Faros Hotel is great assuming you don't have any issues. We stayed at Faros in early May, and loved the accommodations until we had an issue with our room. We had originally requested a room with two beds, but they assigned us to a room with only one upon our arrival. We called for a room switch, and they did give us another room. However, this room was missing a door on the shower. When bringing this to their attention, they seemed to be aware of the issue and chose not to tell us before switching the room. At that point, they said we had to make a choice - one bed or an incomplete shower. They also said they wouldn't offer a discount. This was our first time to Istanbul, so we felt stranded in not knowing other hotel options. It was overall, an extremely disappointing experience.
On a positive note - the restaurant is fantastic. Great service, food, and atmosphere. Our recommendation is to eat in the restaurant, but don't risk having a problem in the hotel. Issues may not happen often at the Faros, but they don't resolve the problems that do occur.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
14 May 2012
Dear Rob S,
Report response as inappropriate
First of all, thank you for your review and to take the time to let us know what we should improve in our hotel. You can be sure I am disappointed that your stay was not as expected.
On a first hand, I would like to apologize from all the Faros Hotel Istanbul team for your stay. The normal way to do would have been to change your room again, like we did for the first one, if we could have had the possibility, but we had not. As the door is concerned, it just broke a little time before and it is taking time to get the piece to change it, that is why it was not already fixed when you were in the room.
I also want to remind you that you told us about this and that it was not a problem for you if we did not mind to have a bit of water out of the shower.
As I wrote it before, we had just this room free so it was impossible at this time to change with another room. That is why we offered you this room or the other room. After, it is true that we should have told you for the first room that it was not a twin bedded room and after for the door of the shower.
As Faros Hotel Istanbul is concerned about all of your comments, we are trying to fix the problem as fast as we can.
We aslo want to thank you for the good review for our restaurant, it is really important to see which are our points we have to work on but also our good points.
I hope you had a wonderfull time visiting our city and that your stay here did not affect them too much.
May you have all my best regards,
Sales & Marketing Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC