Virginia City is a living museum containing buildings, mines and activities from the late 1800's. The traveler can still visit offices, houses, public buildings, museums and other venues that were used by miners and travelers during the Comstock period.

 Attractions, accommodations and events are detailed at the Virgina City Tourst Office on C Street. Some attractions and museum highlights include:

- Piper's Opera House. Built by German immigrant John Piper, the Opera House was completed in 1885 after the destruction of two previous theaters owned by Piper. The original Piper's Corner Saloon, considered one of the longest continuously operated saloons in Virginia City in the nineteenth century, is again in operation after a one hundred year hiatus. John's youngest brother Henry ran the saloon. His home is immediately north of the Opera House, now restored as a fine bed and breakfast. Piper's event calendar is online at www.piperslivevc.com.

-Historic Fourth Ward School:  The last one of its type still standing in the United States. Follow students’ footsteps through the original 1876 school building. Sit in the same wooden desks as they did from 1876 to 1936. You can explore Virginia City history, Mark Twain's life, letter press printing, alumni’s lives, Comstock mining, abandoned mine issues, and new exhibits in the other classrooms. Ask in the museum store if you can pull the rope to hear the school bell.

-Comstock Firemen's Museum:  Filled with old horse-drawn and human-drawn firefighting equipment that shows what it was like to fight the several fires that impacted Virginia City in the late 1800's.

-Virginia & Truckee Railroad:  Rebuilt in the 1970's, this is one of the most historic railroads in the United States, operated by both steam and diesel engines and vintage cars, from Memorial Day until the end of October.  Take the 35 minute trip to historic Gold Hill with a narrated history of the Comstock mines and the railroad, operating every day from 10:30AM to 4:00PM. There is also a full day trip out of Carson City, see the virginiatruckee.com site for more info.

-TnT Stagecoach:  Don't miss the real western stagecoach ride, pulled by a four-horse team.  Relive travel in the old West.

-Comstock Gold Mill:  See how ore was processed to extract the gold with a restored operating mill complete with the equipment from this historic mining period. 

-Ponderosa Saloon & Mine:  the saloon features an entrance to part of Best & Belcher mine right in the back of the room, an old bank vault you can walk into,  historical exhibits, explanations, and stories on plaques scattered throughout the saloon, and a speciality beer "Pondo Drool Pale Ale", brewed in honor of the Saloon's mascot, a Saint Bernard called Pondo.

-Silver State National Peace Officer's Museum: On B Street and Union sits historic Silver State National Peace Officer's Museum. Just a short walk from C Street up Union Street, nestled on the side of the court house is Storey County's first jail. It is now a converted museum in honor of the men and women who serve and protect.

-St Mary of the Mountains Catholic Church:  Visit this beautiful spired church considered to be the "Mother" of Nevada Catholic Churches. Recently restored to its original Victorian grandeur, St. Mary's is the most photographed church in Nevada.

-Comstock History Center:  This facility is the home of the Comstock Historic District and the beautifully restored Virginia & Truckee steam locomotive 'Dayton,' as well as traveling exhibits.

-Silver Terrace Cemetery: Located near the RV park, the beautiful Silver Terrace Cemetery is home to more than 5,000 graves. Special voices of the past tours are available on weekends during the fall by costumed docents.

-Comstock Trail and History Kiosk:  Hiking buffs and those desiring an invigorating walk amongst the history and vistas of the Comstock Lode will enjoy the self-guided four mile walking tour of the lower Virginia City area which is home to various mine shafts, the pioneer cemetery, and the Sutro tunnel air shafts. A kiosk operates at Washington and R streets, 10 blocks east of the post office. Brochures available at the visitor's authority at C and Taylor Streets.

-Virginia & Truckee Mail/Express Car #13:  This original V&T car from 1874 is being restored to its original glory. Located on C Street.

-Mark Twain's Territorial Enterprise:  Visit the building and museum commemorating Samuel Clemens' life in Virginia City as a newspaper reporter.