Church of St. Theodosius of Pechersk is an outstanding architectural monument of the Ukrainian Baroque style. It was built in 1698-1700 in the place...
Church of St. Theodosius of Pechersk is an outstanding architectural monument of the Ukrainian Baroque style. It was built in 1698-1700 in the place of wooden church (originally erected in the beginning of XVII century), at the expense of the Cossack colonel K. Mokiievskyi.According to a legend, in the late XI century the monks, who carried the relics of St. Theodosius (one of the founders of Kyiv-Pechersk Monastery) to their new assigned burial place, stopped at the dry stump to rest. After waking up, they saw, that stump, on which they have places the relics the previous night, had covered with green shoots, even though before it had been dry. They decided this miracle meant St. Theodosius relics were supposed to be buried right there. So in place of this miracle they built the first Church of St. Theodosius of Pechersk. The altar was set on the spot where the stub once grew.Church of St. Theodosius of Pechersk is the typical Ukrainian baroque style three-chamber church with three high domes. The facades of the temple are decorated in the style of Ukrainian Baroque. The interior space of the church is divided by high arches, the walls are separated with shoulders and cornices, and on the north and south facades there are three elongated windows with the images of saints above them. Small windows, arranged in two tiers, are decorated with sophisticated architraves and triangular pediment.In 1830 the church was surrounded by buildings and brick fence with a gate, which gave it qualities of the finished architectural ensemble.The temple was damaged by fire during the German occupation, but the painting in the church survived. In 60’s of XX century the restoration works were held there, and a new iconostasis was installed.Today the church is the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of Kyiv Patriarchate and an acting fratery.