We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ingham Road, West Stow, Bury St. Edmunds IP28 6EX England
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (408)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 Specialty lodging in West Stow
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
A wonderful woodland experience amidst fabulous walks and cycle tracks. Ultimate luxury glamping, ideally located in the heart of Suffolk but close to the fantastic market town of Bury St Edmunds. West Stow Pods is a family-run glamping site in the heart of Suffolk’s scenic countryside. Situated roughly four miles from East Anglia’s historic town of Bury St Edmunds, West Stow Pods offers a range of accommodation, including four cosy MegaPods, two Woodland Lodges and our star attraction: Pod Hollow; a halfling-inspired subterranean dwelling nestled in the side of a grassy knoll. Come and stay with us for a unique and tranquil glamping experience in one of Suffolk’s most picturesque woodlands.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Dining area
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
421Reviews4Q+A44Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 378
  • 35
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gary P wrote a review Dec 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
A truly unique experience. If you love Tolkien you will love Pod Hollow at west stow pod site. Two bedrooms, modern kitchen living room and bathroom in an actual hobbit hole. Decorated perfectly with some wonderful touches, I kept finding references to the films in every corner. There are two cabins and about four pods on the site. Very spaced out and we felt very secure and isolated. We turned up in the evening for a four night stay over Christmas. We pulled up I n the car park and the property was hard to find as there was no lighting, but when we got to the gate a light turned on and lit up the hobbit home. Through the big green round door (straight out of the hobbit) we entered the living room and it was utterly magical. We spent an amazing Christmas there and loved every second. A truly memorable experience. If we had to find any negatives it was that it was dam cold. Took an age to warm up the property, it has electric heaters in most rooms, a fire place electric heater which needed a good day to get the place warm. The floor was freezing so I would recommend coming prepared for a cold start during a winter stay. The hobbit hole smells a bit damp, understandable for this time of year and the weather we have recently had. Condensation was noticeable In areas but it didn’t really affect our enjoyment. WiFi was brilliant. Managed the kids usage needs for those quiet moments! The kitchen was great. Fridge and separate freezer. Plenty of room for a four day stay. Loads of plates, bowls, trays, currently etc for all kinds of cooking needs. We had an amazing Christmas dinner. Bathroom was fine. Hot water was plentiful. Felt a little dated and could do with a little repair here and there. Living room is where it all happened. A small tv with a dvd player. Tolkien films on dvd and plenty of lord of rings/hobbit games to play. We managed to get a PS5 working (bilbo would have been appalled by its inclusion in the room!) but I dressed as Gandalf (costume included on arrival) and entertained the kids while playing with them as the grey wizard. Overall a truly magical experience. I hope to return in the spring or summer to see it in full bloom.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Prepare for coldness In The winter time.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
t0psy11 wrote a review Nov 2022
Ipswich, United Kingdom6 contributions
We’ve just had a wonderful weekend living like hobbits in pod hollow. It really is just like a hobbit house but with some modern conveniences thrown in. Myself, my husband and 2 children (11&13) absolutely loved it. The accommodation was wonderful, comfy beds, adjustable heating, all the kitchen items you need and it was clean and tidy. Wi-Fi worked well as did the tv and DVD player. Communication prior to our visit was also great with Ed and Jan recommending a firework display for us to attend. We hope to return again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review and we're so pleased you managed to see the fireworks! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future :) Best wishes, Trish, Happiness Manager :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah M wrote a review Oct 2022
A lovely, quiet stay surrounded by a beautiful area. I stayed in the Woodland Lodge and had everything I needed to relax and felt warm and cosy and enjoyed hearing owls at night settling me to sleep. Close to Bury St Edmunds, West Stow itself and surrounded by walks and cycle routes, there is something for everyone. I have already booked my next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 18 Nov 2022
We're really pleased you had such a relaxing break with us and thank you for this lovely review! :) The owls are amazing aren't they? And you've already booked again, how fabulous! We look forward to welcoming you next time. Very best wishes, Trish. Happiness Manager!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ColinSmith wrote a review Oct 2022
Chatteris, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Our 2nd visit to West Stow Pods this year and again it didn't disappoint. Previously we stayed in the Woodland Lodge this time Wulfrun Megapod with our small dog. The pod was ideal for a couple of nights to get away from everything. Just the right size for 2, I imagine it would be a bit tight with 4. The accommodation is well laid out and very clean. Although the other pods and lodges were in use we didn’t hear anyone else, the spacing of the pods is just right. Unfortunately the path guide lights didn’t appear to be working which could have made it difficult in the wet & dark but a small torch was provided in the pod. Will definitely look at returning next year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a good torch if staying in the pods.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Thank you so much for this lovely review and we're so pleased you came to see us again :) We're glad you found the torch useful too as it does get very dark in the wood! We look forward very much to welcoming you again next year. Don't forget to mention your 10% return discount when you book again* Very best wishes, Trish. Happiness Manager! *NB. This excludes Pod Hollow.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie G wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions
"Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a Hobbit-hole, and that means comfort." Truly a peaceful place to stay. We had a wonderful time at Pod Hollow with our baby and dog and would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Hi Natalie! Thank you for taking the time to quote this and for your great review! We're so pleased you had a lovely stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob S wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We had a lovely couple of days away in the countrywide staying at West Stow Pods. The pod was tidy and well maintained and was a perfect place to stay, surrounded by peaceful countryside. There was plenty of leaflets about activities to do in the local area, such as walks, and a guide to places near by that we could visit such as Bury St Edmunds. If you want a countywide getaway for a very reasonable price then I couldn't recommend this enough. Owners were very friendly and approachable as well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Hi Jacob and thank you for your lovely review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you return again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel P wrote a review Oct 2022
Titchfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had the luxury of experiencing a stay for two nights at West Stow Pods within one of their Dog Friendly Mega Pods. It was one of the most enjoyable and relaxing times myself, my Wife and our dog have had in a long time. The facilities the Pod provided was as though you were basically enjoying an adventurous hotel. It was definitely a perfect glamping experience. The area itself whether it be the vast countryside to Bury St Edmonds was very picturesque and a wonderful place to visit. I am already lining up to book next year and make it an annual dog retreat for us to just relax and explore.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad that all three of you loved it so much :) We look forward very much to welcoming you again next year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amelia wrote a review Oct 2022
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom73 contributions5 helpful votes
We came here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary and it didn't disappoint. Our pod was so cosy and tucked away, and as we had paid a little extra for champagne and chocolates they had kindly left two flutes out for us! Beautiful views from the pod and surrounding areas, and it was a relief to cut off from our phones for a few days. The only feedback we have is that our tv wouldn't play our dvds properly so couldn't really watch anything on there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Boudicca if you want to completely cut off from your phone while you're there!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 31 Oct 2022
Thank you for leaving this great review for us! We're also glad you had a wonderful anniversary with us! Thank you also for the feedback about the tv - I'll get that checked out :) We look forward to welcoming you again some time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane Doe wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Just returned from a delightfully cozy stay in one of the pods. Craving a bit of time out this ticked all the boxes. Affordable, beautifully simple with everything one needs to hand. Set in woodlands adds to privacy but being off peak we didn’t see anyone which was ideal for our needs. Amazing walks at your doorstep, we followed one from the booklet west stow supply’s around the lake which was just stunning. Highly recommend come rain, wind or shine.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Hi Jane, Thank you so much for leaving us this lovely review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much :) We "ticked all the boxes" ... music to our ears indeed! We would love to welcome you again any time. Very best wishes, Trish. Happiness Manager!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ella W wrote a review Oct 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
So relaxing, the pod is so cosy and has everything you need for a basic, cute holiday. So many lovely walks and cycle routes. Perfect if you want a break from civilisation and be in a beautiful woodland with surrounding stunning countryside. Phone signal is very limited - but I loved this to be honest! I had a great trip to the anglo saxon village (walk or bike to it) with discount from staying at the pods! Need a car if you want to get any supplies during your stay, or just be very prepared and bring everything with you. Thankyou for a glorious, peaceful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring all supplies with you unless you have a car to reach a local shop! Also bring a bike, great...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ed Lengyel, Owner at West Stow Pods
Responded 17 Oct 2022
Hi Ella and thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review! We're so pleased you had such an enjoyable time with us :) Come back and see us again any time... and remember to get 10% off for being a return visitor!! All the best, Trish. Happiness Manager!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkBury St. EdmundsWest Stow
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WEST STOW PODS - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison

Frequently Asked Questions about West Stow Pods
Which popular attractions are close to West Stow Pods?
Nearby attractions include The Evidence Room (7.0 km), Abbeygate Cinema (7.5 km), and Abbey Gardens (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at West Stow Pods?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and hiking.
Which room amenities are available at West Stow Pods?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at West Stow Pods?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at West Stow Pods?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to West Stow Pods?
Conveniently located restaurants include Francela Restaurant, Maison Bleue Restaurant, and Cheers Restaurant.
Is West Stow Pods located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of West Stow.
Are pets allowed at West Stow Pods?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to West Stow Pods?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Edmundsbury Cathedral (7.6 km), Theatre Royal, Bury St. Edmunds (7.9 km), and The Abbey (7.7 km).