 2 tours that day into Ayrshire which were also cut shorter due to the incredibly heavy rain. This did not just affect our tour but other operators too which is why the places we did visit got quite hectic very quickly and I am afraid, there is little to compensate that other than having not joined a tour in the first place. In Scotland it rains, it then has a tendency to stop and sometimes we are known to have four seasons in 1 day. This means that if you would rather not do an activity because of the weather, it is probably not the destination for you. You cannot plan for the weather in Scotland. I would like to reiterate that the road was closed due to a major traffic accident (last minute) and the guide had hoped to go a slightly different route on the return. However, because of other tour operator delays, such as the group who were booked before you at the Drovers Inn, arriving right when they were taking your orders (almost an hour late), the service was slow from putting immense pressure on their staff and kitchen. Your guide did take control here and forced your service to be as efficient here as possible. But it led to a situation where you could not take the other road back down. The road that you missed out on, was the quickest way, and the guide had tried to console you that the cows at Kilmahog would have most likely been hiding in their shelter, which they do when it rains. I am sorry that that came across that it was decided not to take that route because of the rain. The road to the Drovers is an hour and 15 minutes from Stirling Castle, and we make two stops usually on this route at Kilmahog (Cows) and then again at Loch Lubnaig. This is the road that was closed. You went the Loch Lomond route, and you made a stop at Inveruglas for photographs. Due to the delay here though, and the problematic road conditions, including known road maintenance ongoing, you had to return the same way you came. Had we known that we were going to have trouble 30 minutes later, we could have stayed longer at Stirling Castle, but that was discovered too late, because, well, accidents don't tend to happen on the clock. I do understand your frustration, however, it was a day plagued with traffic, road closures and torrential rain. It affected every tour that went out that day from the port, and across the country. Our priority is to have you back to your ship in time and we keep an eye on the road conditions at all times to make sure we are able to miss any real delays. It does mean that last minute and sometimes unpopular changes can happen but we are proud to say that we have a 100% return to the ship record since we began in 2013. If you would like to discuss this in any further detail with me, I would be more than happy to oblige. Kind Regards Catriona
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    • Duration: 6h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +44 12 2492 8241