Tours and Tickets

From Mexico City: Hike at Nevado de Toluca Volcano provided by Ecotura - Day Tours

Reserve Now & Pay Later

From Mexico City: Hike at Nevado de Toluca Volcano

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
View all photos (32)
Recommended by 97% of travellers
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$99.00
Date
2 adults
Options
Select tour language
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Temperature checks for tour participants upon arrival
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Important Information
Departure Point
Fiesta Americana Reforma, Av. Paseo de la Reforma 80, Juárez, Cuauhtémoc, 06600 Ciudad de México, CDMX, Mexico
Duration
12h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • All Fees and Taxes
  • Lunch
  • Snacks
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
  • Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Exclusions
  • Breakfast
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • This is a sport activity that requires a good physical condition.
  • Minimum age is 18 years
  • Hike begins at 4000 meters above sea level. A demanding amount of walking is involved
  • This activity is not suitable for sedentary people
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • Travellers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
30Reviews
15Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Becca Z wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
The EcoTura hike to Nevado de Toluca was an incredible experience. We had two amazing guides, very professional and very knowledgeable. The volcano was beautiful. I would definitely recommend and would definitely do it again.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
flaewe wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I highly recommend the hike at Nevado de Toluca with ecotura. The tour was really good organized and our guide Hugo was really knowledgeable and I had great talks with him about the nature and it’s conservation. Our group was great, as the only foreign tourist I felt really good
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Jennie wrote a review Nov 2019
Doha, Qatar341 contributions54 helpful votes
+3
I consider myself fit but no amount of frequent weight lifting/cardio nor maximum gradient treadmill could beat this intense experience. As a virgin to high altitude hiking, I made it to Nevado de Toluca somehow.. woohoo! Very professional customer service from the start of my
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
onmyownagain wrote a review Nov 2019
Dallas, Texas12 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall, the tour & guides were very good, but I will not book again on return unless the dinner is excluded. I would decrease the price of the tour & definitely leave out dinner. After becoming wet, dirty & sweaty from climbing, me and the only other non local from Mexico,
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ecotura, Public Relations Manager at From Mexico City: Hike at Nevado de Toluca Volcano
Responded 26 Dec 2019
We appreciate your review and we regret that you did not fully enjoy the experience. Our trips are open to people from all countries, however most are mexican and our strongest meal schedule is between 2 and 4 pm, of course it is cultural, but for years we have experienced that most are hungry at the end of the hike. The arrival in Mexico City is around 7:00 pm, we consider that by that time it would have been a long time without having any food. The price we add for meal is minimal since we have agreements that allow us to provide a sufficient and quality food option. In the checklist that we sent before making the trip, we suggest you bring a change of clothes so you can feel more comfortable. Thanks again for your comment, we will be attentive to the needs of people from other countries.
Read more
Seedy Raizes wrote a review Oct 2019
Raleigh, North Carolina3 contributions
The trip is amazing! The views are like nothing else in Mexico. Beautiful lakes in the middle of a dramatic volcanic crater! Hugo was our main guide and we talked to him the most, but Carlos and Eve were also great. We had a goup of 8. Some of us wanted to do more difficult
Read more
Date of experience: October 2019
Helpful
Share
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Ecotura - Day Tours
Culture379500
00
Bosque de la Cañada - excellent hiking in the forest and viewing points on the cliffs
A wonderful route that starts in the Ecopark Los Dinamos(on the very border of Mexico City). As we understood, this
Read more
sasha2ChattanoogaTn
00
Very misleading tour description-worse tour ever taken
Information states that tour begins with breakfast and walking tour in Tlaxcala to see well preserved colonial buil
Read more
traveler30303030
00
Be aware of a scam
I booked this trip in Mexico City using TripAdvisor. The price showed around 500 pesos... that's what I thought bec
Read more
mariaortega7
00
An amazing day trip to the Izta volcano
Hired Ecotura for a one-day trip to hike the skirts of the Iztaccihuatl volcano. It was amazing. Everything was in
Read more
Maps09139895013
00
Amazing Experience
It was a well organised Trip. Team was supportive and transportation was good too.To anyone who wants to take a hik
Read more
JasonM6632
00
Iztaccihuatl Day Hike
Ecotura took our group of five on the Iztaccihuatl day hike tour. Amazing service and prepared for just about anyt
Read more
Jon D
00
Brilliant and professional tours with guides who know what they are doing
We went to Parque Nacional El Chico and zip lining with Viajes Ecoturísticos and they were outstanding as a tour gr
Read more
Jean Pierre P
00
Very well managed
I Went to volcano Izzachiualt (near popocatepelt) on a day trip. You have to walk slow because of altitude (I did n
Read more
Jorge-Mx-F
00
Summit Nevado de Toluca
My wife and I took this day hike today and we loved it !! It’s an amazing place, a really hard road (moderate diffi
Read more
traveltheworld5
00
Great value for enjoying nature outside of Mexico City!
I really enjoyed the trips by Ecotura, most recently to the waterfalls in Puebla. The areas surrounding Mexico City
Read more
Barbara21
00
Mexico City and Pyramids 3-Day Tour
Excellent daily tours with Carols and Marlena. We were a group of 12-15 (varied by day) and the itinerary was perf
Read more
Maria K
00
Mexico City and Iztaccíhuatl
Ecotura team understood the cultural, social and physical needs of our Group. Marlene and Carlos Hernandez made ou
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 12h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, Spanish
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+44 12 2492 8241
Frequently Asked Questions about From Mexico City: Hike at Nevado de Toluca Volcano