1500 Acres of Park, Woodland 

Leisure

Leeds City Council owns and manages Temple Newsam.

Considerable care has gone into the restoration and maintenance of the house and gardens, comprise over 1500 acres of parkland, woodland and farmland landscaped by Capability Brown.  http://www.leeds.gov.uk/templenewsam/...

Home Farm, within Temple Newsam is ideal for young families and has an extensive range of animals.  It is the largest working rare breeds farm in Europe, and only one of 16 nationally approved by the Rare Breeds Survival Trust. Breeds include Gloucester, Kerry, Irish Moiled, Red Poll, White Park, British White, Beef Shorthorn and Belted Galloway cattle; Kerry Hill, Whitefaced Woodland and Portland sheep, and Golden Guernsey goats

Around the perimeter there are excellent traffic-free cycle routes and many footpaths for all levels of walkers.  Within the wooded area are purpose-built mountain bike trails.

There are various areas of Gardens, most famous being the Rhododendron Walk and the Walled Garden with its lean-to Conservatory.

 

History

The Domesday Book of 1086 records a manor close to the present day site as 'Neuhusum' meaning 'new houses'. Around 1155 the land became the property of the military-religious order of the Knights Templar, and therefore the pre-fix 'Temple'.

The property then passed on to Thomas Lord Darcy who built the first large house on the site in about 1500-20 on a four-sided courtyard plan. All that remains visible of that house is the central block of the three blocks now standing. It retains many of the original features notably the rectangular bay windows and diaper patterned brickwork.

Darcy was beheaded for treason in 1537 and the property was seized by the crown and given to Henry VIII's niece, Margaret Countess of Lennox. her son, Henry Lord Darnley, the future husband of Mary Queen of Scots, was born in the house.

In 1622, after a period of neglect, Temple Newsam was bought by a wealthy Yorkshire financier, Sir Arthur Ingram, whose descendants lived there for the next 300 years. He remodelled most of the Tudor House, altering the outside two wings. He demolished the fourth wing and added an inscription which, in large letters goes round all three remaining wings.